We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
85
30
10
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
30
10
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue gate clock cafe moroccan hospitality leila suite heart terrace riad medina
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 127 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Tayba thanks to the wonderful staff. salah and Hicham were extremely friendly, fun and helpful. They showed us around and made sure we did not get lost in the medina. They really went out of their way to help us and make us feel at home. Now that we are at the end of out trip in morocco, we can definitely say that the service here was the best we had (and we stayed at a lot of great places with friendly staff).

The riad is also very nice and clean with a nice roof terrace. We had a big room, which was nice.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2012

A lot of other reviewers have described Riad Tayba as "like coming home" so I had hoped for a better description, but that really does sum it up. It's a wonderful oasis right at the entrance to the medina.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful and some of our best moments in Fes were just sitting in the courtyard chatting with them and the other guests. They helped us book a tour (at the correct local rate), got us out of a scam (that they had explicitly warned us about in advance that we still fell into), helped out a stranded traveller and, when we felt a cold coming on, they even walked us to the nearest pharmacy.

We were there in January and it got pretty chilly at night but the room had a heater in it and kept it nice and toasty (several of the other Riads we stayed at got quite chilly at night, even with a heater). The room was small, but all Riad rooms are on the small side, and ours was very cozy with a neat and pretty bathroom. 

The view from the roof was stunning and the location couldn't be any better, right inside the medina a two minute walk from the Blue Gate. You will need someone to lead you from the gate to the Riad, or explicit directions, but that's true of anything inside the medina, it's a maze.

We stayed at and saw several Riads in Marrakesh, Fes and Chef Chaouen, but Tayba was by our favorite. I don't normally go on this much in my reviews, but we really like Tayba a lot. It felt like our home in Fes.

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2012

As mentioned, Salah and his crew will take good care of you. (Spending some time with them is part of the experience, so be friendly :) ). Beautiful, nicely renovated riad. Great breakfast. Only drawback is standard rooms are extremely small, as in no room for even a nightstand. Wired LAN connections in room, if you've got a laptop. To get there, hop in a petit taxi and ask for Bab Bajaloud, walk thru the big gate where they drop you off (this is Bab Boujloud), down the hill into the media, and ask for directions.

Date of stay: December 2011
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This riad is truly cozy and laid back. Salah and Hicham and the rest of the staff were gracious and very welcoming. They arranged transportation to/from the airport and made sure we got to the riad safely (not that it is in a bad area at all). The local people were very kind and helpful to us, the obviously lost tourist. The conversation was wonderful and the tour was arranged with our very specific requests in mind. The guide went out of his way for hours to accommodate our long list of tourist requests as well as his list of must-see sites. After 9 days in Southern Spain and 9 days in Northern Morocco, Riad Tayba was a haven of tranquility and social calmness. A home-like atmosphere in which to reflect on the ever-moving energy of life that streams through the medina of Fes. I highly recommend Riad Tayba for your home away form home.

Room tip: All rooms are beautiful and quiet, but I would make sure you have someone guide you from the gate, through the medina, to the riad when you first arrive - unless you are accustomed to Moroccan maps.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were fortunate to spend 2 nights in the Riad Tayba this week. When we arrived, I was very ill and the manager, Hicham and the other staff, Salah and Nawar, were extremely kind, concerned and helpful and did all they could to make me feel more comfortable. when i was feeling better we were able to explore the medina (stunning), with the help of an excellent guide, which Hicham had booked for us. During the morning, We also enjoyed a wonderful massage by Nawar, who seemed very experienced and a 'must' after a day exploring the medina. The typical meals were delicious and resonably priced, especially Nawar's delicious soup. The Riad was very clean and comfortable. The room excellent. the staff all speak arabic, english and french and nothing was too much trouble.Airport transfers were also arranged by the Riad staff and we can also recommend this. A very big 'thank you' to all at the Riad Tayba! We would like to go there again. Paul and Janine Peryer

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janineperyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews