We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

good food, courteous staff, rooms close to dive shop, knowledgeable dive staff and guides, short boat rides

Room Tip: for divers you can get a room close to the dive shop if you are caring cameras, coupls could also ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wsarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

The setting was gorgeous with cottages set among flowers on terraces. The rooms all had a gorgeous water view and a private little balcony and the beach was a quick walk down the hill. I spent several hours relaxing on the balcony overlooking palm trees, flowers, and water beyond. They also had kayaks free to use and a refreshing pool. The room was basic and a little spartan, but had everything we needed. And clean - not spotless (think surprisingly dirty feet after shuffling around), but not dirty. The sand flies were pretty bad so we ended up spending more time around the pool reading, but the vast majority of our time was spent at Subway Water Sports, the next door dive shop.

The meals were just ok, though we overheard others who loved the food. There was always fresh fruit, which saved every meal, but otherwise the food was bland, kind of unhealthy. Imagine a foreigner trying to concoct food that they think an American would like, but it didn't really work. Like super fresh fish, but covered in melted cheese rather than a simple sauce, or chocolate cake, but dribbled with Hershey's syrup rather than frosting. It was usually buffet style and they cooked everything beforehand, so you want to get there at the very start of each 2-hour mealtime to ensure the freshest food.

The resort was kind of quirky, sometimes good and sometimes bad. The staff all seemed to be local and they were extremely friendly and helpful. I assume the resort was locally owned, which we loved, but this may have led to some management that we weren't used to. We could never tell who was in charge and sometimes different people had different answers for common questions - can we drink the water? How much is a taxi to the town? That sort of thing. The resort also seems to be trying to attract different types of guests that don't mesh too well. Most of the full-time guests were older couples on dive vacations looking for quiet, relaxing evenings. Then during the day, the resort would bring in cruise guests for a "beach day" and they would crowd the beach and blare outrageously loud speakers with dance music Then the buses would arrive and whisk them away. The staff would clean up the beach, the resort would return to a tranquil oasis, and any sign of the cruisers was erased. For this reason, we were happy to be diving all day long and not be hanging around the cheesy beach party.

The best part about the resort? The dive shop next door, Subway Water Sports. The dive shop was fantastic and the instructors were very professional. It was a perfect place to learn to dive for the low price, individual attention, the fun and knowledgeable instructors, and the close/secluded dive spots. I probably would not return to the resort because of the cruisers and the food. I'd recommend the resort for anyone on a budget who wants quiet evenings, and who plans to dive all day, every day. But I would not recommend it for anyone looking for a resort to relax at all week because it honestly wasn't as pleasant during the day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shammitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We just returned from a 1 week stay at TBR. We researched Roatan and the available resorts and we weren't disappointed with our decision to stay here. This resort puts new meaning into the word 'relaxed'.
We read the numerous reviews about TBR and the majority are very accurate. This place isn't for anyone who wants a party spot or nightly entertainment. The property is very simple, functional, clean and most of all, quiet. Definitely worth consideration for anyone wanting to unwind. That said, the onsite Subway Dive Shop was very professional and offered numerous excursions to nearby dive sites. (For more info on Subway, check them out here on Tripadvisor)
We stayed from March 26 to April 2nd in Room 9. We had an excellent view of the bay and every night was an amazing view of the sunset.
The staff make this resort run so well. We've stayed at other resorts over the years but the TBR employees were the friendliest we've ever encountered. Everyone was polite, always smiling and eager to be of assistance. The only recommendation that I would suggest is name tags for the staff.
The rooms were simple yet very clean. Closet space wasn't the best but for our one week stay, we managed just fine. All rooms were equipped with safes and excellent air conditioning.
The food was also excellent. We were unable to find anything on the menu that wasn't perfectly prepared.
All in all, it was a great stay. Its true that the sand fleas/flies are ravenous at times but I guess that's to be expected in some tropical areas. The resort tries to control them by raking the beach sand and spraying but the little SOB's can be tenacious! Bring repellent with DEET or as some other guests suggested, coconut oil. Apparently they don't like to bite through oil covered skin.
We definitely recommend this resort and would return.

Room Tip: We had a corner unit in a bungalow close to the beach. There are other units farther up the hill and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We returned last week from our second trip to Turquoise Bay. We have travelled to several places over the years for our winter holiday, and find that this small resort offers amazing advantages that we haven't found elsewhere.

Diving is wonderful. Roatan is surrounded by a reef, so that there are many sites to explore. The dive shop people at Turquoise Bay are friendly, efficient, and most important, able to help inexperienced divers feel comfortable as well as offering the full gamut of diving instruction. My husband, who was nervous after a bad diving experience elsewhere, became a comfortable and happy diver with the Subway crew at this resort. Thanks, Ed and Kim and Sharon and Max and I am sorry that I can't remember the names of the rest of you.....

I have read elsewhere that the cruise ship people get preferential treatment. Not so. There was always a group of tables reserved for hotel guests, and we had our own buffet set out.

The staff is friendly and attentive; a bit slow, but this is Roatan time, and we have to lay back and enjoy the slower pace of life. The rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, and while there is little drawer space it isn't any different from most hotels that we have been to in the Caribbean.

The only drawback is the amazing number of sand fleas, for which a large amount of bug repellant and afterbite stuff is essential. And the beach is nice, not huge, but there is always shade and there is NEVER a fight to save a beach chair.

This is not a hotel for party people, but for divers, snorklers, and people who can entertain themselves and like good food, this is the place.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

There is no doubt that this resort has many excellent features. The secluded location, the natural beauty and the attentive wait staff were all very pleasant. But this resort has some major customer service issues that are not being addressed adequately. On the third day money was stolen from our rooms during circumstances and a time interval that strongly suggested that the maid was the culprit. We also discovered that the lock on our patio door was broken and requested it be fixed. Over the course of the next 2 days we were repeatedly LIED to and made promises that simply did not materialize. Most notably, we were told door was fixed when indeed no one had even gone to check and were told that an investigation into the theft was occurring when it did not. Requests for meetings with the manager were not met as he was "out of the country" and the staff left in charge had no authority to make any decisions. Ultimately the dive shop manager became involved and called the owner on our behalf. He "comped" the amount of money that was stolen but nothing to address the concerns that occurred over the day and a half of arguing with front desk staff and basically having 1 1/2 days of our vacation ruined. At one point they did post a security guard outside of our room which was laughable given that we had already been robbed.

The other main issue was the bugs!!! They were simply terrible both at the beach and in the outdoor dining room. Two weeks after coming home I am still scratching from mosquito and sand flea bites. I was wearing 30% DEET but that is not enough to deter these pesky critters. Roatan is beautiful but I would look elsewhere because this is a resort that leaves you with welts and a bad feeling.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KrispyKat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesusReyes4480, Manager at Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Mrs. Krispy Kat,

Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations and for the good comments on the natural beauty of the property and the service of the waitstaff.

We are very sorry that this incident occurred during your stay and that I wasn't on the property to assist you. We strive to give excellent customer service at all times and I will be talking to the front office staff about the way this was handled. Before your stay, we had recently put safes in each room and have been encouraging guests to put their valuables in them. Our housekeeping staff has been with us for years and are wonderful, hardworking ladies who we trust completely. Regarding the issue of the patio door, I will personally look into this to make sure it is fixed in all rooms.

This is our second week working on a new spray method to control sand fleas and at the moment it is working very well. It is a challenge for the island but we are committed to making our guests' stay enjoyable.

Thnak you again and have a great day!

Jesus Reyes
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Turquoise Bay is a small beautiful hotel. Even though it doesn't have the big pool and 10 different bars and restaurants, the staff goes completely out of their way to make you feel welcome and pampered. This place gives you the personal touch. When we arrived there were two different room locations available and we were allowed to view them and choose. The food is fantastic two thumbs up to the chefs! Each day they change up the menu. The wait staff are always smiling and sometimes you catch them singing. lol

The dive shop is a one minute walk from the eating area and Kim is more than accomodating to meet snorkeling and diving needs.

The beach is large clean and all to yourself.

The only negative is bring bug spray and after bite. The resort cannot help that.

I would definetly recommend Turquoise Bay if you are looking for a relaxing papmpered vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjeess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Well, my spouse and I chose this resort for a few reasons- You must want these traits in a vacation, or else you won't be happy here.
1. Peace- utter peace
2. Relaxation- no one bothering you whatsoever, only 52 rooms in total
3. Low key entertainment, and alone time with your loved one.

If this catches your eye, then this is the place for you! There's NO night life, the only bar closes at 10pm, the subpar nightly entertainment lasts max 1hr and starts around 6pm. There's no annoying staff to make you dance and play games, which was something we didn't want. We love to travel to different types of places out of the norm, and Honduras is just that. The food was better at the beginning of the week. NO desserts which was unfortunate actually! No bacon, excessive amount of seafood-seafood based meals, and unfortunately to us they cooked 1 turkey for the whole resort. Needless to say we didn't get turkey at Christmas. There were only 2 young girls, so we weren't clammered by screaming children which was nice. We had drinks during the day, not so much at night. When the bugs got bad we were in our room, enjoying time together and watching old movies.

We took the kayak's out daily through the beautiful mangroves, but that's all the beach activies provided. The seado's broke down after the first day. However snorkling in the reefs were stunning! There were 3 staff in particular who made the vacation truly enjoyable! Julie, a big lad at the bar who knew our double margarita requests by noon, and our fav server a young extremely polite man. My apologies for name slips.

This is not a family resort. This is not a resort to want fun and excitment. This is not a resort for the high maintenance type. This is however, a wonderful resort for peace and quiet.
Minus the sandfleas.... I will admit, they must do something about them we were eaten alive. In a week the beach was only sprayed twice. It's not the type of year, it's the beach itself.

PLEASE READ THE CONS SO YOU ARE INFORMED:
1. Twice the front desk forgot our wake up call, including the morning we left
2. The groundS were beautiful, but the beach was rocky and by the seado's it was riddled with garbage.
3. Our room, although the view was beautiful had countless dents and parts missing on the walls, and there was no dresser in the room. To fully relax on vacation unpacking your bag is a good start.
4. We were told the phone out front to call Canada was $2 a min. Not too bad. But when we got home I had $246 in long distance to my credit card. They DID NOT mention a $43 connection fee everytime we called. Very dissappointing.
5. The grounds were beautiful.... BUT that's because they never stopped maintaining them. The lawn mowers went all day long. Not relaxing whatsoever.
6. We were disappointed they put more effort into the cruise doc people then their own staying there. The few days when the weather was nice, and we lay on the beach, if a cruise ship came- they cranked the music on the beach, vendors came selling, servaisas were served right on the beach and all was a party! But as soon as they left. It was all gone, and you had to walk all the way back to the inside bar to get a drink.
7. They advertised several bars and resturants. There is one of each.

As I sum up. It was enjoyable for our first vacation. We will defiently be back to the Island, however likely not this resort, unless for a special occasion years down the road! My fiance did propose here.. the beautiful part of the trip!

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean Front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OntarioSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
25 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
9.9 km away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
622 reviews
20.2 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
699 reviews
24.8 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
5.4 km away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Address: Milton Bight, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Roatan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: $459 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Roatan's Northeast shore Turquoise Bay is the only dive resort in this lush and remote area of the island providing you with the opportunity to dive uncrowded, pristine dive sites. The resort is set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views and a protected bay which makes the water calm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. Beach lovers will enjoy our private, tranquil, 500 ft white-sand beach.At Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort you will enjoy the very individual and personal service that only a small dive resort can offer. Our friendly local staff takes pride in getting to know our guests and making them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Bay Hotel Roatan
Turquoise Bay Roatan
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing