We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful vacation, close to Placencia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation, close to Placencia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We loved our stay at Chabil Mar! The entire staff is very friendly & helpful. The security guard recommended multiple restaurants. Merli & Natalie were always happy & super helpful whether it was organizing our tours or finding bandaids for us. Althea was fantastic to work & even drove us to the airport when we left. We stayed in villa 7 which was a beautiful 2nd story, 2 bedroom/2 bath villa overlooking the ocean with a deck on 3 sides. It was beautifully decorated & very private. We really appreciated having a kitchen so we could make our own drinks & have the wonderful leftovers from meals that were too large to finish. The dinners at Chabil Mar were fantastic, tho expensive. There is no restaurant, so you can eat on their terrace or anywhere else on the property. We usually had breakfast on our deck, complete with lizard friends sunbathing near us. Definitely try the lime juice & fry jacks! Our favorite dinner was a private one on the pier to celebrate our 20th anniversary. I would highly recommend it, but book early, they only allow one seating per night. The resort is a short walk from the village of Placencia by beach or road. We walked to town most nights to have dinner ...the Secret Garden, Omar's, and the Barefoot Bar were all fantastic. We loved the gelato at Tutti Frutti as well. ! The snorkeling/diving was great, tho it was very windy for the first 4 days we were there. Our inland tours (Mayan ruins & jaguar preserve) were reserved with a local guide, Gilly, who is super knowledgeable and friendly. I would highly recommend Chabil Mar. It's not the cheapest, but you will be well taken care of & have excellent accomodations!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    61
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
191
366
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

From the very first email exchange with Althea...the hotel manager...I knew I was dealing with a professional and that my needs would be met. My only concern was whether the location was right as I wanted to expose my boys and family to the village of Placencia and didn’t want to have to always take cabs, rent golf carts, or be hassled in any way...and i was not...as all my expectations were exceeded.

Chabil Mar has the best location, incredible staff and food...no dining room which means you can eat on the beach or by pool or in your well-appointed villa or on the dock under the stars...and don’t have to deal with getting dressed or dealing with anybody you do not care to.

Chabil Mar was the perfect start for our 2 week vacation in Belize. Their villas and property are first class and immaculate.

It is close to town so you can bike or walk to great food and drinks...there is a supermarket, fantastic fruit stand, tutti fruitti gelato, Fat Boyz pizza that actually delivered to Chabil Mar for my boys one afternoon…La Dolce Vita is such good Italian food it’s crazy and I am native New Yorker and Italian food snob and this place was unreal….Dawns, Barefoot Bar…just excellent village and very friendly…but, you do not have to leave Chabil Mar because they have it all and if they don’t Althea will get it for you.

Yes, there are other nice places but location, location, location...and everything from pillows to towels to infinity pools to kayaks to happy hour to beach to their staff was first class and first rate...and immediately upon arriving via their taxi service from airport in Placencia we were greeted by the smiling face of Natalie who had cool towels and cold drinks to welcome us…man, what a feeling after travelling from Baltimore!

Our villa was a two bedroom with a loft which overlooked the pool and beach…it was perfectly situated and decorated…had a big fridge, w&d, color TV, powerful ac, Wi-Fi, blenders, plush towels and sheets, beautifully tiled bathrooms, soft robes, meticulously kept gardens, mango trees, free bikes and kayaks to use, unreal attentiveness by the staff, movies to rent, iguanas and exotic birds everywhere, views of the sea and mountains, Dijon the bartender, Natalie at the front desk, Tony and Junior forever asking you “can we get you something”, and there was nothing I didn’t ask for that I didn’t get.

The price is very reasonable for what you get albeit I didn’t say inexpensive but it was reasonable and no surprises.

I want to retire to Chabil Mar or someplace just like it…and I will definitely return to Chabil Mar as guest and to eat and play if ever in Placencia again.

Room Tip: Villa 2 was as good as it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Chabil Mar is the most luxurious accomodation within walking distance to Placencia village.
The service is very good, villas are well appointed, grounds are beautifully landscaped and food is tasty. We stayed in villa 13, which was 1 bedroom with pool view and wrap around porch. The two things I found most useful were the washer and dryer, especially since we came here after spending 5 days in the jungle, as well as a very good quality blender, which allowed us to make smoothies for our kids and frozen drinks in the room. We dined in the village, but actually preferred Chabil Mar meals, which were good and priced as mid-range dining options in the village. Although swimming is allowed from the dock, I would advise against it, as we saw jellyfish floating around the docks, they will sting. The reason I give this place 4 stars, instead of 5, is the value. I think the cost of stay is really little too high for what is provided.It would be nice to have the breakfast included in the cost of stay, or maybe at lease morning tea/coffee.

Room Tip: all vilas are nice and have either partial or full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolajarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved our recent stay at Chabil Mar. We timed our stay to be able to go whale shark snorkeling (you can only see them a few weeks in the Spring) and it was a success-- we spotted two whale sharks about 30 feet below us! If you get the chance to do this, it's the experience of a lifetime. Just know in advance most times you only see the whale sharks when diving-- we just got really lucky snorkeling.

Chabil Mar excels at wonderful personalized service. From the first communication I had with Althea during the reservation process.... to the moment we checked out of the resort with Natalie; everyone made us feel so welcome and valued. Each day, Merli found us to go over our excursions and make sure we were all set and happy with timing. And each evening Desean made us the best coconut mojitos I've ever had. Do not miss out on his amazing mixology skills! Plus he is so kind and is ALWAYS smiling!

We lucked out with the perfect condo-- villa 6. It had a wraparound verandah with views of Placencia and the beautiful sunrise. The interior was also quite lovely-- and the bed extremely comfortable. And since you can have your meals anywhere on the property-- we ordered the food to our verandah each meal because of the killer view. We did eat one meal in town at Rumfish which is a fun spot owned by Americans. The food and drinks were okay there--however, we found them much better at Chabil Mar.

We took the kayak over to Placencia one day--- and another day rode the complimentary bikes into town. The bikes are older and need some work-- but we did see some new bikes being delivered while we were there. You can also rent golf carts... but we never did that.

We definitely plan to return to Chabil Mar and recommend it to anyone interested in visiting the area. It's pricey, but you definitely are treated very well while there. And don't shy away from heading into town and going on the excursions. You get a much better sense of the community and location by doing so. We also went fishing for a day and caught about 10 fish which we brought back to be cooked by the Chabil Mar chef. Yum! Make sure you try the fryjacks--- and the conch fritters, too!

We were back and forth between Chabil Mar and Turtle Inn-- we are very happy with the decision we made!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 6 which is a 2nd story luxury seafront villa. It has INCREDIBLE views from the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhichBeachNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The time for planning our 11 year old son's spring break was rapidly approaching. We decided to go to Belize instead of Kirkwood or Key West. Chabil Mar is fantastic. The facility is conveniently located close to Placencia...just a stroll or bike ride away. The villas are perfect for our family...very comfortable, clean and well-appointed. Every single staff person was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. We had a fantastic time in the pool, on the beach, fishing with Wayne and touring the ruins with Gilbert. Our son caught his first tarpon and bonefish on the fly.

Room Tip: We loved room #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Let's bump the star rating to 6 !!! From the moment Chabil's staff picks you up and returns you to the airport after your visit, you are in paradise !!!! Our family of 5 had first class service and amenities all 8 days. Althea,Natalie,Merli,Tiffany,DeChaun,Jose, Adan, and of course Tony were available always for food,drink, pool,and beach services,and any request for our stays in the fabulous air conditioned and sleek designs of our accommodations. Within walking of downtown Plancencia, the eats @ Tipsy Tuna,RumFish,Barefoot Bar,Wendy's,Brenda's ,Hidden Garden Omars,and a host of other local street food fare Belizian Style, what fun ! The best treat is the outstanding food right at Chabil, served anywhere on property, beach, deck, pool, your room with great fun and interaction, great respect and a just "let us know" what you would like Mr. Chris, it was taken care of. From floating in the 2 infinity pools, walking and sitting on the the sand raked beach, swimming ,kayaking, and sunning off the private pier. The grouper,tuna,snapper I caught one day???... The chef prepared roasted grouper filets,whole grilled snapper, and a tuna sashimi,along with Belizian sides,served on the pier for a private family dinner, wow......Talk to the staff about anything you want to do, Monkey River,fishing, island explore day, shopping, whatever, they have the assistance and love to help........Returning soon, the best !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Our beach front 2 bedroom and ocean view 1 bedroom superb, the beach is right out your door any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSaltlakecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I had been to Belize once before, but had visited the mountains. We were very excited to visit the beach. Adventure started with our flight on a puddle jumper from Belize City to placencia. We were picked up at the airport and taken to the resort. The location is terrific. You can walk along the beach into town or use the resorts bikes. Everyone at the resort is terribly friendly and the food and drinks are great. There is no restaurant per say but you can order food just about anytime to any location be it poolside or to your room. We enjoyed happy hour every night at the bar. Great time to meet fellow travelers. Just wear bug spray. Although the resort sprays that time of night is awful for the no see'ums and my legs got eaten up the first night. It was nice during the day even though all the rooms were booked you hardly ran into anyone. Very quiet and relaxing. There are kayaks and bikes you can take out which are both fun. One day we did a full day snorkel with the group across the street at the marina. They were wonderful and we saw dolphins, rays, and sea turtles.
My only complaint really is that our room overlooked the pool and our bedroom the bar. The shades were very thin and at night all the unit lights and bar lights flooded our room so often times it was hard to fall asleep. There are only a few units that actually look directly out to the ocean otherwise you just get a corner or so.
Overall it was great and I would recommend it it's nice to be close to town too so you can venture out. The Cozy Corner was good for breakfast and we were most surprised the little Italian restaurant was really good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
10.6 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.7 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.0 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
11.2 km away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
36.4 km away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing