We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful crew and great ride”
Review of The Mahana Naia Charters - CLOSED

The Mahana Naia Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun filled Snorkeling adventure to Molokini Crater and Turtle reef.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful crew and great ride”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was our first time snorkeling and i have severe fear of the deep ocean water. Yet the crew on Mahana Naia made us feel safe and comfortable and their great sense of humor kept everyone in high spirits. Take the 5 hour trip in the morning instead of the 3 hour afternoon one if you can. That way you get a longer boat ride (it's an old yacht of some sort and gives you a really enjoyable ride. I'm saying this even though i have a tendency to get sea sick!) and also get to swim with the turtles, which was the high point of the whole trip.

A big plus is that they take very limited passengers (i think the max is 40) as compared to the larger boats that would probably take 150 or so. That way you get personal attention for all your needs and concerns. Also they give you unlimited free drinks and provide a nice breakfast and lunch. We had our pictures taken by the photographer on board because we didn't take an underwater camera and he did a great job. Overall a very pleasant ride!

We had taken a whale watching trip the previous day and the commentary on board was very informative. There was none of that marine science commentary on this boat which we didn't care about. But if that's what you're looking for, you may want to take one of the other larger boats.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RovingRuhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    9
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best snorkeling charter on the island!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My fiance and I just visited Maui in December '11 and happened to receive a recommendation to snorkel and spend the morning on Mahana Naia. Needless to say, we did and it was by far the highlight of our entire vacation. The crew was extremely laid back, funny and helpful and the boat was much more relaxed than if we had chosen to go on one of the larger boats. There were about 20 people max on the boat with us, while others had over 100, therefore giving us much more time to spend in the water snorkeling instead of waiting for 100 people to get off the boat. The fish were amazing and we didnt even need to bring our own under water cameras because there is a professional (fun and AMAZING) photographer on board that takes pics of you swimming with the sea creatures (for a very minimal price). We stopped at both the molokini crater and turtle 'ghetto' and swam with many tropical fish and massive sea turtles. The boat also includes breakfast, lunch and beer. We would both recommend it to any laid back person who just wants to enjoy all that Maui's waters has to offer!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Paradise”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were on our Honeymoon and I had never been snorkeling, dont like water PERIOD!!! The crew was AWESOME!!!! They went out of their way to make sure EVERYONE on the boat that was NOT overcrowded like some of the others we saw, were made welcome and comfortable!!! THEY are part of the reason that we started making plans to come back next year with our kids!!! This Texas boy and his new bride are definitly coming back, I didnt pay them enough to leave her last time, I dont reckon!!! LOL!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Faron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Molikini Crater Snorkel Tour - go with Mahana Naia!”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My sister is a frequent visitor to Maui and recommended Mahana Naia for our snorkel tour of the Molikini Crater. Hands down a great experience and we loved the crew! They were a lot of fun and were very helpful. My mother had problems snorkeling and the crew spent one-on-one time with her trying to make her more comfortable. They actually seemed to care that we all had a great experience (which I have not always found to be the case with other charter companies). Go with Mahana Naia!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank dearborn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventura, california
1 review
“Mahana Naia Crew is the Best!”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My first experience snorkeling was incredible, thanks in great part to the crew of the Mahana Naia. They were so friendly and helpful during the cruise, our whole family had a blast (even those too scared to get in the water). There are so many companies to choose from, but this crew really stands out. Our whole boat had a great time, and included adults, teens and young children. The crew was helpful without being overbearing, and although they joked around a lot there was no doubt in my mind that they are professionals who knew what they were doing.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank sesame76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mahana Naia Charters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing