We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
262
28
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
262
28
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle rays lion fish boat ride south dock chef chris turtle excursion small island the entire island turtle spot private island remote island dive shop the great barrier reef mooring ball blue light crows nest amazing island
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 301 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

What an incredible resort Hachet Caye is, the island is stunningly beautiful.

Everything about the service at Hachet Caye is top class, with friendly and welcoming staff in all departments. As soon as you step on board the boat transfer, you are well looked after and catered for - also spotted dolphins on the journey which was a real treat.

Once on the island you are welcomed with warm smiles and coconut water, a tremendous combination followed by an informative and enjoyable tour by the manager Dasha.

The food was tremendous, fresh and full of flavour. I really enjoyed the different specials each evening, from T bone steak to Lobster, everything tasted incredible.

I stayed in one of the main house rooms, nicely presented with plenty of space and everything you need - main feature was the balcony looking out across the island.

Highlight of my stay was definitely the snorkeling trip which included sharks, turtles and stingrays. All equipment was provided and were given a fantastic tour of the reef.

Can't wait to return and would highly recommend Hachet Caye to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights mid August. The journey out from Placencia was quite choppy to say the least but we felt safe with Shaun however the journey took way longer than the 45 mins expected ( though the journey back was 45 mins and much calmer in a larger boat)
Accommodation is exactly as the publicity pics: quality furnishings , private beach area etc.
We found the food exceptional and the restaurant/ bar staff : Morris, Juan , Antonio very knowledgeable and attentive. Do budget for your cocktails- prices are a bit steeper than the mainland but you are 20 miles out in the ocean!
We had an included snorkel trip ( with Yannick) to Silk caye just 15 mins away and saw massive loggerhead turtles, spotted eagle rays, nurse sharks, ramoras . This was a fantastic experience compared to the hustle and bustle of Hol Chan / Shark Ray Alley. The snorkelling off the pier is fine - I was too timid to do it at night but the eagle rays are there every evening. Yannick and the team are more than willing to take you out on a hobie sailing or help with kayaks . We don't dive so can't comment on that.
Plenty of bird life on this small island including 2 ospreys. Lots of baby lemon sharks and rays / bonefish in the shallows.
Our only criticism was that although we knew Hatchet Caye offered mooring facilities we were unlucky to have a party of 20 twenty- somethings - some of whom rented rooms- which ruined the ambience in the restaurant for 2 nights . The bar staff and Dasha, the manager, were very apologetic and reassured us that this was not the norm. Thankfully, the rest of our stay confirmed this. Perhaps a policy of no large groups could be considered.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank nellie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017

This place is awesome! I have been back several weeks now and I STILL can't get over how wonderful the experience was. First, the staff was GREAT. Very helpful, not intrusive, fun and efficient. That said, don't go to dine starving because it is an island and they understandably operate on island time. Second, the island itself is perfect in my humble opinion. Everywhere you look, it is very nicely thought out. The landscaping, the secret spots to lounge, the pool, the restaurant, the docks...you name it! The rooms were perfect with great ac.Third, the water toys were plentiful and in decent condition! Paddle in the morning, snorkel in the afternoon and kayak for a little later day fun! You can see the gorgeous rays and fish right from the dock if you would rather just chill! Fourth, the sea turtle excursion was great!! Loved it all! Go, enjoy, rinse and repeat!

Room Tip: Any Cabana
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank luckiest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017

My husband and I visited the island 3 years ago and we just went back a second time last week. Hatchet Caye is such a peaceful, relaxing and friendly place to be! It also provides the right "beach vacay" that I like; and the "diving, sailing, snorkeling, kayaking, fishing vacay" my husband likes :) Food is amazing and staff makes you feel like family. Rooms are comfortable and clean....multiple options for lounging with a good book on hammocks, beach chairs, by the pool or in the common bar area. A big thank you to all the staff for your hospitality, hard work and smiles!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms - each cabana has it's own hammock and semi-private beach chairs
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

We sailed there and took buy for overnight and had the privilege of the resort facilities. The snorkeling on the reef was beautiful and as fine as I have experienced anywhere. We lounged about the beach and sipped on tropical cocktails, going from the water to the pool and just lounging around under palm trees. Before dinner we shared drinks with friendly family from Guatemala up for a couple of days and learned something about their country and perspective. Dinner was very good in its open air restaurant. The Resort is inexpensive to take on a buoy and dinner is reasonable. Staying at the resort is over $300 a person so its an exclusive spot based on the distance from the mainland and the per person price.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HaleF643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews