We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, quiet and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We recently returned from a wonderful week at The Placencia. The resort is beautifully maintained, and the organic garden is very impressive. Every morning there were grounds staff quietly raking up the sea grass that constantly accumulated on the beach. I applaud these people who spend hours every day doing such a tedious and thankless job only to turn around to see it starting to build up right behind them. It is the ocean after all! We didn't spend any real time on the beach, as it wasn't the nicest swimming conditions we've seen, but it was still very beautiful and entertaining watching the pelicans and their daily acrobatics, and feeding bread to the fish off the pier. The pool was amazing, warm and clean, and we never had a problem getting chairs, even when we returned from a day trip to cool off before dinner like lots of others. The room we had was beautiful, clean and had a great view. The rainfall shower from the ceiling was very soothing on the sunburn! And i loved the cool little waterfall taps in the public washroom off the main lobby! I have a few minor suggestions that I wanted to make. When we travel, personally we like to have flexible meal times instead of being on a schedule. As a small resort I definitely understand that having something available all day long would be terribly wasteful and costly, so a small controlled buffet is much more logical, but making the dishes in smaller quantities and replenishing more often would be nice so things don't dry out too much if you aren't there at the very beginning. Having a couple more choices of snacks or finger foods available between meal times at the pool bar would be nice in case you don't get to the buffet (bring the remaining muffins or bread and fruit over when the breakfast buffet is done). We noticed someone ordering something at the pool from the main restaurant on our last day, but hadn't been made aware this was possible. Maybe mention that option at the orientation or provide a small basic menu at the bar. Two days after we arrived the cable television went out (apparently all through the town), and it didn't come back on for the remainder of our stay. The resort is very quiet and has no nightlife (which usually is perfectly fine with us as we are usually in our room fairly early anyway), but usually a bit of TV before going to bed is a nice way to end the day, so it was a little disappointing that there was nothing else provided like complimentary wi-fi instead. One other suggestion about the Friday night karaoke, everyone seemed to have a great time, but the screen is set up behind the buffet during dinner, and it makes it a little awkward when you arrive to eat and have to either wait until a break between songs, or walk right in front of the screen when someone is singing to fill your plate. Moving the screen to the side or high behind the bar might be a little less disruptive and uncomfortable for the latecomers. but overall, our trip was fantastic and we were very pleased with our choice of locations and would definitely consider returning again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jmsOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia291977, Manager at The Placencia Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Hi I would like to thank you for having taken time out of your busy schedule to write something nice about us. Yes the pelicans are keeping us entertained.

I will take note about the snak bar. I am awfully sorry about the cable fortunately we were able to get it back up the following week after you left. In reference to Karaoke night I will definitely be looking into that this Friday. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    80
    42
    35
    28
See reviews for
63
152
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

we came to belize for diving and stayed at The Placencia, the place is superb with a beautiful pool, everything is super clean,we had ocean front room, super roomy beautiful views and extra clean, people and staff always very nice and smilling, the buffet is on a dock very beautiful place, the food is nothing to talk about but cannot say it is not good...only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars. Everything else is 5 stars. we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: ocean front rooms were only $100 more but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milly591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I returned from a diving trip to Belize on April 2. I spent the week with three friends, all of whom are divers and we were very very happy with our accommodations at the Placencia Hotel. We were in the beach cottages which were very clean and complete with anything we could possibly need. The buffet restaurant off the beach served some great food and the a la carte, with only one exception (the steamed fish in the banana leaf was a very tiny serving...), was excellent. Because of the small number of guests at the time, we were able to dine there three evenings instead of the usual two. There aren't many downsides to this resort but I must admit that I was disappointed with swimming off the beach. The staff member I spoke to didn't recommend swimming there so we stuck to the beautiful saltwater pool (and swim up bar). There is not much to do at this resort but that suited our group just fine! In our week stay, we dove three days (through Avadon Divers... I would highly recommend them); we spent a half day in the village; we took a day trip to the Mayan ruins at Lubaantun and the Blue Creek Caves adventure. We were more than ready to "do nothing" at the resort!

Room Tip: Cottage on the beach... DEFINITELY worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joaniewhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize, Belize
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I'm a Belizean and it's the third time me and my fiance have been to this beautiful resort. Our last spontaneous stay was on March the 25th. Its always a great place to run away from the hassle of our day to day life style. The best part for me is always relaxing in the pool while drinking and enjoying a ceviche. The staff are more than friendly and i always love great customer service especially from your own Belizean people. By the way the favourite bar tender to have is Sammy, thanks for all the great drinks. Overall it's always a great geat away relaxing place to be.

Ps:I'm still waiting on the promised call and email on information about the wedding package.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanielleHaylockBze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We are Americans recently living in Belize, and we've stayed at the Placencia Hotel a couple times on weekend get-aways.

The grounds are fantastic...super clean, beautiful, well manicured. The pool is awesome. The beach is long and clean, but look before you run in barefoot as there are lots of sea urchins in the water.

The rooms vary...older single story villas on the south side of the property are noticeably older. We had ants all over on our last visit and a tiny TV in the bedroom. But our first one was sensational, and we stayed on the north side in the bottom of a two-story with large flat screens in both the bedroom and the living space (yes, we like to watch TV late at night on vacation).

There are three locations where food is available. The main restaurant, the pool bar, and the end of the pier. The pier is usually buffet and not particularly good. You can get a full menu at the pool bar from the main restaurant. And the restaurant food is incredibly expensive but sensational...if it ever arrives.

And that leads me to customer service, which is why I can only give this resort two stars instead of five. The customer service is non-existent. On our first visit it was slow and not particularly pleasant. But this time the waitress in the main restaurant was practically hostile. And we're pretty easy going. She only had three tables and it took her 20 minutes to take our order, 45 minutes to bring our drinks (we ended up getting a bottle of wine from our room while we were waiting since we were dining outside and it was right next door). She never came back to check on our meal. We waited another 30 minutes for the check and finally left knowing it would simply be charged to the room.

As much as I hate to say it. I'm pretty much done with this hotel and will probaly go to San Pedro from now on.

Room Tip: Sea "Front" Villas are nicer and newer than the Sea "View" Villas even though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soren172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We recently returned from an amazing family vacation in Belize and all I can say is WOW!!

At the recommendation of friends, we stayed at The Placencia Hotel, and it was perfect. The resort is absolutely beautiful and makes an ideal “home base” – whether you’re relaxing by the pool or taking daily excursions (as we did).

The grounds are beautifully maintained and our accommodations were terrific (two bedrooms with a centrally located kitchen). And everything you would want is right there – a great pool, beautiful beach, wonderful dining pier/bar, tennis courts, and bicycles for short rides. In addition, the staff was extremely helpful in arranging daily trips – we went snorkeling, took a jungle trip to Monkey River and went hiking to a remote waterfall. Simply amazing!!

If you’ve never been to Belize or The Placencia Hotel before, put it on your list!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pds_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The first night we were welcomed for dinner down on the pier and discovered that it was really the ONLY place that we were able to eat. They had a chicken, beef, fish, one of rice/pasta/potato selection, buffet style every night. Breakfast and lunch were served in the same place in the same style. The marketing materials say 3 restaurants, this is just not true.
f you are all inclusive there is one where you order a la carte twice, and then every other meal is buffet. The all you can drink is only Belize liquor (moonshine) or beer.
We went for one of our two a la carte meals the day after we arrived and my husband got sick (likely from the lettuce) and was sick for the rest of the trip. He ate nothing but bread and bottled water for the remainder of our trip. And when we ordered him chicken soup, it was too strong boivril stock that he couldn't eat - and they wanted to charge him more than $10 for it!
The water is dirty due to construction and you can NOT swim in the water in the resort, so it's the pool or you have to take the trip into town to be able to swim in the ocean.
It is beautiful, but they promised way more than they delivered.
This was a HUGE disappointment of a trip for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDToronto99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia291977, Manager at The Placencia Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
I would like to thank you for taking out the time to write this review. It is unfortunate thst your husband got sick while you were traveling. I remember your stay here and I remember the Front Desk supervisor offering assistance. Again I humbly apologize if the Front Desk was charging you anything for the soup your husband received especially since you were on an all inclusive package and you were not suppose to be paying for food and drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
14.3 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
3.5 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
13.3 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
12.7 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
23.1 km away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Placencia Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Property: The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Placencia Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Placencia Hotel is the fastest growing Hotel in the general area offering the finest amenities and service to an ever discerning clientele visiting Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Placencia Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Placencia
The Resort Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing