We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$1,245
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$81
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Dar Guennoun(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$43/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$37/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
US$85
US$82
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Fes Aicha(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Tizwa Fes(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
231
253
159
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
253
159
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelbarcelo hotelgate tourbreakfast buffetthe wi fihotel staffhotel restaurantroyal palacecomfortable roomlobbygate1kettlemoroccoboulevardsupermarkettaxiscasablanca
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 730 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Great location with an outdoor area that reminds me of Las Ramblas. Room is very tired. Pillows were actually hard and the mattress was like laying on a board. Safe technology is 20 years old! Room was clean though, internet great, and breakfast was EXCELLENT. Very comprehensive breakfast selections. Stayed as part of a group tour.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff_From_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics

General manager
Barceló fès medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

This hotel came to my rescue after an awful experience at the Menzeh Zalagh Hotel. They allowed me to check in at 11:00 hrs.

Room 319 was very comfortable and overlooked the swimming pool, the quiet side of the hotel. The room had a safe and secure WiFi, along with the standard of bathroom fittings and toiletries you would expect to find in a hotel of this rating. One strange thing though was that while they had a kettle and crockery, there was no complimentary tea or coffee. There was, however a fridge available.

The restaurant service could have been better. Breakfast was very good and while I was given a dinner menu by the maitre d upon entering on Friday evening, I learned that only a buffet was available. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the food on display and at MAD 200 it was a reasonable price for a restaurant of this calibre.

My flight on the day of departure was very early and I asked for a wake-up call at 05:30 hrs, which didn't materialise. I was awake early though thanks to my internal alarm clock and I had breakfast at the earlier arranged time of 06:00 hrs. (Breakfast usually begins at 07:30 hrs.)

After dinner on the Friday evening, I thought it would be a good idea to settle my bill so that there was no rush early on the Saturday morning. I'm glad I did this because room service had been charged to my room, 319, which was incorrect. It should have been applied to room 219. The investigation into this by the night manager took about 15 minutes which would have been valuable time cutting into my departure if it had happened when I left the hotel at 06:30 hrs.

I am pleased to say that the taxi I had arranged to take me to the airport arrived on time and the cost of only MAD 200 was added to my bill. The journey time at that time of day took only 20 minutes.

The comfort and service, in spite of the hiccups I have highlighted here, were far superior to the Menzeh Zalagh Hotel.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, choose one overlooking the swimming pool. Use of the Hammam costs MAD 200 and the dry sauna MAD 100.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló XXX. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

Regarding the tea bags and coffee on your room, you just had to dial the room service and we would have provided you with all of this, just to let you know that we are at your entire disposal next time you visit us. We are also glad that you have enjoyed our buffet which is one of our major assets.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

General manager
Barceló fès medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Hotel appeared clean and neat. Arrived in room, it was adequate. Bathroom was clean but....
The shower stall was a SAFETY concern. No bars to hold on to, slippery floor at a slight angle for water drainage, a loose drainage cover on which you kept stepping on. The water control handles were placed on the back wall opposite the wall which had the overhead shower/extendable shower-head (at the drainage pipe)....this could cause you to slip and fall trying to reach the water controls.
The restaurant was good.
The front desk staff were not able to change dollars or give their local currency. We were told to go around the corner to change money. We walked quite far and only found an ATM, no bank or money exchange office.
The front desk staff could also not get us a taxi when we asked since we decided to go out to a restaurant nearby, La Maison Blanche. We were told to go out and hail one ourselves, quite an experience!!! They could not give us a map or give us an idea of where to go. Even the taxi driver did not know where the restaurant was....all we knew was that it was near the Marriott Hotel and thank goodness we spoke French to make ourselves understood.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 555Orla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear guest,


We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional behaviour of our front desk team, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

General manager
Barceló fès médina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Where to begin...We travel often and usually on a smaller budget than this hotel rating would indicate. We splurged on a private tour that included 4 and 5 star accommodation....but this Hotel certainly did not bring us any joy.

Night One was WATER TORTURE in every way shape and form. The hand basin did not drain properly, the shower head leaked and the plastic drainage plug in the bottom of the shower kept moving around. There was no floor drainage in the bathroom floor. The piece de resistance was the running toilet...which ran, and ran and ran...all bloody night, despite two calls, a visit by the 'technician' and even my desperate pleas (in person at reception - because the reception phone was not connecting). The sound of echoing water was NOT relaxing.

The next area of concern was the cleanliness of the linen, with lovely black human hairs all over the sheets and grains of sand and dirt - at foot level in the bed. I understand that there is a drought on at the moment, but perhaps the running water in the toilet could have been put to better use, washing the sheets. The floor was filthy and was very evident when you stepped on to the white bath mat - which ended up being black by the end of our stay.

In fairness to the young lady on reception on the next morning, she was the only staff member to offer any kind of apology and organised for us to change rooms for the next night.

Again the linen in the new room was questionable, but we were too tired to argue again and slept on top of the sheets, not between them. The small ants crawling around were a minor annoyance and were easily dispatched.

Went to the pool to relax but one filthy smoker was able to contaminate the whole area and the 70 MAD ($9.45 AUD) they were asking for a beer seemed a little over the top - so we walked up the street to Carrefour and bought a six-pack of Casablanca beer for 115 MAD.

I am typing this at breakfast in the Hotel, having walked through a cloud of cigarette smoke in reception...utterly disgusting and I am told by our driver, illegal.

I am normally pretty easy going and have realistic expectations...but not when I am staying at a supposed 4 star hotel and I have the extremely disappointing experience that I have had. A tourist trap and they know how to gouge.

The Wifi worked well, there was a small fridge and tea making facilities.

Room Tip: Don't bother
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Dear guest,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

Again, we genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future.

General manager
Barceló fès medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful modern hotel situated in central Fes, near palace and Medina both require taxi to get there. But also adjacent to modern shopping center and tree covered Boulevard with multiple restaurants. Unfortunately room had a lot of problems including safe without digital display and door fell off when opened. In addition shower overflowed and flooded room due to drain stopped up when using and sink drain also slow. Key card has Wi-Fi network name and password, unfortunately the Wi-Fi network named does not exist. Room was clean and the beds comfortable. Staff friendly and breakfast buffet just average. But a reasonable place to stay if everything works.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tomtomaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Fes2016, Director General at Barcelo Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Dear guest,

We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló fès medina hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

General manager
Barceló fès medina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews