We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute must stay”
Review of Hickatee Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Gorda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Absolute must stay”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

If you pass through PG or stay awhile, this is a must-stay place. Peaceful, plenty of space, nice grounds, food was great, room was immaculate. They picked us up and dropped us off, it doesn't get any easier. Easy to get to town and back, taxi is cheap. Sandy I I really enjoyed our stay, I'm just bummed we did not pass through PG on our way back to Belize City. I was hoping to stay another couple nights there. Next time for sure.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
204
40
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at Hickatee for four nights in January and were very pleased. The grounds are beautiful, the cottage was immaculate and spacious. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

Kate is a wonderful cook, we only went into PG one night for dinner as her meals were superior to what we found in town. Ian is a font of information regarding the local wildlife as well as what to do in the area. We only went on one organized adventure because we found so much to explore and do around the cottages itself. Just grab a bike and explore.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrulil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent winter holidays and the weeks leading up to them in Belize. The last place we stayed at before returning home was Hickatee cottages - and we absolutely loved it. It's now been almost two months since the trip and I really wanted to not forget to write a review because Hickatee and the owners (Ian and Kate) made a difference in our trip and as they make a difference every day in people's lives and wild life.
The place before Hickatee left us with a bad taste in our mouth and we were kind of worried if we should go to another "jungle" like place. Changing things the last minute was not cost effective so we decided to stick to our initial plan. That was one of the best decisions of the trip. Hickatee was like traveling to another world. Ian and Kate are doing an amazingly awesome job and we loved our stay with them, in spite of the weather and various physical ailments. As soon as we got to the airport in PG, Ian was there and took charge: planning, serving, entertaining - whatever we needed he would say "coming up" :) And Kate's bakings are still lingering in our heads...
Both, Ian and Kate, are really special people and know how to make guests feel at home yet on vacation. Their relaxed, happy, thoughtful, caring, and fair attitude reflects in everything around: from the well cared for natural setting, the tasteful and luxurious cottage set up, the tasty home cooked (by kate) meals, and the detailed activities planning by Ian.

We went snorkeling one day and even though the weather did not collaborate - the guide we had made it happen. We went to the snake island, snorkeled and saw lots of big, interesting fish, had a picnic, and ended the day fishing - all for the most reasonable price. Another day we explored the chocolate making places around and that was one fun and unique experience. Cyrilla's chocolate making place is a must have activity. We made our own chocolate, took it home and shared it with friends and family. Christmas eve we had a mini drum concert and got to play with these magic instruments. I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed it but this hopefully gives the idea. We were there for three days and still think as the best Christmas we have ever had without our family.
Kate and Ian became instant friends and we hope they get to visit us one day but if not, for sure we'll visit them again very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful - the owners know how to build vacation spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent four nights at Hickatee earlier this month and had a fantastic time. Ian and Kate are great hosts, the cottage was clean & comfortable and the food was always tasty. The only real negative was that four days was not nearly enough time. We didn't get to take a snorkeling trip to the cayes, fish for Permit or visit Hokeb Ha Cave on Blue Creek. Nancy and I are already planning our return to Belize and will definitely include a stop at Punta Gorda and Hickatee Cottages.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HScottP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We just returned from a week stay at Hickatee Cottages and it was just as wonderful as I knew it would be. Kate and Ian are incredible hosts, sources of information, and have created an oasis in the jungle. We stayed in the den which is not only a great economical option but has great charm. The den is tastefully decorated, has lots of room, extremely clean, has a large washroom, lots of windows, a comfortable bed, and a nice deck. Oh yeah and amazing towels!

The grounds are well manicured and include walking paths and a maze. There are a number of different plant species to look at and plant ID tags are placed throughout. Along with flora there is also a variety of fauna in the area and on a daily basis we could hear howler monkeys.

Breakfasts included coffee delivered and fresh homemade bread and jam which were delicious. Seasonal fruits and a hot breakfast were also available at an extra cost. We had supper onsite 2 of the nights, both meals were plentiful and very good. Kate and Ian provided a variety of recommendations for places to eat in town, 2 of which we took advantage of and both were very good.

Both Kate and Ian helped us create a plan for our week to help us maximize our time and to get the most from our experience in the Toledo district. Even though we had our own transportation they helped set us up with local guides and provided us with directions to where we wanted to go. During out stay they set up a tour to Borranco and the Moho River and also a snorkel tour out to the Snake Cayes.

While there are a number of things to do in the area spending some time at Hickatee is also a great option. Sitting down with a great book, having an afternoon nap, or sitting on the deck visiting with Ian and Kate were a great way to unwind. Their appreciation and love for the area was not only transparent but contagious. We are eager for a return visit!

One thing we noticed thoughout Punta Gorda was the lack of signage. Hickatee is located outside of town so make sure to get directions before hand on how to get there. Even without directions we were still able to find it by stopping and asking a couple of locals.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlk679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I went for a late honeymoon and had an awesome time. Kate and Ian and both wonderful people and their place is hands-down one of the best places I've stayed in the tropics. Although we went during the rainy season, we did manage to make it down the short trail, which was a real treat. Breakfasts are wonderful and the dinner, especially the rolls, were scrumptious. The rooms are extremely comfy and we found an awesome group of fellow travelers while there. We selected Hickatee from the rave reviews it received on Tripadvisor, and it was as great as expected. Their three cats are also very friendly and fun to have around (if you're a cat person). We will definitely be back.

The only drawback is the road from P.G. to their place (4 out of 5 starts for location). Drive slow; shame the local council doesn't do more to fix it up.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the duplex rooms for 2 nights, then switched over to the honeymoon suite for 3 n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheGreenRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Hickatee Cottages are very luxurious and the grounds are a very pretty tropical garden. The owners provide excellent service. There is free pick-up and return to the cottages from Punta Gorda. A breakfast of bread and coffee and juice is included. A cooked breakfast is available at extra cost. One problem is that after breakfast there is no food available until supper at 7:30 pm. There is no store and going into town is the only way to get anything to eat during the day. Most people go away for the day on tours so for them it is not a problem but if you are spending the day at the lodge, there will be nothing to eat all day. Bicycles are provided to go into town but it rains often here. On Wednesdays and Saturdays there is no supper either. These are the cook’s days off. On these days you will be provided with a ride into town but have to get back on your own by taxi or walking or bicycle. I had only one supper there. It was chicken, cabbage and breadfruit. The meal included soup, bread and a small piece of cake. The bread was nice and hot and very good. I have been eating in restaurants all over Belize in both towns and lodges and I felt that the meal was not worth the $20 that they charged for it. The previous day, in town we paid about $20 for BBQ ribs and beer for two people. Limited wireless internet is available. No refrigerators in the rooms to keep cold drinks, probably because of limited power from solar panels and generators. A luxurious cottage in a beautiful setting but I felt that the meals were inadequate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Find_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
8.3 km away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
253 reviews
34.4 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
340 reviews
2.6 km away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
271 reviews
9.0 km away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
85 reviews
3.7 km away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Property: Hickatee Cottages
Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing