We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Modelo(Quetzaltenango)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anna Inn Hotel(Quetzaltenango)
US$74
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acanthus Boutique Hotel(Quetzaltenango)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Azul(Quetzaltenango)
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa San Bartolome(Quetzaltenango)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Seibel(Quetzaltenango)(Great Value!)
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Centro Hotel(Quetzaltenango)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Black Cat Hostel Xela(Quetzaltenango)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
16
12
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorhot watercentral parkaccommodationsfridgehostelbedsxela
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Clean, quiet, safe, friendly staff (although they don't speak English), 24 hour front desk allowing for night-time checkins/checkouts, very conveniently located close to the main square. Good wifi; free drinking water.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterATaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shidalgo050948, General Manager at 7 Orejas Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

hi Anna, thank you for your review, de are very glad to serve you. Hace a nice trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2017

This hotel is located in the middle of Quetzaltenango and isn't very easy to find. It offers inside parking space. The temperature in this area can get quite low at nights so an extra blanket is advisable. For breakfast, there is a small dining room on the top floor of the hotel with a nice view over the city.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2015

We had a great stay at 7 Orejas! We stayed over Independence Day weekend, when zona 1 of Xela becomes one huge party, and this place was close enough to walk to and from the center square, but far enough away to be nice and quiet; we had excellent sleep each night.

Beds were comfortable, room was clean, service was friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and affordable (as was the room!).

There was no parking available at the hostel itself, but the receptionist arranged affordable parking for me at a nearby parqueo. The owner of that parking even came to the hotel and rode with me to show me where it was.

The only annoying thing I can say about the hotel was that the front door is always locked, and someone has to be at reception to let you in. We left at 4:30am to go on a hike one morning, and we had to open the front door and reach through the locked gate to ring the doorbell in order to bring someone out to let us out! But that was only a minor inconvenience, and I suppose the security is a valid trade-off.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiningHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

We have been in Guatemala for 6 weeks and this hostel ranks among the best accommodations we have had here. The combination of charm and comfort for a decent price makes me very happy. For ~40$ U.S. for 3 people our room has 3 double beds and a private bathroom in very good condition. We get good wifi reception in our room. At the foot of each bed is a large wooden trunk for storing one's belongings. My whole travel backpack fit easily inside. Everything I've seen looks well maintained and tastefully decorated. We have paid double these prices to stay in unattractive and/or uncomfortable rooms and I've learned to really appreciate when I find both at a decent price. The location so far works well for us. It IS a ways from Central Park but only a block from a great bakery, a few restaurants, ice cream shops and a little park. In the evening the hostel halls are lit with candles. In addition the hostel has a couple of inviting common spaces including a little kitchen area with microwave, mini fridge, dishes and utensils for guests' use.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank BNFmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2014

We loved our stay in this great place, it's a bit far from the center of the city but still it's safe, enjoyable and extremly clean.
The restaurant has a excllent view of the santiaguito and santa maria volcanos
The staff is friendly and helpful (little problem of communication).
Overall It's great deal, I highly recommand thtis hostal.

Room Tip: Rooms in the second floor are more quite
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Morr0can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews