We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get to swim with the sharks!!”
Review of Roatan Shark Dive

Roatan Shark Dive
Reviewed April 4, 2018

This operation was out of Coxen Hole, not the West End. We drove ourselves to the shop, received a thorough briefing then fully suited up and boarded the whaler for the 10 minute ride to the site. Once onsite we executed an immediate back roll entry and descent down the mooring line to 70 feet. The sharks were already there waiting for us! We knelt in the sand initially to observe and photograph and were then given permission to swim freely amongst the sharks. I got great pictures and video. My wife had a mask issue and was taken by the divemaster back up to the boat, given a new mask, and then brought back down with enough time left to fully enjoy the experience. Some reviewers have complained that they were not allowed to bring their GoPro so that the company can sell them their DVD. Well, those are the rules and if you don't like it then you can skip the dive. Your loss. We enjoyed the experience immensely. I am a dive instructor with 40 years of experience, and I was satisfied with the professionalism exhibited by the divemasters and the operation as a whole.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"safety stop"
in 17 reviews
"mooring line"
in 12 reviews
"sharks swimming"
in 5 reviews
"shark tooth"
in 5 reviews
"boat ride"
in 14 reviews
"go pro"
in 6 reviews
"high waves"
in 2 reviews
"true adventure"
in 2 reviews
"max depth"
in 2 reviews
"thorough briefing"
in 2 reviews
"smaller fish"
in 2 reviews
"clear instructions"
in 3 reviews
"grouper"
in 5 reviews
"in a heart beat"
in 3 reviews
"bucket list"
in 5 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 6 reviews
"sandy bottom"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 194 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2018

I read a lot of reviews before doing this activity. Many were complaining about the comfort of the boat ride and the service of the local staff. I personally tought that these complains are exagerated. You get to set-up your gear (good experience, especially when you got spoiled into diving in resorts where everything is ready) and the 15min boat ride is done with your gear on your shoulder, this is to not lose too much time once at the dive site. The sea was fairly calm when i did it, so that is maybe why i did not find the ride too uncomfortable). There is a permanently set current line to help you grab on and descend to the site.

Our dive got at least 11 sharks reaching appeoximately 3m in length. The feeling is amazing. After the food, at least 4 or 5 did stick around for pictures. We negociated the video for 40$ since many people would take it. Can't comment on the quality of the video yet as i have not yet seen it... Will see it when i get home. They had a general power outage that prevented them to show us the final product. We have seen the raw recording on the camera.

I was real happy of the experience...

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Pancho_and_Pancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

If you're looking for something special and memorable to do along with a great adrenalin rush, I recommend the shark dive. It's a little pricey for a for a one tank dive ($100) and the boat they use is not very comfortable, but an awesome experience.

Once aboard the boat, it's about a 15-minute ride out to the dive site, from the moment you hit the water, you see the sharks below waiting for you. Once you hit bottom, about 75 feet about 10 to 12 Reef Sharks start to swarm the area, the dive master has a large bucket of chum, the blood and guts inside the bucket draws the sharks attention off of the divers and onto the bucket. For about 30 minutes you hangout on a sandy bottom watching the sharks, the last few minutes, the dive master opens the bucket and the sharks go crazy eating. You really get to see the magnificent power of these beautiful animals. As soon as the food is devoured, the sharks swim away and you ascend to the surface.

If you have a small camera like a GoPro, the staff will not let you bring it, they claim that several divers have had their cameras taken by sharks, I personally feel they are trying to sell you the video they make each dive. If you have a camera larger than a GoPro, you can definitely use it and get some great photos.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank AlwaysGl0beTr0tting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

This is an amazing way to spend a morning. They give you a brief overviewl of what to do and what to expect but otherwise it's out to the dive site.Personally I think they could use better boats but I guess these will do .The actual dive is very exciting with lots to see and experience . I would do this again in a heart beat.FYI No GOpros

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank mauiboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2018

For inexperienced divers, it may feel like a challenge to get in and out of the water, especially if the swell is a bit rough.. but the crew is very helpful and assists thoughtfully. Easy descent down the bow line and gathering at the viewing area where one can stand or kneel comfortably to watch the show. You're greeted first by large groupers who seem to invite being stroked, and lots of smaller fish who are there for tid bits. The sharks know the routine when the divers and chum bucket arrive. They put on a good show, then shortly after the bucket is empty they disperse. It's an interesting area to explore once the sharks have gone too. Great fun.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roatan Shark Dive also viewed

 

Been to Roatan Shark Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing