We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The retreat I needed :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Piece of Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Piece of Ground
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The retreat I needed :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I absolutely fell in love with the place. It was peaceful clean and beautiful overall. The rooms were spacious and equipped with air conditioning,ceiling fans,and cable television. The bathrooms were nice and clean with stand up shower.I loved the kitchen and lounge area most because the view of the hills and trees were breathtaking. I enjoyed several mornings journaling,reading and lazing in the hammocks. It was beautiful! The host was amazing and taught us a lot about the foods,land,culture and sites. I fell in love with the place and intend to return sooner than later. I would love to bring my children next time :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Akilah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hospitality was amazing and the space was fantastic. It was exactly what we were looking for because we felt at home in the lounge area and could cook for ourselves in the beautiful kitchen area. The pool table is a major plus! The rooms were clean and well maintained. We were out so much visiting Mayan ruins, gorgeous waterfalls and going fishing on a speedboat that we didn't watch much tv, but it was available in our rooms. The AC worked well, but some nights I just slept with the shutters slightly open to get the natural air. It rained while we were there, but only during the night and was always sunny and warm by morning. We were connected to a guide who knew the people and the area well. My friend and I are have special dietary needs (I'm vegan and she eats fish) so we worried about how well we would eat there, but with the help of our host who knew of good restaurants and stores where we could purchase groceries, we ate like queens! The rates were affordable and well worth the experience. I will definitely be returning with my family. Not only was A Piece of Ground a beautiful bed and breakfast, but Punta Gorda was a beautiful town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The rooms were really comfortable and the AC made sleeping through humid nights a snap. My trip to the Garifuna Village was the best. My guide knew the folks and made it easy for me to feel welcomed.

I was in the south looking for property. Although I didn't find what I was looking for at the time, I do know that when I go back, I'll certainly make A Piece of Ground my base of operations again!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor that is closer to the communal kitchen and lounge areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atonausar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I needed a place to get away from hectic city life I'm so glad a chose a piece of ground!!!! The place and service was fantastic!!! Clean rooms and the staff was great to deal with. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bxshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Pros: The people that work at the guest house were very friendly and offered lots of assistance. They provided me with a bike to get to town. The AC was fantastic on warm days. They had TONS of DVD's to borrow for free. The kitchen area was great and used it multiple times each day. I was very happy to use the washer and dryer. The pool table was a great addition. We felt very safe not only because the area was safe, but because the owners have 6 pitbulls protecting their property. After a few days, the pitbulls were actually quite friendly after we got to know them. I used the hammocks a lot and enjoyed them. Town was't far away at all.

Cons: The internet wasn't working while we were there, so we had to go to town to gain internet access. Also, garbages weren't readily available and we had to put our garbage in empty grocery bags and then bugs would accumulate.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megsta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

It was a wonderful experience. The facilities were great: the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The house's setup was very warm and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and fun, always available to answer questions, make suggestions, and give tours. I do suggest, however, that anyone staying for more than a few days consider cooking, as restaurants in PG close early. Don't worry, the house has a beautiful kitchen with a great view. I highly recommend A Piece of Ground!

  • Liked — Peaceful and relaxing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank amariTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

Great accomadations and great hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Danieladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
27.7 km away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
33.9 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.5 km away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#6 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
12.2 km away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 km away
Beya Suites
Beya Suites
#11 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Piece of Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Piece of Ground

Property: A Piece of Ground
Address: 1050 Pelican Street, Punta Gorda, Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Piece of Ground is a hostel, restaurant, and bar located in the back of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your A Piece of Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Piece Of Ground Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing