We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Irma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Augusta Downtown Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Augusta
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We evaluated from Jacksonville Florida for three nights during hurricane. I was traveling with my son and puppy. Phiyllis at the front desk service recognition and raise for what an outstanding job she did with a smile on her face and pleasant attitude the whole time. The assisted living from Hilton head was also evacuated there too. (174 room) so this sweet lady had her hands full. The hotel is a bit out dated and could be brought up to date easily. I am a designer and can see the potential the hotel truly has. Overall our stay was good and all the staff were so professional and helpful. Lesia May

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank lmay2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

A large group from our community stayed at the Ramada Inn during Hurricane Irma Evacuation, Sept 8-13, 2017. What a dump...Needs a thorough reconditioning...Only one elevator of 3 worked one night..Telephones in rooms did not work ...WiFi was spotty, worked in room sometimes, or you needed to go to the lobby for WiFi service...Some of us had spotty A/C..Dead roaches in bathroom, Windows that leaked rain into room, Room keys that would not work until workmen changed the batteries on door locks, Lobby carpets that needed a good shampoo or be replaced..Not a credit to the Ramada Chain..

Room Tip: Avoid This Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The TV and voices from the adjoining room could be heard thru the walls. The TV cabinet doors only open half way which means the place you could watch TV was from the middle of the bed

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Echtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Our night at the Ramada Augusta was more or less unremarkable. The lobby has a kind of funky humidity from being down near the river perhaps and perhaps needing new carpet. Decor is a mix of old and nearly new. The important fixtures like tv and light bulbs are modern.

The room was comfortable but the old noisy ac unit was not up to actual cold air and had to run constantly to keep up with August in Georgia. It rattled but the white noise was actually a comfort as there was other noise.

We could hear the crying baby 4 rooms away so it's not the most private environment. There is also a train passing close and also a grade crossing that resulted in a lot of rather loud train horns and rail noise at very late hours.

The shower curtain could stand to spend some time with a little bleach, again it is Georgia and fixing the ac will help reduce the humidity that encourages mildew. It looked like the bath tile on the floor was new and very nice.

Plenty of pillows and towels kept us comfortable and the mattress was nice.

They hadn't checked under the bed, found trash and a pill of some kind so it's a good thing we didn't bring children, they would have found that stuff before the adults.

Did not have time to try the pool but it is not as attractive in person as the photo currently online.

The staff was top notch friendly, offering evening entertainment and restaurant recommendations and always had a smile for us. We didn't have any special requests and although one room key was a little cranky at first it started working soon after we got to the room.

There was no microwave, probably a good call for safety in a tall hotel. But also no fridge. We had a small cooler and used the ice machine and it worked well.

There was no map of the hotel on the back of the door for evacuation route and location of stairs. I never did find the stairs.

The pipes are old and make old pipe noises like pops with air in the lines and groans from water pressure changes. We were on a high floor. It was quaint. The plumbing worked, the shower had a massage type shower head which was nice. Hot water was nice and hot and came on right away.

The view of the old town was nice as we were high enough to see the city.

So, a solid average place, although I am pretty patient and forgiving. Some travelers expecting super modern accommodations with trendy appearances and polished comforts might want to look around at the other options.

We chose it for proximity to South Carolina for the recent eclipse and it worked out well for us due to location.

Not sure I would stay again unless redeeming points, or feeling nostalgic, but it was an agreeable stay nonetheless.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vertabrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Overpriced for the obvious age of the hotel. Perhaps NOT overpriced for the downtown location.
Would I stay here again? Maybe, but ONLY for the location.
Worth the $100+ nightly rate? Nope!!!
I kind of wish I stayed at the Marriott instead, especially since all-in-all,the Marriott didn't cost too much more anyway.

This was probably a nice property at one time, but it looks to me like the owners don't want to invest money into bringing it back to its former glory. Someone needs to buy it from them and make that investment.

Pros:
--very nice lady behind the desk who checked me in...she probably needs a raise!
--it was downtown and walking distance to several restaurants
--I had a corner room with a good view

Cons:
--no mini fridge! Really? in 2017? This tells me the owners simply are NOT interested in making guests happy or in getting repeat business, at least from me)
--no wi-fi, at least not on the north end of the 9th floor! The nice lady at the desk said the wi-fi should should show up as "Ramada," yet it wasn't there (I am a computer professional, so I know how it is supposed to work). I was only there for one night, so it wasn't a dealbreaker.
--I used the stairs on the south end (near the pool) and some of the lights between the 1st and 2nd floor were out making if not only unsafe, but probably something the local fire marshall would cite them for if they did an inspection, especially since the patio table and chairs near the exit door were too close and could potentially block a fire exit (the door banged into one of the chairs when I came out).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank 199kcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Dirty and disappointing. No fridge in room, dirty towels on the floor. Old decor, musty smell.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank 427TJHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Augusta hotels
0.8 km away
Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center
11.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Augusta
10.7 km away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Partridge Inn Augusta, Curio Collection by Hilton
8.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Augusta-Washington Rd
13.6 km away
Hyatt Place Augusta
Hyatt Place Augusta
#1 of 86 in Augusta
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Augusta Downtown Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Augusta Downtown Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 640 Broad St, Augusta, GA 30901-1436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range: $145 - $997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Augusta Downtown Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in beautiful downtown Augusta. Convenient to restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions, hospitals and much more. Most of our rooms have breathtaking views of the Savannah River or the city. We also offer a lounge on our penthouse level with the best views the city has to offer. Our on site restaurant is a shining example of traditional Southern cooking, but also offers a variety everyone is sure to enjoy. We strive for complete customer satisfaction with each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Augusta Downtown Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Convention Center
Ramada Hotel Augusta
Augusta Ramada
Ramada Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing