We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Friendly Service”
Review of Dawn's Grill

Dawn's Grill
Ranked #4 of 84 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Small Belizean, no-frills, family-owned restaurant focusing on big flavors. We offer meat and seafood specialties and regionally and internationally inspired dishes. Vegetarian and vegan friendly.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

Dawn's Grill is an excellent choice for breakfast, lunch or dinner and we eat at Dawn's Grill very often. Dawn and Jolie are friendly and offer excellent service. If it is a busy time, the food is definitely worth the wait! My favorite for breakfast is the lobster omelet with fry jacks. You cannot go wrong with any of the lunch or dinner specials. Key lime pie is an excellent choice for dessert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank inkymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie P, Manager at Dawn's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

We’re so happy you enjoy our food!! Thank you for taking the time write :) — Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 813 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Stopped at Dawns grill for breakfast and it was great. Breakfast burritos were huge! We took our leftovers as an afternoon snack. The prices were great too!
We even came back for dinner one night, lobster and prawns with coconut rice. It also was delicious. Small little place with limited seating but good food.

Thank nocshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie P, Manager at Dawn's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Glad the burritos made a good impression and brought you back in for dinner! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017

Following great meals at Maya Bistro and Rumfish y Vino, we went to Dawn's for dinner and were really disappointed. The place is tiny, felt dirty, and there were cats crawling all over. Very limited menu and the food was marginal at best. The crowd seemed to be downscale as well. Cannot figure out why this restaurant ever got good reviews.

1  Thank City2Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie P, Manager at Dawn's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Dawn and one assistant work in our tiny kitchen at our tiny humble restaurant, which would explain why we have a limited menu. (Honestly, sometimes I think we can cut back a bit more.) We’re sorry that you were not able to enjoy a Belizean restaurant in Placencia Village that is built in the typical local Caribbean fashion. We’re also sorry that our guests were not posh enough for your taste. We’ll be sure to relay that comment to our many repeat customers who visit us from our finest luxury hotels on the peninsula. However, we are so glad you enjoyed Rumfish and Maya Beach Bistro. We enjoy those restaurants too and glad they can accommodate people with such exquisite taste like yourselves. Also, Putin and Kitler, the two outdoor cats that were fixed by our local humane society have sent their apologies for making an appearance during your visit. — Jolie, Dawn’s daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

This small restaurant had amazing tasting dishes. The owner and head chef (I'm assuming Dawn) checked in with us after both time we ate their to make sure we were happy with the food and service. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Coastal744620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie P, Manager at Dawn's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Yup! It was Dawn! Glad we made you happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2017 via mobile

The food at Dawns is excellent and the staff are lovely each time I used them they didn't miss a beat, I think the Restaurant is the top one in the Placencia Village I stayed two weeks trying most of the others

1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolie P, Manager at Dawn's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Thanks so much, John! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dawn's Grill also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Dawn's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing