We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, works well for short stays”
Review of Hotel Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas
Ranked #4 of 59 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2016

I got a "single" room which was huge! The staff is very nice and the breakfast buffet (included in the night fare) is wonderful. Other than breakfast the food I had was good ok nothing special.
They have a very nice gym with an amusing view on the airport! There is also a pool and a SPA but I did not get to try it.
The staff is very friendly.
The downside of the hotel is that its a bit old and the decoration is not very nice.
It was a very good place to stay for a few nights. Very close to the airport with free shuttle!

Room Tip: If possible don't get the room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowneguatemala, Director of Sales at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments and your choice-
Is nice to know that your stay was confortable and we made feel like home.

I hope you can visit us again.

in a few months we are beginning the renovation of our hotel .

best regards,

Lizeth de Amado
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016

Rooms are just average, property is quite old which needs renovation. Staff is not courteous at all. I booked hotel for 11 nights but suddenly due to some urgent work, i have to vacate it after 8th night and have to travel somewhere else. Even on telling them 2 days advance they charged me for entire 11 nights. To a surprise even on charging me 3 nights extra, they charged my credit card double the applicable amount.
Till then i am following up with them for reversal of extra amount, but they are not ready to listen..
It was really a pathetic experience.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pankaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowneguatemala, Director of Sales at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Dear Guest, our intention was not to cause any inconvenience, but we adhere to the cancellation policies agreed with the agency where you made your reservation.

best regards,


Lizeth de Amado
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We were part of a group of 14 that was traveling together through Guatemala. The staff, from the front desk, to bar, to restaurant servers, were very friendly. The bell boys helped us get to a restaurant downtown by driving us over in the hotel mini bus (for a tip) so we wouldn't have to call various taxis. They also picked us up when we called. That was very much appreciated! Also, the front desk prepared breakfast bags to go for our group when we had an early departure for the airport at 5:40, before the dining room was open for breakfast. Breakfast, by the way, is a lovely buffet with many choices. Even our vegans found enough food to eat. Another plus, the hotel is VERY close to a grocery store called Paiz. We recommend it for buying snacks and drinks for the room, and additional bottled water. Wifi signal was good in our first room (we stayed twice during a 9 day period) but not the second. Not sure why. I thought the beds were very comfy, especially for Guatemala. However, was sad we were not given a king-sized bed room as requested, but the hotel was very full with a convention. Perhaps that is why.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor both times and heard little to no street noise, even though we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mmc923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowneguatemala, Director of Sales at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Dear Guest We appreciate your comments and everything about the preference for our services .

will be a pleasure to serve you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Lizeth de Amado
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I can not say I was impressed by the level of the hotel, but it's a very basic accommodation that could be good in Guatemala. Nothing special.

Pros
+ Breakfast buffet was good with omelette station
+ There is a pool
+ Casino in hotel

Cons
- Decor and building is old
- Shady bathroom

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villemies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowneguatemala, Director of Sales at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments about our services.
We hope you can visit us again as soon as you can.

best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Travelling as a single older woman this was such a secure hotel with world class vibes


I arrived midday on a shuttle bus from la Antigua, a 70 year old single travelling woman from Australia having stayed for a month with my daughter who had started a womens' Refuge.Porter got my 2 cases fom the roof of bus and stood by them inside Hotel whilst I checked in.
This Hotel was HEAVEN after the month in a tiny 200 pop village in one of the poorest countries in the world. No Glass in the windows, doors, No TV, Radio, Newspapers! in la Antigua. We have no idea how so many of the worlds' people live.
Unfortunately comfortable as it was , for me as an Artist, and world traveller because of my daughter, nothing said 'Guatemala', this hotel was for me luxurious but could have been in Sydney, perhaps that is the Chain ethos.Bit like other chains where one is familiar with the layout etc.

Desk staff were efficient and welcoming.Bags taken up to my room , every door, lift were keycard activated. Porter chatted about Australia (very extraordinary to come from so far away) and my name(Laurelle) which reminded him of a girlfriend from way back. He was beyond improvement! Restaurant was excellent . Service and Meal also.
Having gratis shuttle to the Airport at 6am was great bonus. Excellent hotel

Room Tip: I am totally geographically unfit to comment. It was night anyway and I left 6am do not care
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurelle415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowneguatemala, Director of Sales at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Dear Guest, thank your for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I was traveling with a group of people in Guatemala recently. We spent two nights at the Hotel Crowne Plaza. It is very close to the airport in a nice area of the city. There is a boulevard with walking and running trails down the middle. The meals are good. The breakfast buffet is exceptional. The rooms were nice with very comfortable beds a TV two bottles of water provided as you shouldn't use the tap water for anything in Guatemala and a mini-fridge. The bathroom products were nice too. The one think I would suggest is they employ another wait staff or two on the weekends as the guys they had were running around very very busy. The restaurant is a bit on the pricey side, but the food is good. The pool is underwhelming. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for comfort and convenience near the airport in Guatemala City. The staff took great care of us and our group.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the airport may be a bit louder since you can hear planes taking off and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tuadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowneguatemala, Director of Sales at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments.
our principal goal is make feel you like at home.
Was a pleasure to serve you.

Best regards,

Lizeth de Amado
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We stayed there twice, because this hotel is close to the airport. They have a shuttle that only took 5 minutes at 4:30 a.m. Guatemala City has horrible traffic, so this location is a key attribute, in fact THE key attribute of this hotel. It is pretty ordinary for a Crowne Plaza. The lift lobby, for instance, is a spartan as a fire escape, with two fridge-sized ATMs taking up a lot of space. There is a casino. I didn't go in - I don't like casinos. The bar has four TVs going at once and a gaggle of lonely drinkers who look as if they wished they were somewhere else. The rooms are good ordinary standard for an international chain. The staff are very obliging, for instance making me a boxed breakfast for that pre-dawn departure.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowneguatemala, Director of Sales at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear guest , we appreciate your comments and above all the knowledge that has had the opportunity to stay twice.
Your comments are very important to continue reducing our areas of opportunity.
As for the Casino Hotel but does not correspond to a rented area .
We look forward to your visit again .

Sincerely,


Lizeth de Amado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.1 km away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,672 reviews
1.6 km away
Casa Veranda Guatemala
Casa Veranda Guatemala
#14 of 49 in Guatemala City
274 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Biltmore Guatemala
Hotel Biltmore Guatemala
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.4 km away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
203 reviews
1.4 km away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas

Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range: $101 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 kms. From La Aurora International Airport and very close to the main commercial and financial area of ​​the country. It offers 183 comfortable rooms, Gym, Heated swimming pool, Spa, Restaurant of Local and International food, Bar, Internet without cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Hotel Las Americas Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing