We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dream Valley(Teakettle)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
US$305
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$210
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
San Ignacio Resort Hotel(San Ignacio)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Midas Belize(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$108
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$545
US$408
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
173
18
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
18
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswing bedtree housethemed dinnersstone showerfamily unitgeneral managera small swimming poollocal flavorcayo districtking sizebelizean ownedcave tubingscreened windowspersonalized servicesurrounded by naturethe entire staffmixed drinks
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 195 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2017

Everything about this place was wonderful - the hospitality of the owners, the workers and the tour guide operators all so friendly and accommodating. Could not have asked for a better personal experience. In addition, the accommodations were top notch too!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alisonfrank77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myra P, General Manager at Amber Sunset Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Hi Alison! We appreciate this great review. Thank you for choosing Amber Sunset for your Belize Vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2017

If you're looking for a secluded, quiet, friendly place to stay in the Cayo area, this is a beautiful place. The action is in San Ignacio if you want some night life, restaurants, etc., but Amber Sunset has a nice little restaurant and bar, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myra P, General Manager at Amber Sunset Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Thank you for this great review, Brian. We are glad that you enjoyed your Belize vacation. If you plan to visit Belize again, we hope that you will make a stop at Amber Sunset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2017

From the second we pulled up to the resort we knew we were in good hands. Giovanni was an amazing host, greeting us upon arrival, giving us some insight into the jungle, the resort and even giving us a nice welcome drink. The accommodations were very nice and perfect for relaxing and just listening to the forest. It was nice to have the option of eating breakfast or dinner at the resort. I recommend having breakfast at the resort so you can enjoy the views of the valley below from your table. However, if you decide to dine out you're only a 15 minute drive into San Ignacio where there are tons of other meal choices as well.

Giovanni also set up our excursions for us - which were amazing. We were surprised to find out that we had a private tour, which was perfect for our small group of 4. We truly had a great experience and everything was perfect. Our tour guide John made this a trip the 4 of us will never forget. We will return to the Amber Sunset with out question.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greggory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myra P, General Manager at Amber Sunset Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Thank you for your excellent review, Greg. It is greatly appreciated. John will be happy to hear that you all enjoyed his tours. We hope that you and your group come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

This place is wonderful. The staff and the owners Giovanni and Mayra really helpful and friendly. It is a bit in the middle of nowhere, but if you rent a car it is perfect. The rooms are cosy and very clean and new.

A beautiful place to visit and stay while in the Cayo district.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie-Cécile F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded January 19, 2017

Hi Marie, Thank you for your great review. It was surely a pleasure hosting you. We hope to see you both back at Amber Sunset soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016

After reading all the reviews we stayed at Amber Sunset resort in December. It is a beautiful setting, rooms were nice and spacious. We enjoyed our time on the patio and the hammock. What bothered me was that while we didn't get bug bites while outside, we woke up with 20+ bites in the morning. There were bugs in the bed? My kids are sensitive to mosquito bites so we had strong sprays, which kept the bugs away while awake. Also, twice as we returned to the resort, we found some kind of animal dropping s on the pillows. Staff said it was a gecko, other one said it was a toad, to me it seemed like a rodent. While the staff is polite and helpful, this situation really turned me off.
It is 20+ minutes ride from San Ignacio, so will need a taxi back and forth each day, added expense of $30 each way. We had dinner the first night, it was average and small portions. For $26 US dollars PP I expected better. As a result we ate in San Ignacio for rest of the nights (highly recommend Guave Lim). Our room phone did not work the entire time, so it made very difficult to communicate with our taxi service.
We asked for tea the first evening there, by the time it arrived to our room it was cold, so I never bothered again. The lady in charge of the place during our stay (sorry forgot her name) was very professional and helpful. We did like the place but due to the limitations and inconveniences I give it a 3 star.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milapo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni P, General Manager at Amber Sunset Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review. While this is a review we've been anticipating we're happy, though a bit surprised, to hear you enjoyed parts of your stay with us. However, there are a few things that must be clarified in order to maintain honesty and transparency.
Our mattresses are all hypoallergenic and are protected against bed bugs. The linens in the treehouses are all washed and changed daily. We've never had complaints before.
Being in the jungle means you will encounter bugs. While it is not the norm for our guests to experience a lot of mosquitoes, your visit coincided with quite a bit of rain the country experienced in mid December. When it rains, the mosquitoes tend to come out more. While our treehouses are properly screened to prevent them from entering the rooms, I am assuming you may have left the doors open when on the balcony which allowed them to get in. The little critters can't get a better invitation than that. When you had on bug spray and didn't get any bites, it demonstrates that maybe you should have sprayed a little before going to bed to help ward them off.

Geckoes are very common in Belize. In the jungle they tend to be quite bigger than the norm. Unfortunately, their choice of where to leave their mess isn't always the best. Saying it was a rodent seems malicious. It was definitely, not a rodent. Rodents tend to defecate in pellets of 10-20 in number. Again, our treehouses are all cleaned and sanitized daily to prevent any unwanted guest.

This is the first we've heard of our serving portions being too small. Our Belizean dishes tend to be overstuffed. Compared to other resort restaurants, our prices are a lot more reasonable. Of course, getting meals at commercial restaurants will always be more economical.

Saying the Tea was cold when it arrived at your treehouse is impossible and a huge exaggeration. Boiling hot water in a special thermo teapot can never get cold in the 2 minutes it took to get to your treehouse.

While we appreciate and respect everyone's opinion, we do not appreciate being held ransom and threatened with negative reviews to receive kickbacks (which is exactly what you did) at the end of their stay. Our staff went above and beyond to accommodate every single request you had. And I thank you for pointing that out so that readers can see for themselves the professionalism of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews