We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location Just a Bit Old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arlington Heights
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel was located just a few miles from the racetrack where we were having a show. Plenty of nice places to eat in the area. However the property was a bit old yet well kept. One downfall was the restaurant next store, where I stopped by to get an orange juice. Almost $4.00. Highway robbery. There was a store however it was closed. The beds were nice and the tv was updated. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel is nice, and conveniently close to the interstate, and less than 10min from the Woodfield mall area. However, you can hear the traffic if you are staying in the rear of the hotel. Consequently, the suites are in the rear of the hotel, and even have a balcony - overlooking the interstate! Weather was wonderful for March in the midwest, so if we had a nice view we may have actually utilized the balcony - but it was a no go- way too loud!

We added on a $20 package that included breakfast and a room upgrade. It was worth it for the upgrade, the suite had 2 closets, a separate room with wetbar, the bath was huge with an impressive full length mirror and soaking tub. However, if you stay here and are considering adding on breakfast, IMO the breakfast buffet wasn't worth the money. They do a breakfast special for $6.99 in the restaurant that is more than sufficient, and the hotel is right next door to a Denny's. The 24 hour "Cravings" lounge is an over-inflated vending machine area, definitely not worth the advertising they give it.

At check-in, I had to remind them of our package/upgrades - they weren't even busy, just not well trained. However, they were quick to make sure we had everything that we needed so I feel the service was acceptable.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay - we don't mind a little white noise - and we have experienced way worse in a hotel. Would definitely stay again - especially if we could get the room upgrade.

Room Tip: Presidential suites are at the rear of the hotel - facing the interstate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DzKyutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

From the marble and granite to the professional staff and the delicious breakfast buffet, this hotel couldn't get any better for the price. The Internet speed is blazing and the property is immense. There is no shortage of parking and the restraunt is great. If you are having any type of event and want something that is upscale but has rates that are competitive in this area then this is it. Downtown Arlington Heights is very close and a must see.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaainvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We are Hilton HHonors Gold and went for a late Valentine celebration this past weekend.
We asked for a room upgrade to a suite if it was available. We had been upgraded before
and the suites are very nice. Much to our surprise we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite and it was truly a great experience. The bed was wonderful. There wer two bathrooms
and a whirlpool tub. The shower had 4 showerheads and was really relaxing. A breakfast buffet was included the next morning.. I wish I could have taken the whole suite home with us!! The staff was very accommodating checking us in early and letting have a late check out. Wish I was still there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toots146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIARDTAH, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review online. We are glad you enjoyed the Suite upgrade. We hope to see you again soon. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here one night. Clean, comfortable room but bed felt too firm. Very loud air conditioner/heating unit. My son enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The restaurant was just so-so and on the pricey side.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great hotel, clean rooms, wonderful service. Great for meetings/business near O'Hare.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jswedek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here as the designated hotel for a nearby wedding. The cost of the room with the special group rate made it a nice well-valued place to stay. Not sure I would spend the money for the "rack rate," especially without breakfast. We went across the street to Denny's - not fancy but predictable. The room was very nice, bed comfortable, great linens, fluffy towels and something I really appreciate is lots of counter space in the bathroom. Pretty granite with a raised backsplash/shelf that gave you extra room to spread out cosmetics, lotions, toiletries, etc. And I appreciate real glass glasses for drinking - wish there had been real coffee cups for the coffee maker. This hotel does seem to run lots of complimentary transportation to various places nearby, so if you are going to the area and don't want to drive in suburban Chicago wasteland, this DoubleTree may be able to help you out. Oh, and the rooms seem pretty quiet. There were numerous loud groups that we saw in the lobby/halls/elevator but did not hear anything during the night and we were in the first room around the corner from the elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfMercator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington Heights
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Arlington Heights
92 reviews
0.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Heights
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Hei...
#2 of 10 in Arlington Heights
454 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW - Arlington Heights
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW -...
#4 of 10 in Arlington Heights
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/North
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#5 of 10 in Arlington Heights
135 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#7 of 10 in Arlington Heights
213 reviews
5.3 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights

Address: 75 W Algonquin Rd, Arlington Heights, IL 60005-4413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Arlington Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington Heights
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington Heights
Price Range: $120 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago – Arlington Heights is located in the heart of northwest Chicago's greater Woodfield area, an ideal location for business and leisure travelers. Our full-service hotel is a short driving distance from the attractions and businesses in downtown Chicago. We’re located off I-90 (Northwest Tollway) between O’Hare International Airport and Schaumburg, Illinois, with easy access to businesses, shopping, dining and entertainment.Begin your visit with our warm chocolate chip cookie. Continue to your guest room or suite, where you’ll find comfortable bedding, a work desk, an ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed internet access. After a long day, burn some calories in our complimentary fitness center, or melt away stress in the indoor pool. Bring your four-legged friend with you. We’re pet friendly.Savor hearty American cuisine in a rustic and relaxed atmosphere at the Birch River Grill. Pick up a snack to go at Cravings. Plan your business, wedding or special event utilizing 8,600 sq. ft. of flexible indoor and outdoor space to accommodate events of many sizes. In addition to our 24-hour business center, A/V equipment rental, secretarial services and an experienced event planning team ensure a successful event.With hospitality as warm as the freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at welcome, the staff welcomes you to an exciting stay in Arlington Heights, Illinois.Highlights Complimentary shuttle service (subject to availability) to and from O’Hare International Airport and within five miles of the hotel Conveniently located at the intersection of I-90 and Arlington Heights Road, a short drive northwest of O'Hare Airport Complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room Selection of smoking and non-smoking rooms, suites and accessible rooms 8,600 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space to accommodate events of all sizes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights Hotel Arlington Heights
Doubletree Arlington Heights
Doubletree Chicago Arlington Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing