We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well-done in all respects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very well-done in all respects”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for a family member's graduation. The premises were very well-kept and the location is superb, right downtown and a short walk to campus, restaurants, and other attractions.

I recommend this hotel for a convenient and comfortable stay in Athens, and particularly recommend the hot tub, fitness room, and on higher floors, beautiful view of the city and distant hills.

Room Tip: We were on the top (8th) floor and had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    195
    79
    25
    10
See reviews for
196
119
25
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We booked a room for an outrageous gouging 305/night for two nights during a game weekend. It turns out that the week before we called to cancel the second night which we had prepaid in advance. Our confirmation email gave a 1800 # to call should we have to change this advance purchase reservation. It said we could get a credit less a $25 fee if we rebooked another Hilton property. The 1800 number attendant said they have not heard of this rate and that the hotel was the only one that could change our reservation. I was directed to Patrick the hotel resevation manager who led be to believe he was the one to talk to. Then he said he would have his manager call me and she never did. The hotel had plenty of rooms available. They were not sold out. They had nothing to lose by working with us. Yet, they refused. There is something wrong going on at this hotel. I will never stay at Hilton because the national # rep. has no control over the price gouging and management here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaylorwestGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

If you want to be in the center of it all Hilton Garden is the place for you. You are just steps away from great dining, world famous music venues, shopping, UGA and the Classic Center. Very clean, modern rooms, great hotel amenities and a friendly staff make for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowenb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The selling point for this hotel is its location - I went to UGA and like to visit regularly to get my fill of Athens, and you can't argue with this perfect location right in the middle of downtown, only 2 blocks from North Campus. It is a brand new HGI, which means it is clean, large and comfortable, with all of the standard amenities, and no free meals offered. The restaurant offers high-priced standard meals, so skip this and eat in downtown Athens, where there are MANY decently-priced great restaurants (it's a student town, after all). 5-Star Day Cafe (walkable) and Mama's Boy (driveable) in particular offer incredible breakfasts. Yes, you have to pay to park. This is the only reason the hotel gets 4 stars instead of 5- because other downtown hotels offer free parking (though they are a little further out). No, there is no mini-bar for the reviewer from Australia - the Hilton Garden Inn brand is not where you'll find that. Besides - you're in downtown Athens, with more bars per capita than any other town in the whole USA, and they always have cheap drinks and great specials (again...student town). If you're in Athens, don't sit in your hotel room and drink, walk 2 feet away from the hotel and give any one of the myriad restaurants/bars a try. In sum, the location is perfect, the parking is $10/night, the food/drinks should be found elsewhere in downtown where it is plentiful, cheap and fantastic, and this is a wonderful hotel room for exploring Athens and UGA. I stay here every time I'm in Athens (if it isn't full - if you into this, may I suggest the Foundry Park Inn down the street). Go Dawgs.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you're there on a weekend during school terms - might be a bit loud by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The staff we encountered this weekend was so nice and very helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel twice and would give it high marks for options (including made to order eggs, omelets, etc). The rooms were clean and the beds are amazing. We had drinks in the bar and the bartender was very attentive and fun. My only complaint (and I have this in just about every hotel room) is there is TOO MUCH AMBIENT LIGHT. The clock, the temp gauge, the microwave, tv, light switches all have little lights that glow all night. It is too much light for a good night sleep. I'm going to start traveling with black electrical tape to cover all these lights! I would recommend this hotel and stay there again. You have to pay $10/night to park - I consider this a junk fee and would like to see it eliminated or added to room price so you know what you are paying when comparison shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAtoNCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
469 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have stayed at this property once before. It is a nice property, a very good standard HGI. They have business center, workout room, pool etc. The do have an onsite restaurant that seems only busy at breakfast. Where this property falls short is on value and they charge you $10 a day to park. There is no free parking in downtown Athens so I guess they feel entitled. The room rate and parking drag this property down to a average stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The staff here is so rude. I stayed here eariler this week. I am a HH Diamond member. I have never been treated like this at any other Hilton property.

I have stayed at the hotel several times. This is the first time I have had a problem. The staff looked and acted if they were new hires. They need to be trained.

When I checked in the front desk girl some how ran my card several times. My credit card company called to say that seemed to be some strange charges in my card. My credit card company declined the charges because the card had been run so many times. I talked with my credit card company and they took care of it. I went down to the front desk to tell them I had talked to my credit card company and I accepted the charges for my room only. They people at the front desk kept saying your card is declined. One of the girls finally looked at my account and saw the room had been paid for. She was also the person that said the person who checked me in was the person that ran the card multiple times.

I was treated like someone who was trying to skip out on my bill. I will not stay here again!!!!

The beds are terrible. I could not sleep well at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTraveler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
678 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
5.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Address: 390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601-2751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Classic Center, Athens primary meeting/concert venue. Walking distance to over 75 unique eateries and pubs in a very quaint setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
Athens Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing