We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
327
60
15
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
60
15
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the loop pico bonito night hike cuero y salado butterfly farm bird watching bird guide the river great potoo spa treatments restaurant staff howler monkeys grounds are gorgeous nature lovers mayan ruins birding tour amazing birds
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 409 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

This is one place for your bucket list if you are interested in nature, hiking, birding etc. Beautiful cabins complete with bath robes, slippers etc., and a wonderful small deck with a chair and hammock. It is a bit humid because you are in the forest. The grounds are spectacular; birds of all sorts are easily spotted. Many hikes and birding excursions are readily available on site.The restaurant offers indoor or patio type seats . We sat in the open areas to take advantage of the many hummingbird feeders buzzing with about 21 species of hummers. The owner is Canadian and the service, food etc. are of top quality. Do buy the food plan as the a la carte can get pricey. I enjoyed a great massage in the spa and lounged lazily in the pool, where your loungers and chairs (with thick cushions) are set out with towels as soon as they see you coming!
This is a fantastic place to relax and leave the hustle and bustle of business school etc , behind! We tacked this second visit on to the end of our visit to another resort in La Cieba, as we had such fond memories from a previous visit. The staff will get you to the airport which is only a half hour away.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Retiredat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose G, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello friend!

We are truly grateful for your words! We will be more than happy to have you over once again. Do know that the Owners are still Honduran, the Lodge hasnt been sold. We will continue to operate as long as we have wonderful guests like yourself visit us!

Warm Regards from the Team at Pico Bonito!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

The Lodge is a prime property - no much for the "luxury" resort accolades - but for its management focus on conservation and protection of the natural beauty that surrounds it. Located with immediate access to Pico Bonito National Park this is a prime location for birding, hiking.
Unfortunately the property is scheduled to close in early April 2018 - there are attempts to find new ownership but nothing is for sure. So if you are planning a trip make sure to keep with updates at the facebook page. It is sad news to learn of this development. The Lodge has been at the forefront of protection the natural beauty of this region in the country.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wiminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose G, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello Friends!!

Its our pleasure to let you know that we remain open for business!! We will be glad to have you over once again.

Do know that the owners are the same, and as always, interested in Conservation, providing an excellent service.

Warm Regards from the Team at Pico Bonito!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Our cabin was well-appointed and cozy. The staff were friendly and efficient. The food was very good with a nice blend of local dishes and expected restaurant fare. The grounds were beautiful with access to a well-marked hiking trail and home to many birding opportunities. I enjoyed a yoga workout daily in their outdoor yoga studio that overlooks the rain forest. The spa treatments I received were wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose G, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.
Sincerely,

The Team at Pico Bonito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

Pico Bonito is a wonderful eco-lodge, particularly for birders and other nature lovers. A group of four couples recently spent six nights at Pico Bonito on the Birder's Paradise package and had a great time! Our package was very reasonably priced and including all meals and daily birding excursions. The only extras were alcoholic beverages and one night walk, which was not part of our package.

Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the lodge!

The cabins were spacious, well appointed, and very comfortable. Overhead fans cooled the rooms as needed, and there is also A/C, which we did not need. Each cabin has a deck with chairs and a hammock, with a bird feeder near by. One afternoon, a troupe of around ten coatis came by to eat at the feeders and we were treated to quite a show!

The restaurant has tables on the porch, and inside. The tables along the porch overlook the beautiful gardens and are surrounded by hummingbird feeders. The iridescent hummingbirds frequent the feeders and buzz around throughout the day - they are delightful! One could easily just sit at a table all day observing the birds in the garden. The restaurant's food is overall quite good. I especially enjoyed the breakfast and lunch menus; baleadas, fresh fruit, and fish tacos were my favorite breakfast and lunch menu selections. For dinner, my favorites included the black bean soup, the salads, and the tenderloin strips, and rib-eye steak. Desserts were also yummy. Food is prepared to order, so be prepared for a leisurely, relaxing meal. If you are in a rush, you might consider ordering one meal ahead (order breakfast at dinner, lunch at breakfast, etc.).

The outstanding birding excursions were well-organized. Our group had one English-speaking birding guide assigned to us, and all transportation arrangements were made for us. We had five full days of birding in regions with different habitats and birds. We arranged an extra night walk, which was well worthwhile.

The pool is unheated, but very refreshing after a hot morning birding excursion! Others of the group made use of the spa facilities and enjoyed them.

We heard that there have been a number of cancellations due to concerns about safety following the fall election. That is a shame, as places like Pico Bonito, and their staff, are highly dependent upon tourism for their livelihood. While in Hondusras for 10 days, we felt very safe at all times. We were very well looked after at Pico Bonito. And, when traveling in neighboring areas for birding trips, we encountered no issues what-so-ever. We highly recommend visiting Honduras, and including Pico Bonito in your plans!

PS, it's true that WIFI signal is weak. Although it was supposed to be available only in the lobby and restaurant areas, we found we sometimes had signal in our cabin. But, it's not reliable. But, if you're on vacation . . . take advantage of the weak signal to sign off and stay tech-free for a few days for a change!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarchFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, Director General at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear Friends,

We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.

We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

Property is extremely well kept up and looks newer than it really is.Grounds are well kept and beautiful. Everything worked as it should. The air conditioning in the room is a welcome feature and is quite unusual in Central and South American forest lodges - only the first we've encountered in the dozen or so we've stayed in over the last 5 years. Great for recovering from a hot afternoon outing. Air conditioning was not needed (or wanted) in the morning or evening as the cabin is well ventilated and has 2 ceiling fans.

We came here for a birding trip and took several of the tours offered. Our guide, hired by the lodge, was outstanding as well as the guides on staff we encountered. The owner(?), Jim, is probably the friendliest we have ever encountered and always asked how we were doing. He does not hesitate to interact with the guests and we had several enjoyable conversations with him.

Meals were excellent and offered a fairly good mix of continental and local cuisine. Only issue we had was that meals were sometimes a bit too leisurely. After a full day of physical activity one may not care to spend 2 hours+ over dinner. Waiters were top notch and friendly.

Our cabin was well serviced and always spotless. Front desk staff were always attentive and helpful.

We did not partake of any of the spa services or facilities, but they seemed quite nice.

Tips for birders (and nature lovers):

The lodge maintains many hummingbird feeders around the lodge buildings. There are also many platform feeders with varieties of fruit and food. We were somewhat disappointed in the variety of birds we encountered on the grounds and not sure of the reason. Our guide offered the fact that it hadn't rained for the 2 weeks previous, and it did not rain at all for the 6 days we were there. Also because of our age and lack of stamina, we weren't quite as active as most birders and didn't venture on the longer and more difficult trails, so YMMV. One disappointment for photography buffs is that there are really no good vantage points to photograph birds from.

We had outstanding views of the Lovely cotinga from the first tower. A resident great potoo was visible most days on its daytime roost in a tree near the pool from the open air dining room

Butterflies were plentiful on the grounds, as well as agoutis and lizards. Late one afternoon we were entertained by a band of 10 long nosed coatis who raided the platform feeder about 20 feet from our cabin.

Staff guides we encountered, Joel (night walk) and Older were excellent. In addition to being an excellent bird guide, Older, (actually a nice young man), also took us on a tour of the sepentarium on the grounds.

Room Tip: Supposedly there is no WiFi in the cabins, but we had pretty good service in our cabin (#22).
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jjinatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, Director General at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Greetings from the Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito!

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we love positive comments and we embrace the not-so-positive reviews as they will allows us to improve.

Thank you for visiting our little piece of paradise and we hope that you may visit us in the near future!!

Warm Regarts,

The Team at Pico Bonito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews