We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful well located riad with great staff and homely atmosphere”
Review of Riad Tayba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Tayba
Ranked #67 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gent, Belgium
2 reviews
“Beautiful well located riad with great staff and homely atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This beautifully renovated riad is light and airy, with very helpful staff that make you feel at home, show you the best places to eat and help you find your way in the amazing medina of Fès. It is well located near the main gate to the medina, but really peaceful. Clean rooms, great breakfast, a wonderful place with a great atmosphere thanks to Salah, Hicham and Najwa! Loved it!

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Liesbet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    29
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
55
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had a wonderful time at Tayba thanks to the wonderful staff. salah and Hicham were extremely friendly, fun and helpful. They showed us around and made sure we did not get lost in the medina. They really went out of their way to help us and make us feel at home. Now that we are at the end of out trip in morocco, we can definitely say that the service here was the best we had (and we stayed at a lot of great places with friendly staff).

The riad is also very nice and clean with a nice roof terrace. We had a big room, which was nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A lot of other reviewers have described Riad Tayba as "like coming home" so I had hoped for a better description, but that really does sum it up. It's a wonderful oasis right at the entrance to the medina.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful and some of our best moments in Fes were just sitting in the courtyard chatting with them and the other guests. They helped us book a tour (at the correct local rate), got us out of a scam (that they had explicitly warned us about in advance that we still fell into), helped out a stranded traveller and, when we felt a cold coming on, they even walked us to the nearest pharmacy.

We were there in January and it got pretty chilly at night but the room had a heater in it and kept it nice and toasty (several of the other Riads we stayed at got quite chilly at night, even with a heater). The room was small, but all Riad rooms are on the small side, and ours was very cozy with a neat and pretty bathroom. 

The view from the roof was stunning and the location couldn't be any better, right inside the medina a two minute walk from the Blue Gate. You will need someone to lead you from the gate to the Riad, or explicit directions, but that's true of anything inside the medina, it's a maze.

We stayed at and saw several Riads in Marrakesh, Fes and Chef Chaouen, but Tayba was by our favorite. I don't normally go on this much in my reviews, but we really like Tayba a lot. It felt like our home in Fes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

As mentioned, Salah and his crew will take good care of you. (Spending some time with them is part of the experience, so be friendly :) ). Beautiful, nicely renovated riad. Great breakfast. Only drawback is standard rooms are extremely small, as in no room for even a nightstand. Wired LAN connections in room, if you've got a laptop. To get there, hop in a petit taxi and ask for Bab Bajaloud, walk thru the big gate where they drop you off (this is Bab Boujloud), down the hill into the media, and ask for directions.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This riad is truly cozy and laid back. Salah and Hicham and the rest of the staff were gracious and very welcoming. They arranged transportation to/from the airport and made sure we got to the riad safely (not that it is in a bad area at all). The local people were very kind and helpful to us, the obviously lost tourist. The conversation was wonderful and the tour was arranged with our very specific requests in mind. The guide went out of his way for hours to accommodate our long list of tourist requests as well as his list of must-see sites. After 9 days in Southern Spain and 9 days in Northern Morocco, Riad Tayba was a haven of tranquility and social calmness. A home-like atmosphere in which to reflect on the ever-moving energy of life that streams through the medina of Fes. I highly recommend Riad Tayba for your home away form home.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and quiet, but I would make sure you have someone guide you from the gate, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narbonneplage
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We were fortunate to spend 2 nights in the Riad Tayba this week. When we arrived, I was very ill and the manager, Hicham and the other staff, Salah and Nawar, were extremely kind, concerned and helpful and did all they could to make me feel more comfortable. when i was feeling better we were able to explore the medina (stunning), with the help of an excellent guide, which Hicham had booked for us. During the morning, We also enjoyed a wonderful massage by Nawar, who seemed very experienced and a 'must' after a day exploring the medina. The typical meals were delicious and resonably priced, especially Nawar's delicious soup. The Riad was very clean and comfortable. The room excellent. the staff all speak arabic, english and french and nothing was too much trouble.Airport transfers were also arranged by the Riad staff and we can also recommend this. A very big 'thank you' to all at the Riad Tayba! We would like to go there again. Paul and Janine Peryer

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janineperyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscou, Russie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Great place to stay during your visit to Fez. Nice location to explore thousands of Medina's streets. Cool restaurants nearby: Clock cafe and Le Scorpion de Desert. But the key element is the staff: Hinchan and Salah make everything to help you feel at your own place from the very first moment and till your departure. Thank you once again for your attention, guys.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfedor1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 km away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#27 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.5 km away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#53 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 km away
Riad Haj Palace
Riad Haj Palace
#38 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
#51 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 km away
Riad Le Sucrier De Fes
Riad Le Sucrier De Fes
#113 of 207 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 km away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#45 of 207 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tayba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tayba

Property: Riad Tayba
Address: 31/9, Derb Ben Salem | Boujloud, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Tayba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tayba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing