We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Banana Bank Lodge Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Banana Bank Lodge Accomodation”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The atmosphere was satisfactory but the accomodation was marginal. We had bugs and critters all over the sheets and beddings with worms crawling all over the side walls. The shower seemed as though it has not been cleaned in awhile. There is a general moldy smell or rotting wood as you enter the room. My wife had a great deal of difficulty sleeping because of constant coughing from the molds, which I assume is from the old wood paneling and structure.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites located above the office...they seemed much cleaner and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gus o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    39
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
46
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Yeah, couldn't resist that one. We just returned from a few days in Belize, and the Banana Bank is definitely worth a look if you want to stay inland from the Cayes. We used it as a base to go onto Tikal, cave tubing etc.Owners John and Carolyn Carr are lovely people, staff was attentive and friendly. We visited with them every day at meals.
If you are looking for '5 star' treatment with waiters scurrying around in uniforms, then this ain't it! But if you want an unpretentious lodge with a local flavour, then this is certainly worth a look. We would return in a second. Very kid-friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My teenage daughter and I spent a few nights at this ranch during our trip through Belize and were pleased with the experience. My daughter is an experienced rider and found the horses were of great quality and class. What's even more wonderful is that they roam about the huge property, more or less like wild horses would. The staffs were amazing and the family setting felt very welcoming. Meals are home cooked and the owners join you for supper with great stories about their adventures in Belize. The owners have a passion for animals (birds, jaguar, and monkey) and that is observed throughout the ranch. Some of the structures aren’t in perfect shape but it almost adds to the rustic feel of the property.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanikaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

It's a dramatic arrival, banging a gong to summon a boat to cross the river (though the sound is more frying pan than Japanese emperor). Then it's a stride across beautiful open grass, with cabanas tucked around the place and horses trotting in the background.

We had great fun every meal time. It's a "family-style" sit with anyone affair, which meant chatting to other guests and staff - really interesting, open, welcoming people. The food was plentiful and delicious too.

We went on a guided horseback ride through the jungle. It was exciting and varied, going through jungle, teak plantations and open field. Cesar, our guide was friendly and had many interesting things to say. The cabana was beautifully decorated and they were spaced well apart from each other. We enjoyed the pool.

Cons
- We didn't go on any of their other tours, but the prices seemed more expensive than San Ignacio, despite being closer to some of the attractions. (Around 20-40 USD pp more expensive, we reckoned.)
- They keep a leopard in a small pen. I think it was rescued from somewhere, but still. It looked really depressed, and didn't have anywhere near as much room as the animals do in Belize Zoo.
- The toilets near the pool were dirty for two days in a row.
- The mosquito net on the bed was a bit dodgy.

Book ahead. Even in low season, the place was full. It's popular with groups. We were sadly only able to stay for two nights.

Room Tip: Book ahead, get a cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilllles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I thought the “Maryann” room was very nice, and the food was good during my brief stay.
However, my pool water test indicated zero chlorine.
Frank Helsell
Iowa, USA

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade if you want A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank2176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I won't soon forget my stay at the Banana Bank Lodge. First there are the owners - the Carrs, who are American ex-pats who have lived in Belize since the 1970s. Mr. Carr is a former rodeo cowboy from Montana, and Mrs. Carr is an artist of some reknown in Belize. She designed many of the buildings on the grounds, and it shows that they were designed by an artist. My room had a beautiful carved mahogany headboard and a stained glass window but no night stand, towel rack, or toilet paper roller.

One of the best things about Banana Bank was the service, which was excellent. The staff made sure I was able to schedule trips I would enjoy, my guides were on time, including one early morning departure to get me connected to a tour out of San Ignacio, and everyone was friendly and helpful. While I was at Banana Bank, I had a day out to see Xunantunich, a couple of horseback rides through the jungle, a river tubing trip (the Lodge is located on the bank of the Belize River), and a visit to Tikal.

Another good part of my stay was the food, which was basic, but well-prepared. Many of the vegetables served at meals were grown on property. It's a good thing that the food is good because it's more than 2 miles to the nearest paved road. Luckily, unless you are really into partying, most of what you need is at the Lodge, including a little cafe that serves drinks and light snacks and where one can often find interesting people to talk to.

I do have a few complaints about the Banana Bank Lodge. The main one was the warped window in my room that would not close all the way, so most of the AC escaped and my room never got cool. Also this is not a great place if you like to sleep late. Not only does the sun rise very early, but there are no blackout curtains, and the birds in the aviary start squawking. I never could sleep past 6:30 AM.

If you stay at Banana Bank, say "Hello" to Tikatoo, the jaguar who lives in an enclosure on the path to the dining hall. As I said, this is a most unusual hotel.

Room Tip: Communicate by email. The staf will respond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My husband and I spent the first two nights of our first trip to Belize (Cayo District) at the Banana Bank and were very pleased. The setting is lovely and the staff is eager and flexible. We enjoyed traditional home-cooked meals which accomodated the vegetarian among us and took advantage of the river tour and horse back riding. We met other lovely guests and felt very well taken care of and relaxed. The pool area is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The Carrs have created a wonderful inn/ranch and we feel lucky to have been guests here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsa819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
23.3 km away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
36.5 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
31.6 km away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.2 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
19.8 km away
Amber Sunset Jungle Resort
16.9 km away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure

Property: Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Address: Banana Bank, Belmopan, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rain-forest setting along-side the peaceful Belize River sits a jungle paradise. A place where horses roam, parrots, toucans, and macaws greet you with a tropical "Hello". You willbe in awe at the beauty and grace of our jaguar Tikatoo and other animals will delight your stay. Here you'll find adventure, great food, congenial hosts, exotic artwork and memories to last a lifetime. American and local cuisine dining, designer 65,000 gallon pool, 16" computerized telescope, Cafe Carolina, John Carr's Historical Collection, Carolyn Carr Art Gallery, birding experts, tour guides, cowboys and our helpful, friendly staff all ensure your stay at Banana Bank will be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bank Lodge & Horseback Adventure Hotel Belmopan
Banana Bank Lodge And Horseback Adventure
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure Belize/Belmopan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing