We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is all they have” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Real Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Real Plaza
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
224 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Location is all they have”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I had been wanting to try this hotel after several visits to Xela. I was sadly disappointed by the entire experience. Cheap "suicide showers" which barely works in some rooms, and not at all in others, bright hall lights which shine into the rooms through the glass room doors, noisy hallways, and poor service. Perhaps if they acted like they cared it would make a difference.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
8
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was our second option after we left Hotel Modelo and it was one of our worst night over all.....thanks to this kind of hotels they don't attract tourist, we left for Panajachel where we can find a nice hotel with nicer people.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quetzaltenango hotels

Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Villa Real on February 12, 2009. The location is great — across the street from the central park. We stayed in the old part of the hotel (room #212) . The room was clean, but did smell a little old and musty. The window opened to the common area below. With the window closed, it was easy to hear people talking below, even the staff in the middle of the night. Our principal complaint was that there was no hot water — not even a hot water faucet on the bathroom sink. There was a single faucet that turned on and off!! I shaved with very cold water. We did not try to take showers in the morning, but possibly there was hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UWGBProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

Great location, clean roon and nice staff... the perfect combination.The restaurant is so so but the hotel is a good choice. We reccomend it!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TomandRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

This is a great place if you're planning on visiting Xelaju. It is more affordable than La Posada de Don Rodrigo and it offers more conveniences (free parking). Parking is in a closed garage which adds peace of mind about your vehicle.
It's location is excellent (right downtown), the service staff was friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable. Plenty of activities just within walking distance from the hotel. Great stay !

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
Thank jg_explorador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

Don't even consider this place. It's old, noisy, ugly, furnishings are horrid. We booked 3 nights but left after one night - and that was one too many. There are plenty of other hotels to choose from.
Ann
Orchard Park, NY

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ablask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

We stayed at the Villa real for our first night in Xela. The room was clean and attractive, but I wasn't able to sleep more than a few hours. You could hear every sound from the hall as people walked and talked and from the common area downstairs, including the clanking of silverware as the staff set tables. I think the layout of the hotel with the open middle area allowed the sound to travel very well.
Location is good, right off the Central Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joancrounse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#12 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.0 km away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#5 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.2 km away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
#8 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Real Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Real Plaza

Property: Villa Real Plaza
Address: Calle 12-22 4a | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Real Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Villa Real Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Real Plaza Hotel Quetzaltenango
Hotel Real Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing