We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Parrot Beach Houses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Green Parrot and I wish I could have stayed longer. This is the place to go if you need to get away from it all. The beach houses are exactly as they appear on the website. They are rustic, but clean and comfortable. If you need TV and AC this is not the place for you. If you want to relax on the beach, meet great people, eat great food, and go on some exciting tours this is the place you want to stay. The other reviewer stated that the beach was not cleaned, but we watched Pedro and Cameroon rake the beach every morning. Leo was amazing, and was always helpful. My husband wanted to dive with the Whale sharks and Leo set up the dives for him. The company they used was less expensive that the other dive shops, and they were the first trip to see the whale sharks this year. Leo also took us to the zipline and the river tube trip. One the way back we took a detour and stop and a ruin. Leo is very knowledgeable and I think he knows everyone in town.
Theresa is a great addition to the friendly staff. The Green Parrot is lucky to have her. She was always smiling. We had a great time getting to know her. Isabella, in the kitchen, also made our trip special. When I told her I loved the coconut shrimp, she invited me in the kitchen to learn how to make it!
Our last night was my husbands birthday and the staff made it special. Theresa made a birthday cake for him, Isabella cooked his favorite dinner and Leo even gave him a birthday present.
I found the Green Parrot to be exactly as the website shows, clean comfortable, rustic and friendly. I will definitely stay there again. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickiVale18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We sure do appreciate your staying with us. You are always welcome back. We make every effort to make your visit memorable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    41
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
151
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My two daughters and I recently stayed at the Green Parrot and had a wonderful time. Placing the reservation was a breeze and Mr. Allardice was extremely pleasant during all of our conversations. The resort is clean, and the staff was very helpful during our stay. The girls loved sleeping in our own "home on the beach". We will stay at the Green Parrot again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Placencia.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We do value your comments and are so pleased you had a great stay. We always try to improve and will look forward to a return visit. Take care.
Your friends at the Green Parrot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Green Parrot is by far one of the best experiences I had in a long time. When i recently decided to take some of my vacation time, I headed down to the Central American Paradise also known as Belize. My girlfriend and I wanted a real relaxing experience and that's exactly what we got when we chose The Green Parrot. First, the scenery is absolutely breathtaking, pure beauty. If your looking to get away from work in a nice romantic setting, this little gem is perfect for you. Also, credit must be given for the service. All the staff we're extremely helpful, and caring. They really do everything they can to provide you with a relaxing, enjoyable experience. All an All the Green Parrot gets five stars for me. I can tell you I'll be back next vacation i take. Thank you Green Parrot, you are truly one of a kind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was our third visit to the Green Parrot in the past three years. Our family instantly finds ourselves at home upon arrival. All of the staff are amazing and do whatever they can to make our stay very enjoyable and comfortable. We have grown to love them and also look forward to hearing about their families. They have become our friends. We love the beach house as the breeze from the water flows through the windows. We enjoy the natural feel we experience at the Green Parrot. So much of our lives are filled with clutter, man-made conveniences, and busy schedules so we always love the slower pace, the incredible natural beauty of creation, and the simplicity of life at our stay in Belize. Relaxing on the hammock on our porch or on the pier is a family favorite as well as marveling at the sparkling stars while walking on the beach. Feeling the warm sand slip through our toes as we saunter along the beach is always greatly missed on our return to Canada. The fresh fish served daily is a wonderful treat which we always look forward to. The beach is a fun playground and the swimming is excellent. It is such a safe environment for our kids (ages 11 and 14). We are already anticipating our return to our second home on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsplayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay. We have a long 12 year history of great guests from Canada. Your suggestions are always welcome. Thanks for being a Green Parrot supporter. Come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you are looking for a place of serenity and indescribable beauty, this is the place for you. The Green Parrot is a wonderful place to stay and the staff are excellent - friendly and always there to help. The cabins are rustic, spacious and well maintained. They are right on the beach. What an incredible sound to hear waves throughout the night!
The food is scrumptious and prepared fresh each time. Yummy seafood! Coffee is ready for you even before the sun is up. Having a cup on the dock as the sun comes up each morning watching pelicans or even dolphins - does it get any better!!!
Leo is the manager and always willing to help you with any plans you may have. He has connections that guarantee you excellent tours and transportation.
I highly recommend the Green Parrot if your idea of a holiday is getting away from it all. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Green Parrot is a small quiet resort with big time customer service.

In the morning we would wake up in our thatched roof cabana to the sound of waves and a steady breeze. We would walk next door to the outdoor resturaunt/bar and enjoy freshly squeezed juice (watermelon juice was my favorite) and amazing food made from fresh ingredients.

The cabanas were awesome. Ours had a high ceiling with a thatched roof. There is no need for air conditioning with the breeze coming off of the sea. The small porch on the front of the cabana was great for hanging out in a hammock and enjoying the beach. The bathroom sink had drinking water as a separate tap and there was a fridge in the room that the water can be cooled in. The outdoor shower was also really neat.

The green parrot will book all of your tours and help you plan your days to get the best out of your vacation. They have bikes, canoes, kayaks, snorkeling, adventures tours, and more. If the weather cooporates you can paddle out to a small island right off shore. They will also prepare a lunch for you to take with you on your trip and eat on the island.

Leo, the manager, was our tour guide for a couple of the days. We traveled to the Mayan ruins with him and toured a local banana plantation, both trips were really fun and interesting. He seems to know about everything Belize and knows most of the people with in a 300 mile radius! It was great seeing the country with a local dude who could answer all of our random questions.

We at most of our meals at the Green Parrot because the food was outstanding. The night cook is a fantastic lady that will customize your meal any way you wish. Make sure you try the tequila shrimp. There are some other places near by but we didn't get a chance to check them out. We did go into Placencia a few times and had the best lobster at Omar's Creole Grub, you have to check this place out while you are there.

Of all the resorts and places to stay that we came across while traveling in Belize we would definitely go back to the Green Parrot.

Room Tip: we stayed in the sea grape and it was fantastic. we were right on the beach about 30 yards from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

From the moment Leo picked us up at the airport in Placencia, we were in paradise.The Green Parrot offered everything from snorkeling, zip lining, and fishing, to a journey back in time at the Mayan ruins. When we weren't exploring the reef or the rain forest we were enjoying the great food, friendly staff, laid back atmosphere and perhaps a bit of excellent local rum. Our cabana was clean and comfortable, right on the beach, and complete with hammock and a beautiful view of the sunrise. Thank you to our friend Leo and the staff of the Green Parrot for making our trip unforgettable! We'll definitely be back!

Dan & Nichole
Anchorage, AK

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thanks for your kind comments. We strive to make all of our guests feel at home. Sorry if there was any sea grass washed up on the beach. We do rake it every morning, but you know mother nature. Come back again and ask for the repeat guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.6 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
11.0 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
10.0 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.8 km away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#8 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 km away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Parrot Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Parrot Beach Houses

Property: Green Parrot Beach Houses
Address: 1 Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#6 Family Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Parrot Beach Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Parrot Beach Houses is located in Southern Belize on the Placencia peninsula. We have a total of 8 individual beach cabanas to serve our guests needs. All of our units are on the beach. In addition, we have our own bar and restaurant. The Green Parrot Resort serves a wide variety of customers- adventure travelers, divers, fishermen and women, weddings, college groups, religious service groups, and beach lovers. You can arrange all of your tours through the Green Parrot Office. We prescreen our tour guides so that you get the best adventure experience for the dollar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Parrot Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Parrot Beach Houses Hotel Placencia
Green Parrot Beach Hotel
Green Parrot Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing