We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maya Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$175
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$259
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$318
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn(Placencia)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serenade Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
589
102
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
102
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjaguar roommaya beachcreamsicledreamsicle houseking conchhibiscus roomjoya del markingfishhotel bistrojohn ellenaqua villafalse cayeowners and staffevery mealpork chopbelize cityhotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 707 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier. The owners, Ellen and John, were absolutely wonderful! We ate at their Bistro for almost every meal and enjoyed every one. The staff were also very kind and knowledgeable. We stayed in the Toucan room, with beautiful beach views and woke up to the sunrise each morning. The room was very clean and they were kind enough to do our laundry for us in a matter of hours. They offer free bike and kayak rentals, happily arranged tours and outings and even arranged our flights and transport to the local airport.

We would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone staying in the area, you won't regret it. Thank you Ellen, John and staff for an amazing end to our vacation in Belize!

Brit and Sarah

Room Tip: Toucan room was spacious, with hardwood floors, fans/AC and a beautiful beach view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beingess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We spent an incredible few days at the Maya Beach Hotel. Marlin at the front desk was so thoughtful and helpful that he made our stay an experience of a life time! The Hotel is in a great location -- quiet, safe. The food was unbelievable and the kids had a great time on the beach and in the pool!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We can only agree with all the other positive reviews of Maya Beach Hotel on tripadvisor. Spacious, comfortable accommodations, pleasant surroundings - and of course, some of the best restaurant meals in Belize. In our four days at the hotel the four of us tried nearly everything on the menu and were never disappointed - the peanut encrusted fish was a real favourite. John, Ellen and Marlin were very helpful and "flexible" in assisting us with sightseeing advice and booking a wonderful snorkelling trip with Avalon Divers. The small swimming pool at the hotel was particularly welcome on those days when windy conditions made swimming in the ocean less inviting. You will want to bike (complimentary at the hotel) or drive to the village of Placentia, as Maya Beach is a ways out of town. Rates seem competitive and represent good value for the money spent.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room if you can for best views and ocean breezes.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

What we were looking for

A quiet beachfront place with good food onsite, in or near Placencia.

General location
The location of the Maya Beach resort is in the area of Maya Beach on the Placencia Peninsula. On the ocean, facing east. A nice location. More of a collection of resorts, hotels and vacation houses than a village, it is a bit out of the way, which is good for those who wish not to be in town. A $20 US taxi ride gets you to the friendly quaint town of Placencia. Across the road from the resort is a lumber yard. The resort is on the highway, more of a lonesome highway, than a busy one. Noise is rarely if ever an issue. Exception was one night at 4am a forklift loaded two trucks with lumber at the lumber yard. I am confident that if this were a re occurring issue, the owners would take it up with the lumberyard. An isolated case, but still my accurate experience.



Cleanliness

Very clean. Maid service daily. You are on the beach here, so expect sand in you room. No critters.



The Rooms 

We stayed in “Flip Flop Palace” managed but not owned by Maya Beach Hotel. Marlon suggested the palace would be best if we wanted quiet (aside from the sweet sound of the ocean). He was correct. The palace is rustic, but we are totally OK with that. It’s like being at an old family cabin (only a bit pricier) Some of the palace, like much of what we saw in Belize is in need of paint and repair. The layout includes a regular sized open kitchen with bar stools, all of the lights worked, there was an air conditioner which we never chose use. A little cramped but still nice. The palace is a 2 minute walk down the freshly raked sand from the main resort/hotel. We were happily isolated. Hot water good for 2 showers, water pressure 2 out of 5. My only gripe would be window coverings. The are none, so come 6 am, like it or not, that beautiful sun will come a risin’ over the Caribbean heralding you into the day. Lights ON! Black out curtains, wind thru curtains or california shutter shades would be the main improvement needed here.



Sleep and bed comfort

so-so. The fold out bed was pretty bad, our bed, the main bed, was foam. We didn’t get sore backs, but I wouldn't use the word comfortable either. Pillows.....2.5 out of 5.



Amenities
The hotel has a small nice pool, chairs everywhere, a pier with a palapa. I wouldn’t say the grounds are manicured, but they are very well kept. The sand on the beach is raked daily and the staff clean up any debris that may have washed up. Most wooden beach chairs could use some form of repair. The elements are destructive out there so their condition comes with the geography, I suppose. The chairs in the best condition are at the pool and in the bistro.



Food and Drink
The resort’s bistro is known to have some of the best food in Belize. We had all of our breakfasts there, a few lunches and two dinners there. We enjoyed some meals more than others, some truly outstanding dishes were Pizza (a deep rich sauce), pancakes, Amber Jack (a fish) and eggs benny. A very nice selection of wine and other drinks.





The Staff

All of the staff other than the owners appear to be locals. The staff are very kind, warm, personable and friendly. Other locals we spoke with said the staff are very happy because the employers are good, kind people. 5 / 5.



The Crowd

The Hotel isn’t huge, so it’s tough to pin down the crowd. For the most a mellow bunch some 60’s, some 20’s, there didn’t seem to be the “young parents with pre-teen children. It is common to see local expats dropping in to the bistro for 11am bloody mary’s etc.



The Vibe

Mellow, laid back, slightly isolated.



Pros

Oceanfront location, good food, wonderful staff, complimentary kayaks and bicycles. Very good concierge service.



Cons

Lack of window coverings was a huge deal to us. 



Suggestions
Perhaps a few more “shade” options for the poolside. Window coverings.



Summary

We would return. We did stop by Singing Sands, which is nearby. It did appear more deluxe, but I’n not sure we would’ve been able to enjoy the quiet isolation which we were granted.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DKTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2012

If you want a real Belize experience you must stay at the Maya Beach Hotel and Bistro. We spent two nights at the hotel then 12 nights in the Upper Dreamsicle House in March 2012. The owners Jon and Ellen were so gracious and helpful to make sure we had the best time possible. The whole staff were friendly, and helpful. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the Bistro. You must try the Wonton Tacos, and the Shrimp Stuffed Squid, and whatever fish special of the night. How many places in the world can you go to dinner in your bare feet? Ellen is very happy to arrange any excersions you might want to take. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnygecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews