We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cabana in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Ranked #5 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Beautiful cabana in the jungle”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We just stayed one night, but it was lovely. The cabana is nicely decorated, really spacious, with very comfy beds! Lots of little touches like handmade soaps which are made by their neighbor. It is a really easy place to find and Sheila can recommend activities to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demolitionemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
41
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The kudos that are richly deserved for Tranquility Lodge are as much about the style and savvy of its owners/managers as about the place itself. Sheila and Rusty have pitch-perfect touch as innkeepers, which reflects years of experience in the Belize hospitality industry, an obvious affinity for all things Belizean, and an eagerness to share always-intelligent and spot-on recommendations for planning drives, days, and diversions.
We stayed five days at Tranquility Lodge, a great location from which to
explore southern Belize. Our large room/cabana was recently redecorated, super, super clean and nestled near the jungle growth on the quiet grounds occupied by the Lodge. Sheila’s delicious breakfasts are served in a spacious informal dining room with an open second-floor vista onto this very private site’s landscape.

Tranquility is near the Southern Highway, convenient to Mayan ruins at
Lubaantun and Nim Li Punit. We had a car rental, great for exploring the area – but beware – the secondary roads are dirt and rock and rutted. Tranquility is a 15 minute drive from Coleman’s Café on the Southern Highway and Marion’s in Punta Gorda, both serving delicious and very inexpensive Belizean fare. You serve yourself in Perlene and Tom Coleman’s kitchen and can sit outside, often with them, chatting. Marion’s is in town, overlooking the bay. For a foodie highlight, treat yourself to lunch or dinner at Chef Rob’s in Hopkins, about an hours drive from Tranquility. Amazing food – fresh, creative, and well priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammieTSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Tranquility Lodge is a beautiful and relaxing place to stay! The rooms are so comfortable and the setting is wonderfully peaceful. I recommend this great place to anyone looking for lodging in the Toledo District! And the owners, Rusty and Sheila, are great too!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AddiFromOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We spent one night at the lodge and loved it. The quiet location with a fresh water swimming spot was perfect. The room was very clean and nicely decorated most importantly a comfortable bed and hot water shower! Sheila was very hospitable and accommodating to all of our needs. Breakfast was a taste of home, it was great and a set us up well for the rest of the day. We would go back anytime.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acetheroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Recently, while travelling to southern Belize, a colleague and I stayed at Tranquility Lodge. We really didn’t have any expectations as to what Tranquility might be like, but in all of 10 seconds we realized that, not only did we find the lodge to be beautiful, but the proprietors to be even more so. Sheila and Rusty Nale are the ultimate hosts. They have run several different hotels in their 19 plus years in Belize, and Tranquility Lodge is their pièce de résistance.

We were welcomed as family more than travelers. Our room was a slice of heaven in a beautiful jungle setting, and the breakfast each morning was even better than the one before. Laundry was wonderfully reasonable, the swimming hole is something out of a movie, and the owners are some of the kindest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. If you are travelling through Toledo District in Belize, there is only one choice as far as accommodations.

Tranquility Lodge will amaze you, treat you and you will fall in love with the grounds as soon as you lay eyes on them. I can’t say enough great things about Sheila, Rusty, their staff and what they have accomplished by building such a tranquil and comforting lodge. Do yourself a favor and stay at Tranquility Lodge. It’s the treat of treats.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanoFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed with at Tranquility lodge for an 8 day trip. The advice and planning that Rusty and Sheila provided was second to none. We stayed in a casita, and enjoyed the peaceful nature of the surroundings.

The food and attention to detail was extremely delightful. We can not recommend staying at Tranquility Lodge enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin_and_Charlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We spent 5 nights at TL in one of the beautiful new casitas. Sheila and Rusty could not have been more warm or accommodating to our diet requests, adventure desires, or questions about Toledo and Belize. The birding on site is excellent (46 species for us; varied habitats; TL bird list online is good), a new trail along Jacinta Creek opens up opportunities for hiking and birding, and the large upstairs screened dining room is a delightful place to spend a rainy afternoon or evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d3_3_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
8.1 km away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
257 reviews
39.8 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
10.8 km away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#10 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
11.5 km away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
7.9 km away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas

Property: Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Address: Jacintoville, Punta Gorda 00000, Belize (Formerly Tranquility Lodge)
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful, secluded setting on 20 acres of lush tropical gardens and jungle, Chaab'il B'e Lodge and Casitas is the best choice for nature loving travelers to Southern Belize. Use the lodge as your base for exploring the cultural, archaeological, and eco-adventure activities of Toledo District. Afterwards, enjoy great food, hospitality and pleasingly rustic yet oh so comfortable accommodations. Take the trail less traveled... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaab'Il B'e Lodge & Casitas Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing