We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Riad Fes Aicha(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$81
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$50/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Dar Guennoun(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$37/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
US$85
US$82
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Tizwa Fes(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,205
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
231
253
159
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
253
159
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelbarcelo hotelgate tourbreakfast buffetthe wi fihotel staffhotel restaurantroyal palacecomfortable roomlobbygate1carrefourkettlemoroccoboulevardtaxiscasablanca
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 730 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Hotel appeared clean and neat. Arrived in room, it was adequate. Bathroom was clean but....
The shower stall was a SAFETY concern. No bars to hold on to, slippery floor at a slight angle for water drainage, a loose drainage cover on which you kept stepping on. The water control handles were placed on the back wall opposite the wall which had the overhead shower/extendable shower-head (at the drainage pipe)....this could cause you to slip and fall trying to reach the water controls.
The restaurant was good.
The front desk staff were not able to change dollars or give their local currency. We were told to go around the corner to change money. We walked quite far and only found an ATM, no bank or money exchange office.
The front desk staff could also not get us a taxi when we asked since we decided to go out to a restaurant nearby, La Maison Blanche. We were told to go out and hail one ourselves, quite an experience!!! They could not give us a map or give us an idea of where to go. Even the taxi driver did not know where the restaurant was....all we knew was that it was near the Marriott Hotel and thank goodness we spoke French to make ourselves understood.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 555Orla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear guest,


We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional behaviour of our front desk team, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

General manager
Barceló fès médina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Where to begin...We travel often and usually on a smaller budget than this hotel rating would indicate. We splurged on a private tour that included 4 and 5 star accommodation....but this Hotel certainly did not bring us any joy.

Night One was WATER TORTURE in every way shape and form. The hand basin did not drain properly, the shower head leaked and the plastic drainage plug in the bottom of the shower kept moving around. There was no floor drainage in the bathroom floor. The piece de resistance was the running toilet...which ran, and ran and ran...all bloody night, despite two calls, a visit by the 'technician' and even my desperate pleas (in person at reception - because the reception phone was not connecting). The sound of echoing water was NOT relaxing.

The next area of concern was the cleanliness of the linen, with lovely black human hairs all over the sheets and grains of sand and dirt - at foot level in the bed. I understand that there is a drought on at the moment, but perhaps the running water in the toilet could have been put to better use, washing the sheets. The floor was filthy and was very evident when you stepped on to the white bath mat - which ended up being black by the end of our stay.

In fairness to the young lady on reception on the next morning, she was the only staff member to offer any kind of apology and organised for us to change rooms for the next night.

Again the linen in the new room was questionable, but we were too tired to argue again and slept on top of the sheets, not between them. The small ants crawling around were a minor annoyance and were easily dispatched.

Went to the pool to relax but one filthy smoker was able to contaminate the whole area and the 70 MAD ($9.45 AUD) they were asking for a beer seemed a little over the top - so we walked up the street to Carrefour and bought a six-pack of Casablanca beer for 115 MAD.

I am typing this at breakfast in the Hotel, having walked through a cloud of cigarette smoke in reception...utterly disgusting and I am told by our driver, illegal.

I am normally pretty easy going and have realistic expectations...but not when I am staying at a supposed 4 star hotel and I have the extremely disappointing experience that I have had. A tourist trap and they know how to gouge.

The Wifi worked well, there was a small fridge and tea making facilities.

Room Tip: Don't bother
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Dear guest,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

Again, we genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future.

General manager
Barceló fès medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful modern hotel situated in central Fes, near palace and Medina both require taxi to get there. But also adjacent to modern shopping center and tree covered Boulevard with multiple restaurants. Unfortunately room had a lot of problems including safe without digital display and door fell off when opened. In addition shower overflowed and flooded room due to drain stopped up when using and sink drain also slow. Key card has Wi-Fi network name and password, unfortunately the Wi-Fi network named does not exist. Room was clean and the beds comfortable. Staff friendly and breakfast buffet just average. But a reasonable place to stay if everything works.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tomtomaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Dear guest,

We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló fès medina hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

General manager
Barceló fès medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as part of tour group so I not know what they paid. Their prices on booking.com ranged from $160 ( one month ahead) to $240 (next day). It's is a stretch at $160 and not a four star. The water got stuck on very hot and they had to shut down the whole systems for a couple of hours. The carpets in the hallways are very old and tatty. Two elevators is not enough. Service is excellent and the buffet breakfast was also good. The rooms were spacious and clean with sheets made up every day.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RaphaelDingli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017
Google Translation

Dear guest,

Chez Barceló, nous croyons fermement qu'il y a toujours possibilité de nous améliorer, et vos commentaires assisteront nos équipes dans leurs efforts quotidiens voués à exceder les attentes de nos clients, c'est pourquoi nous apprécions sincèrement le temps que vous avez consacré à nous faire part de vos impressions.

Merci encore pour votre aimable appréciation sur notre hotel, nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous servir à nouveau dans un futur proche.

Directeur général
Barceló fès medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

This hotel is in a good location for exploring local dining options and buying from the street vendors. Very safe to walk about at night and the people on the street are friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice pool and restaurant area with friendly staff, though a bit unattentive at times. When asking for someting they go out of there way to help you though. Great location and hotel, though only tea in the rooms and not coffee. Not a big deal though

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2709BIGDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló fès medina. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Regarding the coffee, it is normally under request, so you just had to call the room service or at the reception and we would have delivered it right away, let us know next time !

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

General manager
Barceló fès medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews