We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Exactly what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We were looked after really well here and enjoyed our short stay.

Rooms were well presented, comfortable and clean.

The manager was fluent in English and very willing to help us find things to do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    29
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
41
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel is no where near the airport. They say they offer a shuttle to the airport. We booked the shuttle and I saw the van, but when the time came for them to take us to the airport they acted as if they had no idea what we were talking about and there was no van in sight. They speak no English and acted as if they could not understand our spanish.
The hotel is beautiful inside which was a surprise considering how bad it looked on the outside. They put us in a room that they air conditioning did not work. We called and complained and eventually the sent someone up to verify what we were saying. It took a lot of complaining, but we did finally get to change room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommyTravels_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaisGattas, Gerente at Hotel Gran Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Mr(s).
We apologized for the incoveniences that you had with us.
I will kindly ask you the dates of your stay and your name, so we can investigate what happen in that day and improve our services.
Im surprised that our people didnt reply to you in english, 90% of our employees are bilingual, I will make sure that for next time you pass the expectives with us.

Regarding to the air conditioners, now maintance is in charge to check air conditioners everyday.

We really regret this incoveniences with you, but thank you for the comments, its help us to improve our services everyday.

We really hope to serve you better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

This hotel had very good reviews on TravelAdvisor, and received a 4 star rating on another website. It did not live up to the hype. The pool looked dirty with white foamy chemicals floating on top; the bathroom shower didn't work so we had to move to another room; the vent in the ceiling had candy wrappers stuck in it to keep it from rattling; the carpet looked dirty and as though it had not been vacuumed. However, the service was great, but i would not stay in this hotel again. We stayed at the Hilton Princess which was better and cheaper on our way out of Honduras!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaisGattas, General Manager at Hotel Gran Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Dear Sir:
Unfortunately, the day you checked in to our Hotel a large group of teens had made use of the Hotels pool and we were obviously obliged to treat our pool with a good amount of chemicals that as you mention in your review made the water somehow cloudy. This was only a necessary step to assure its cleanliness for the following day.
As for the problem with your shower we regret the inconvenience and proceeded with maintenance to solve it as soon as it was reported.
Certainly we apologize for the inconvenience which are by no means the high standards set in our Hotel Gran Mediterraneo.
We certainly hope to better serve you some day in your next visit with us.
May God bless you.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

The service in the hotel was great ... the mediterranean food at the santorini restaurant is an excelent choice... my stay was short, but whenever I decide to go back , I'll certainly consider my return to the hotel.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank FBRAGA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranMediterraneo, Manager at Hotel Gran Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Mr. Braga
Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure for us to have you as a guest in our hotel.
We are going to be more than happy to receive you and serve you as you deserve.

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banning, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

If you want good foood, big clean rooms, and a beautiful friendly staff that speaks english, then you will want to come to this modern quite oasis. You will feel very safe and secure and waited on hand and foot. We will be coming back in October with a team of 20 where we will also take advantage of there convention facilities and meeting rooms which include stage, lighting and sound. They are very open to allowing more than two per room.

New Creation Church
Missions Director
Chris

Room Tip: we just felt that if you talk with the staff they will do everything to accomodate you and please yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtgunslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranMediterraneo, Manager at Hotel Gran Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
It was a pleasure for us to serve you as you deserve it. Its going to be a honor to have you back in our hotel. Thank you very much for the review. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at this beautiful hotel as part of a group tour. The accommodations were lovely; the food delicious (I miss the fabulous fresh fruit) and the owners of the hotel took fabulous care of our entire group!

I'm looking forward to the next time I get to visit my friends at the Hotel Gran Mediterraneo in San Pedro Sula, Honduras!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieM_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranMediterraneo, Manager at Hotel Gran Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thank you for your good opinion about us.
We promise you that next time you visit us, you will have your fresh fruits!
It would be a pleasure to serve you again.

Have a nice day! And thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Hotel Gran Mediterraneo is an oasis in the midst of the bustling, sometime dirty San Pedro Sula. The interior is generously appointed, beautiful wood and stonework throughout. The rooms are clean and comfortable, kept cool by excellent air conditioning, with all the amenities needed. The restaurant serves excellent food, with clean water and edible greens even for the international traveler being careful of local unfiltered water and washed foods intake. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanOfTheBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
1.7 km away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#1 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.9 km away
Real InterContinental San Pedro Sula at Multiplaza Mall
2.7 km away
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
#4 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Su...
#6 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.3 km away
Copantl Hotel & Convention Center
Copantl Hotel & Convention Cente...
#10 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.5 km away
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
#11 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Address: Barrio Guamilito 4 avenida 6 calle | una cuadra arriba de La Prensa, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras (Formerly Clarion Suites Mediterraneo)
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gran Mediterraneo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gran Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing