We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Ranked #5 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2011

If you want to find the perfect getaway in a beautiful jungle setting, Tranquility Lodge is the place to be. From the delicious food to the comfortable beds and old fashioned swimming hole, it is a wonderful way to really experience Belize. We awoke every morning to the sounds of parrots and howler monkeys and the smell of coffee brewing and bacon frying.
Sheila and Rusty are the perfect hosts - making us feel like family and giving us advice on places to go and places to avoid. This was a vacation we will always remember. We really hope to be able to return someday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was our second stay at Tranquility lodge. It is a great place to feel "away from it all". Rusty and Shelia are fantastic hosts. They make you feel at home and cook some great food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My husband and I visited while visiting the Punta Gorda area. The location was an easy drive into town and being just off the highway guaranteed us excellent accessibility. Sheila made sure our every need was met and Rusty was very helpful with spotting and naming birds I had never seen. The food was excellent, hotel staff was friendly and helpful and rooms were immaculately clean and air conditioned. Nights were amazingly peaceful. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay. Thanks Sheila and Rusty.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suecas87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We just stayed one night, but it was lovely. The cabana is nicely decorated, really spacious, with very comfy beds! Lots of little touches like handmade soaps which are made by their neighbor. It is a really easy place to find and Sheila can recommend activities to do in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demolitionemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The kudos that are richly deserved for Tranquility Lodge are as much about the style and savvy of its owners/managers as about the place itself. Sheila and Rusty have pitch-perfect touch as innkeepers, which reflects years of experience in the Belize hospitality industry, an obvious affinity for all things Belizean, and an eagerness to share always-intelligent and spot-on recommendations for planning drives, days, and diversions.
We stayed five days at Tranquility Lodge, a great location from which to
explore southern Belize. Our large room/cabana was recently redecorated, super, super clean and nestled near the jungle growth on the quiet grounds occupied by the Lodge. Sheila’s delicious breakfasts are served in a spacious informal dining room with an open second-floor vista onto this very private site’s landscape.

Tranquility is near the Southern Highway, convenient to Mayan ruins at
Lubaantun and Nim Li Punit. We had a car rental, great for exploring the area – but beware – the secondary roads are dirt and rock and rutted. Tranquility is a 15 minute drive from Coleman’s Café on the Southern Highway and Marion’s in Punta Gorda, both serving delicious and very inexpensive Belizean fare. You serve yourself in Perlene and Tom Coleman’s kitchen and can sit outside, often with them, chatting. Marion’s is in town, overlooking the bay. For a foodie highlight, treat yourself to lunch or dinner at Chef Rob’s in Hopkins, about an hours drive from Tranquility. Amazing food – fresh, creative, and well priced.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammieTSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Tranquility Lodge is a beautiful and relaxing place to stay! The rooms are so comfortable and the setting is wonderfully peaceful. I recommend this great place to anyone looking for lodging in the Toledo District! And the owners, Rusty and Sheila, are great too!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AddiFromOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We spent one night at the lodge and loved it. The quiet location with a fresh water swimming spot was perfect. The room was very clean and nicely decorated most importantly a comfortable bed and hot water shower! Sheila was very hospitable and accommodating to all of our needs. Breakfast was a taste of home, it was great and a set us up well for the rest of the day. We would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acetheroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
40 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
39.8 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
281 reviews
8.1 km away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
72 reviews
9 km away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
377 reviews
0 km away
Kiskadee Lodge
Kiskadee Lodge
#8 of 18 in Punta Gorda
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas

Address: Jacintoville, Punta Gorda 00000, Belize (Formerly Tranquility Lodge)
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: $140 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful, secluded setting on 20 acres of lush tropical gardens and jungle, Chaab'il B'e Lodge and Casitas is the best choice for nature loving travelers to Southern Belize. Use the lodge as your base for exploring the cultural, archaeological, and eco-adventure activities of Toledo District. Afterwards, enjoy great food, hospitality and pleasingly rustic yet oh so comfortable accommodations. Take the trail less traveled... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaab'Il B'e Lodge & Casitas Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing