We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Very good pizza and lobster curry”

The Galley Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #37 of 86 Restaurants in Placencia
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Belizean family owned restaurant in Placencia Village serving pizza, seafood, burgers, milkshakes and Belizean specialties! Oldest and longest running restaurant in Placencia Village established in 1982.
Restaurant details
Description: Belizean family owned restaurant in Placencia Village serving pizza, seafood, burgers, milkshakes and Belizean specialties! Oldest and longest running restaurant in Placencia Village established in 1982.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

The lobster pizza was so delicious. Other members of the family had the meat lovers pizza and that was also good. The curried lobster left nothing to be desired. It was very tasty with perfectly cooked veggies. I would highly recommend the food at the Galley.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Cleveland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2017

Got very tired of beans and rice during our stay in Placencia and tried pizza at two different restaurants during our stay here. The Galley is hidden over by the ball field and surprisingly close to our hotel. The pizza while not world class is probably the best on Placencia. The toppings were fresh and tasty and the crust good. They serve a thicker, breadier crust, which is not usually my first choice, but it had a good flavor. Would recommend if you are tired of creole or Belizian food. The waitress while friendly didn't seem to know how to wait a table. She didn't check back on us after our food arrived and it took about fifteen minutes for her to come back to collect payment after the bill was dropped off.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgholle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017

We ordered pizza to g. It was delicious. I am from Chicago and I couldn't believe how delicious the pizza was. The service was fast and the food was great. It was 9pm on a Sunday and we were starved and thrilled we could find good eats to feed 7 adults. !!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kendra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

I love Placencia but the food at Galley was terrible. I was so looking forward to the local place but I won't go back.. 4 of us had dinner.. we were the only patrons. 2 of us had personal pizzas.. they were soggy with very unappealing. The other 2 had burgers.. none of us finished our meals

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 890girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017

45 min. for meal. too salty to eat .no offer to replace or exchange. No offer to comp. for the uneaten meal. During my wait, the delivery person dropped a pizza face down onto the wooden deck. Reloaded it into the box and off on the bicycle for delivery.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bearmanbogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Galley Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing