We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Log Cab-Inn(San Ignacio)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midas Belize(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western Guest House(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$82
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bella's Backpackers(San Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$25
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Chaa Creek(San Ignacio)
US$545
US$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
352
80
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
352
80
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensjungle lodgehorseback ridingmacal riverfire towerla casitacave tubingatm cavemayan ruinson sitetree housemeal planevery morningpine ridgeday tripguided tourexotic birds
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 448 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Ten of us enjoyed five nights at duPlooy's as our base for visiting Maya sites in the area. This is a well-cared-for, ecologically-sound jungle lodge with many of the comforts of home. The grounds are attractive, the veranda bar relaxing, and the staff aim to please. Our hosts provided us with THE most knowledgeable and accommodating guide (Fermin Tzib) and packed box lunches (three cheers for the chocolate chip cookies) as we visited of Caracol, Cahal Pech, El Pilar, and Xunantunich. Except for the bumpy road into duPlooys, it it the perfect spot from which to explore the Cayo District.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We booked our entire Belize vacation through DuPlooys and Edwin was extremely helpful and patient in putting together a custom package for us. My wife and daughter don't travel much so my major worry was ensuring they felt safe and didn't stress. DuPlooy's took care of everything and we never felt confused or stranded; we didn't have to worry about anything. We even went into Guatemala to Tikal for a night (which I highly recommend) and DuPlooy's guides literally walked us through the border crossing. Every tourguide and driver that DuPlooy's arranged was courteous and helpful.
Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer at the jungle lodge. Make sure you do at least 2 days there- It's a very unique and beautiful place; a bit of a drive but well well worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow no. 10 at the jungle lodge- can't beat it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2012

What a great deal. DuPlooy's is about 15 minutes past San Ignacio with the last 10 minutes or so on a dirt road. But it's well worth it. There's access to the river, canoes and a short river tube float, some outdoor space for the kids to let loose, very nice and clean accommodations, great food, and a nice bar / deck facility to enjoy the wildlife. I recommend you take the package with food and activities included. The guides are knowledgable and very pleasant allowing you to fully explore that area of the country. We spent 4 nights there but I honestly wish we had 2 more nights to better take advantage of the area and the lodge. The only minor complaint is with the mattresses which I found very firm.

Room Tip: Take the package that includes food and activities - well worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We did not stay at duPlooys Jungle Lodge (not because we had an issue with the lodge but we were traveling to Belize with a toddler and a senior citizen and so we wanted to stay in town and have air conditioning). We did, however, use their travel agency. We would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Belize and/or Guatemala. We had a complicated itinerary with three hotel changes and a border crossing but things could not have gone more according to plan. Every driver was on time, knew exactly where we were going and what our schedule was for the day. Every hotel had our reservation on file and our rooms ready when we arrived. duPlooys took the hassle out of our travels and made it truly a vacation. Also, before we left for our trip, there was an issue with one of our hotels. duPlooys took over and rebooked us into a new hotel at GREAT expense to them, so be assured that you will be in good hands with duPlooys. We had the best vacation we have had in years!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank ARD0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My family and I spent four nights at duPlooys. It was a wonderful escape from the hectic outside world. Located three hours away from Belize City airport a member of duPlooys staff will drive you to duPlooys passing through many Belizean towns offering a great look into Belize's eccentric culture. The rooms at duPlooys were simple yet clean and comfortable. The surrounding grounds of duPlooys were excellent and very beautiful. The beach was lovely located on the Macal River with excellent views of the stunning limestone cliffs and of the surrounding rainforest. The bar area was very rustic and was a great place to socialize with other travellers, and see the native birds such as the Collared Aracari, and the Blue-crowned Motmot. The food at duPlooys was excellent and I never went a meal without being satisfied. The surrounding area of San Ignacio had many wonderful attractions to offer. Actun Tunichil Muknal Cave or ATM was one of the highlights of my trip. It was full on and often involved squeezing your body through tiny gaps. Once inside the main chambers their were many Mayan artifacts and remains littering the chamber. ATM cave is one of the few places in the world were you can see the artifacts in the same place as they were found never disturbed by scientists. At the end of the chamber you will find the Crystal Maiden a amazingly preserved skeleton of a woman that was calcited to the floor of the cave. Barton Creek cave was also a highlight but it pales in comparison to ATM because of the lack off Mayan artifacts but I would recommend it if you did not want to or were physically unable to do ATM Cave. Another day trip that I would highly recommend was Tikal in Guatemala. A two and a half our drive over the border of Guatemala Tikal is the second largest Mayan site ever discovered and has and abundance of Mayan temples and altars. I would highly recommend going on a guided tour of the site to get the full experience that Tikal has to offer. Unlike other UNESCO World Herritage Sites Tikal is not crowded and you sometimes feel as if you are alone in the jungle with colossal Mayan temples on the horizon. The duPlooys staff was excellent at organizing day trips for my family and I and were very helpful and always had people to meet us at the various locations we went to. I would highly recommend duPlooys to anybody coming to Belize and I hope to be back to duPlooys in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatePodie387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews