We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is a bit sneaky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Augusta Riverwatch
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Augusta
Reviewed 16 June 2017

I had made a reservation for this location back in April with the idea our daughter would be traveling with us. I cancelled it when it was clear she could not get off work. On the drive to Augusta, I called Wyndham and made a new reservation for a single bed room. When we arrived, the desk clerk checked us in on the two bed room rather than the one bed room saying it had not been cancelled. I was tired and accepted it. As we walked away, my husband heard another staff member berating the desk clerk who said he did it because the two bed room was more expensive. I called Wyndham and was assured we would not be charged for two rooms but I have not gotten my credit card bills yet. The room was hot and noisy so we ran the AC on fan all night. We skipped breakfast because it was a typical in the lobby location with few tables.

Room Tip: the controls for the AC are on the wall, not in the unit under the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017

I don't know where to start. This was the worst Microtel I have ever stayed in in my life and I travel a lot. This place is advertised as 100% smoke-free, but every hallway and especially our room smelled of old stale smoke. Burn marks on countertops in the bathroom, on the toilet seat, a huge burn mark on the desk. At night I have to sleep with a CPAP machine, now that I am in another location at a different hotel I can still smell the stale smoke in my CPAP when I sleep at night after only spending one night in this hotel. When I mentioned to the front desk that they were burn marks and I thought this was supposed to be a smoke free facility they stated "yes some people don't follow the rules and we charge them extra"… I think to myself, yes you charge them extra and that extra is supposed to go to clean the room so the next occupant doesn't have to smell the cigarette smoke. The extra that you charge them isn't supposed to just go in your pocket, it's a cleaning fee. In addition to the horrible smoke smell the entire room was filthy. The couch was old worn out and nasty, And we found a pair of tweezers underneath the cushion so I'm guessing the cushion wasn't picked up and cleaned under. The ceiling over the television was black and looked filthy, The inside of the microwave was filthy, there was a tear in the bedsheets, each pillowcase had a stain on it, only half the light over the bed worked, this room was just old and worn out. I found hair clippings all along the edges of the sink and the bathtub. The bathtub had a huge crack in the side of it and paint was chipping off of the door frame in the bathroom. There was about a 3' x 3' section of the carpet on the floor that looked like the floor had been bleached because the carpeting was lighter than the rest of the carpet. I'm almost afraid to ask what might have happened there. The pillows were hard, and the room stuck which lead us to go to Walmart, but air freshener and our own pillows. I am a frequent windham shopper but I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank robertsF163HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Stayed here during Masters week and the manager was just a complete jerk. Picture the worst form of customer service imaginable and you have a good picture of the hotel manager. He's unresponsive, disrespectful, and will make your experience at this hotel awful if you need any assistance. Oh, and the hotel is a dump. Don't ever stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shammond4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

There are something's in life that happen without notice. When the hotel next door had a small fire due to negligence of another guest and had to relocate everyone who stayed in the facility to the near by hotels in the particular area the hotel staff next door did it with swift feet. Found rooms for all guest and families. This hotel "Microtel" was being paid for all of us guest rooms that had to relocate. The man over this property is nasty and RUDE what does the brand promote.. check out at 11 am, this man is cursing out all guest, telling us to leave his hotel take our "s***" with us. This brand offers continental breakfast... do they know what that means....? The owner/ manager told us relocated guest we couldn't eat the food! Such patriotism . Thank you for not helping stranded people who have been misplaced! You make American PROUD!

Room Tip: I Suggest no one stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckie242001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank terryp2017468
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vijay k, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Augusta Riverwatch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Room was out dated although it was clean. Break fast was ok. Swimming pool was very clean, Staff was friendly
Overall it was nice stay for the price of the room.
I think it needs more renovation to bring the room décor up to date.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vicpatel1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Augusta hotels
1.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Augusta/Garden City
1.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Augusta - Washington Road
0.1 km away
WoodSpring Suites Augusta Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Augusta West
1.6 km away
West Bank Inn
West Bank Inn
#16 of 86 in Augusta
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Augusta Riverwatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Augusta Riverwatch

Address: 2909 Riverwest Dr, Augusta, GA 30907-2025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range: $80 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Augusta Riverwatch 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Interstate 20, the Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is less than three miles away from the Augusta National Golf Club, home of the Masters Tournament. This Augusta, GA hotel is also minutes away from local points of interest like the James Brown Arena, the Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center and Augusta State University. Nestled beside the Savannah River, the Augusta Riverwalk and downtown historic Augusta are both less than four miles from the hotel. These areas offer a variety of sightseeing opportunities, museums, numerous entertainment options, specialty shops and unique eateries.Guests of this Augusta, GA hotel are invited to enjoy amenities and features including: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free local and long distance calls within the Continental U.S. Seasonal outdoor pool, Guest Laundry. Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like free weekday newspapers, a public computer with Internet access, and copy and fax services. All of our guest rooms come with standard amenities and have curved shower rods, hair dryers, coffee makers, iron/board, microwave, refrigerator, full cable television with DVD players and work desks. ADA accessible rooms can be requested. For added guest convenience, we offer free parking that can accommodate most cars, trucks and buses. Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are available. Whether your travels bring you to breathtaking Augusta for business or pleasure, make the Microtel Inn & Suites hotel your home away from home. Our ideal location, countless amenities and friendly staff await you. Book a room with us today and enjoy everything we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Augusta Riverwatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Augusta / River Watch Parkway
Microtel Inn & Suites Augusta / River Watch Parkway Hotel Augusta
Microtel Hotel Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing