We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
156
107
40
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
107
40
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small gym relaxing stay our entire stay on site tikal grounds tour belize porch excursions plants nature
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 327 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2018

This is a beautiful place where to stay. The rooms are small cottages surrounded by what is in itself a small botanical garden with different plants, most of which have a sign showing their species.
I was in cottage 14, the room is very spacious with an en suite bathroom, a large wardrobe and plenty of shelves, tables and room to store your things.
There is a TV and air conditioning.
No tea and coffee facilities or fridge, but two complimentary bottles of water.,
All cottages have a small patio with chairs and a hammock where to chill out.
The complex has a bar and a restaurant, breakfast is very good, with a choice of fruit, yogurt, granola, toast, eggs, omelettes, tortillas etc that you can choose and order from a menu. No buffet.
Rene' is an excellent waiter/barman, always with a smile on his face and always helpful.
Lunch and dinner are also good with fresh and tasty dishes, although service is rather slow...
There is a small gym, but it is rather rusty and run down.
The outdoor pool is small but not busy.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
I was told that the entire complex is undergoing a full refurbishment from Dec 2017.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WonderfulWorld68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018

This hotel has changed its name to Cassia as of 2018. The location is perfect for excursions, and walking distance to town. There is a small pool where you can relax if you aren't out and about. The rooms are big and simple, and great to recover from outings. There is a hammock outside! It is a quiet, calm place. The restaurant food is okay, but convenient. The bar is a nice place to end the day - grab a drink and play some pool. We were very happy we chose this place rather than somewhere in the town center.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cycletour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Our experience at Windy Hill didn't get off to a good start -- I noticed that our locked cabin door could be opened easily without a key. Thankfully, the staff sent maintenance to check it out right away, and meanwhile they moved us to a different cabin. This worked out in our favor because our new location was right next to the pool, and it had a hammock on the deck. This ended up being a pretty relaxing stay, and the resort was quiet enough that we even had the pool to ourselves for a while.

I wouldn't recommend eating at their restaurant though. The service was sloooow (though that seems to be common practice in Belize) and the food was overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank inwhiterooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

I went to Windy Hill for the first time back in the early 2000's when I used to live in Belize. It was beautiful. But I returned this June and even though the grounds are still beautiful, the cabins left a bit to be desired. The check in was great, and the cost was very reasonable. At first glance, the room was really nice, but when we settled in, we noticed that there had been a lack of cleaning. The toilet bowl had brown water stains. The sink had hair in it and there were gecko droppings on the floor next to the bed and in the bathroom. But on the plus side, the room was comfortable once you overlooked those things, and the patio was great. It had a hammock and some nice chairs. The pool was also very comfortable and inviting. The place just needs a bit of TLC to get back up to snuff.

Room Tip: Get cabins away from the main reception area.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Chefbobbydesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

I liked Windy Hill Resort! Very nice staff, clean large rooms... really quiet! The restaurant needs help... the menu is lacking and they just don't seem to be trying very hard in this area. For the money, Windy Hill is a good deal. I would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jeanne1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews