We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatchet Caye Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We visited in August with our family of five. What can I saw other than we loved it.

A long trip out from Placencia, not helped by the boat arriving later than expected was quickly forgotten. The Island is just stunning. Gorgeous gardens, beautiful buildings, fantastic staff. It really is just a delight.

We had two sides of a small villa. Privacy for the parents is a wonderful thing. They are in excellent condition and kept spotlessly clean. You have your own deck, with a private stretch of beach. Not that it matters as the island is dotted with small private spots with hammocks and sun beds to choose from. There are only 4 lodges, plus the main house, so it just can't feel crowded.

The restaurant just couldn't be more beautiful. Open air, the one night it stormed it just made it more dramatic. Plus, the food, dear god, the food. I never met who was in the kitchen, but every meal was a delight. A mix of Belizian and European, every dish was wonderful. My absolute favourite was grilled lobster tail with a beurre blanc. Or maybe it was the jerked Grouper tacos. Hmm, perhaps the Lion Fish Gojons with fish we'd speared earlier in the day. You get the idea, its very memorable.

We were primarily out there for the diving, and Yianic did us proud. We went to a number of sites, and he managed to teach the kids to spear the lion fish. It was just wonderful. The team just made the memorable diving better.

Plus there is more you can do. Snorkle around the island, do a bit of sailing, kayak to your hearts content, or just put your feet up.

For the time you are there, it is your own slice of paradise...

Room Tip: No room is a bad room. Walk out of any one and there is the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanBoyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hatchetcaye, General Manager at Hatchet Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Many thanks for your review! It was a pleasure having your family with us! Apologies about the delayed incoming transfer. We are glad to have been given the opportunity to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

What an incredible resort Hachet Caye is, the island is stunningly beautiful.

Everything about the service at Hachet Caye is top class, with friendly and welcoming staff in all departments. As soon as you step on board the boat transfer, you are well looked after and catered for - also spotted dolphins on the journey which was a real treat.

Once on the island you are welcomed with warm smiles and coconut water, a tremendous combination followed by an informative and enjoyable tour by the manager Dasha.

The food was tremendous, fresh and full of flavour. I really enjoyed the different specials each evening, from T bone steak to Lobster, everything tasted incredible.

I stayed in one of the main house rooms, nicely presented with plenty of space and everything you need - main feature was the balcony looking out across the island.

Highlight of my stay was definitely the snorkeling trip which included sharks, turtles and stingrays. All equipment was provided and were given a fantastic tour of the reef.

Can't wait to return and would highly recommend Hachet Caye to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights mid August. The journey out from Placencia was quite choppy to say the least but we felt safe with Shaun however the journey took way longer than the 45 mins expected ( though the journey back was 45 mins and much calmer in a larger boat)
Accommodation is exactly as the publicity pics: quality furnishings , private beach area etc.
We found the food exceptional and the restaurant/ bar staff : Morris, Juan , Antonio very knowledgeable and attentive. Do budget for your cocktails- prices are a bit steeper than the mainland but you are 20 miles out in the ocean!
We had an included snorkel trip ( with Yannick) to Silk caye just 15 mins away and saw massive loggerhead turtles, spotted eagle rays, nurse sharks, ramoras . This was a fantastic experience compared to the hustle and bustle of Hol Chan / Shark Ray Alley. The snorkelling off the pier is fine - I was too timid to do it at night but the eagle rays are there every evening. Yannick and the team are more than willing to take you out on a hobie sailing or help with kayaks . We don't dive so can't comment on that.
Plenty of bird life on this small island including 2 ospreys. Lots of baby lemon sharks and rays / bonefish in the shallows.
Our only criticism was that although we knew Hatchet Caye offered mooring facilities we were unlucky to have a party of 20 twenty- somethings - some of whom rented rooms- which ruined the ambience in the restaurant for 2 nights . The bar staff and Dasha, the manager, were very apologetic and reassured us that this was not the norm. Thankfully, the rest of our stay confirmed this. Perhaps a policy of no large groups could be considered.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank nellie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

This place is awesome! I have been back several weeks now and I STILL can't get over how wonderful the experience was. First, the staff was GREAT. Very helpful, not intrusive, fun and efficient. That said, don't go to dine starving because it is an island and they understandably operate on island time. Second, the island itself is perfect in my humble opinion. Everywhere you look, it is very nicely thought out. The landscaping, the secret spots to lounge, the pool, the restaurant, the docks...you name it! The rooms were perfect with great ac.Third, the water toys were plentiful and in decent condition! Paddle in the morning, snorkel in the afternoon and kayak for a little later day fun! You can see the gorgeous rays and fish right from the dock if you would rather just chill! Fourth, the sea turtle excursion was great!! Loved it all! Go, enjoy, rinse and repeat!

Room Tip: Any Cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luckiest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My husband and I visited the island 3 years ago and we just went back a second time last week. Hatchet Caye is such a peaceful, relaxing and friendly place to be! It also provides the right "beach vacay" that I like; and the "diving, sailing, snorkeling, kayaking, fishing vacay" my husband likes :) Food is amazing and staff makes you feel like family. Rooms are comfortable and clean....multiple options for lounging with a good book on hammocks, beach chairs, by the pool or in the common bar area. A big thank you to all the staff for your hospitality, hard work and smiles!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms - each cabana has it's own hammock and semi-private beach chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We sailed there and took buy for overnight and had the privilege of the resort facilities. The snorkeling on the reef was beautiful and as fine as I have experienced anywhere. We lounged about the beach and sipped on tropical cocktails, going from the water to the pool and just lounging around under palm trees. Before dinner we shared drinks with friendly family from Guatemala up for a couple of days and learned something about their country and perspective. Dinner was very good in its open air restaurant. The Resort is inexpensive to take on a buoy and dinner is reasonable. Staying at the resort is over $300 a person so its an exclusive spot based on the distance from the mainland and the per person price.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

As someone who frequents Hatchet Caye, I have to say that the consistency of the service is excellent yet always improving. Always friendly faces especially Jefe the 'security chief' puppy. He is the best and the friendliest. I have even ran across visitors that have come back time and time again. It's not just an employee and guest's, it's family. I have seen this island resort grow over the years and I have to say, they, the entire staff are doing a fantastic job. The manager, Dasha works tirelessly as does the entire staff on the Caye and Mainland to make sure everything is as smooth as it can be considering one is 20 miles out to sea and you just can't run to Home Depot to get a fitting even though they do have a mini supply of just about anything they need. I give Hatchet Caye a Thumbs UP. Keep up the great work and thank you for always an enjoyable stay. See y ou soon I'm sure.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takunchances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
32.4 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
788 reviews
32.1 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
653 reviews
32.5 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
649 reviews
35.1 km away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
33.0 km away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 20 in Placencia
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Caye Resort

Address: 17 Miles Offshore, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Family Hotel in Placencia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $350 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hatchet Caye Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private island on the edge of the Silk Marine Reserve, seventeen miles east of Placencia, Hatchet is on the longest reef in North America. Laugh, love, play, explore, relax, rejuvenate, and dine in the island lifestyle you want. with a mile of private shoreline and word class diving and fishing only minutes away. With a pirates past, a hideaway present, and an environmental future, Hatchet offers unspoiled environment for your unforgettable tropical island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatchet Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Caye Hotel Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing