We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, nice and in a good location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riad Medina Fez

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Cool off in our beautiful plunge pool The Building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Living Room
Cool off in our beautiful plunge pool
The Building
Main Salon
Living Room
Take tea in the garden
Living Room
Relax in wonderful surroundings
Kitchen
Relax by the pool
Kitchen
Master Suite - Bedroom
The Building
Master Suite - Through the arch
The Building
Master Suite - Salon
The Building
Master Suite - Reflections
The Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi Room - Romantic Jacuzzi
The Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi Room - Bathroom
The Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi Room - Bedroom
The Bedroom 1
Double en-suite - Bathroom
The Bedroom 1
Double en-suite
The Bedroom 1
Double en-suite - Bedroom
The Bedroom 1
Double Room
The Bedroom 2
Double Room
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 3
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 4
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 5
The Bedroom 4
Bathroom
Patio
Patio
Patio
Patio
Patio
Patio
Terrace
Terrace
The Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AmigoRuiz
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet, nice and in a good location”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

-The staff was so helpful and so friendly, we arrived and in a few minutes we were having a tea and chating with them.
-The Riad is in the Medina but in a very quiet area, very close to a secure parking where a left my motorcycle. From there to the Riad it's a very easy way, and the Riad sent me all the instructios to don't get lost. The attention from the Riad started even before we got there.
- We had a trouble in our trip and we couldn't get to Fez the day it was supposed, there was no problem to move the booking to the next day.
- We traveled around Morocco for 10 days and the Riad Medina had the best bed of our trip. We loved the inside patio, with the trees, the birds...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff and location
Liked least: We had to wait to get the key
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the riad. My husband is so jealous with regard to you motor biking around Morocco, it is one of his dreams but he hasn’t yet managed to organise anything. We know that the unexpected often happens when travelling in Morocco and we try to be as flexible as possible in accommodating last minute changes to plans.
Maybe we will see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParisFran...
Paris
1 review
“Thank you”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I spent nearly 2 weeks in Fes and in the Medina Riad. March is a little bit cool but I loved the place, more particulliary the cooking lessons that Alliah accepted very kindly to give me (Kafta, couscous, soup, salads and tagine). The meal are excellent. Do not hesitate to taste it. The discussion with Yousef are also usefull to better understand the way of lifein Marroco. Arrival, transfert from the airport, cleanliness, bedding, facilities are Geat. Confort is good. I recommand the Riad for people who wants to share the life in the Medina. I hope I will come back with my wife and child one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: cooking lessons
Liked least: picture handing on the wall
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk-travel...
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Thank you for such an excellent stay in your Riad. Love the food!
I can recommend a visit to the tanneries only 5 minutes walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2013
Thank you for your review.
I'm glad that you liked the food, all of our meals are prepared by our housekeeper who is a local Moroccan lady who cooks very traditional food using fresh ingrediants; I will make sure that I pass your comments on to her.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culverwel...
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for the faint-hearted!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed in the Riad Medina in February which had a number of disadvantages - firstly the rooms are designed to be cool and so it was difficult to keep warm. Secondlly, we were warned that it was not really safe to go out into the Medina after dark and anyway everything closed down. As it gets dark early in February, we felt rather trapped! It was possible to take a petit taxi to the Ville Nouvelle, but you need strong nerves to travel with these kamikaze drivers! Fortunately, we could get a simple but excellent meal in the Riad.
The room (the jacuzzi room) was poorly equipped - only a bed and a chest of drawers - nowhere to sit down or hang anything. There were a couple of coat hooks which fell off when we hung things on them. The jacuzzi was unfortunately not working, but there was plenty of hot water for showers and baths. As we only paid 40 euros a night (off-season price) for the room with breakfast, we felt that in spite of the shortcomings, it was reasonable value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kindly housekeeper and the evening meal
Liked least: lack of comfort and facilities in room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2013
Big thank you for your response, I am sorry that your stay in Fes did not meet your expectation but we appreciate you honest feedback.

The winter season does offer a different perspective; February is "out of season" for tourists in Fes and therefore it is the perfect time to see how the medina operates in a traditional way withut the heat and busstle of the summer months. This time of year is favoured by scholars and historians who use it to get under the skin of the real and very unique medina. I have highlighted the need to Abdul to ensure that guests are made aware of the services of the official medina guides, who are highly educated and very proud of their medina, and also provide the assurance and well-being for our guests.....personally I have never experianced any safety issues and we have not had any reports or incidents with other guests.

February can be a cool month in morocco and i appreciate your view on the way the houses are built, I have asked Usef to ensure that there are sufficient portable heaters to ensure that bedrooms are warm and cosy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesimi
Tarragona, Spain
1 review
“A perfect quiet place in the centre of Medina”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

It was the right choice: a nice place in the heart of Medina with perfect rate between price and amenities. Thanks a lot to Youssf and Alliah for your kindness!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver...
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A sanctuary in the middle of the medina”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Set in the heart of the old medina, this riad is a beautiful sanctuary to return to after a day in the markets. Beautiful rooms, great food, wonderful service. The decor is truly stunning. We ended up staying longer because we couldn't pull ourselves away from this calm oasis. This is for a traveler who wants to experience the real Morocco. A beautiful breakfast to start your day, ending off with mint tea on the rooftop patio.
There is a new parking lot a 5 minute walk away from the riad, which makes it very easy to find. The house manager met us there and helped with our baggage. They were very helpful with arranging transportation and restaurants... anything we needed!
This truly was a highlight to our trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review and a BIG thank you for the wonderful photographs which you have agreed for us to use on our website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David663
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

It all started at the airport...Abdel collected and welcomed me with a "Welcome to Morocco" and a big smile. This set the standard for the weekend! The drive to the Medina was like the best bits of F1 but without the crashes, the Moroccon driving code is based on "God Willing", and obviously he was smiling on us that weekend.
The arrival at the Riad was as if i was a long lost son. Snacks and mint tea were presented, and i was comfortably attended too while documents were sorted. The lady who cooks speaks even less English than Abdel, but it really doesnt seem to matter as their charming and relaxed desire to please says it all. The Riad is beautiful but not overpoweringly so, so it feels very homely very quickly. The pool is of great value in the shaded, but 35 degree heat of the garden and really nice to either plunge into, or just to dip your feet in off the end of the loungers. My room was the "jacuzzi room" , that opened strait into the pool/garden area. I didnt bother with the jacuzzi ( I prefered the pool ) but it was a very elegant room,with a jacuzzi bathroom and double bed. The food is fantastic, and everything is bought fresh, so if you order an evening meal of Chicken Tagine, the cook will source all the ingrediants from the Medina. The chicken will be bought live and "prepared" at the stall!
The Medina must be on everyones "Bucket List". There are no motor vehicles within its walls, whatever needs to be moved is either by barrow, donkey or mule. The list of hand made goods is vey long, from leather goods and carpets, cooper baths and lamps to ropes and buckets. The ancient tanneries and a view across the Medina can be experienced from the roof terrace (take a drink and a camera, its an experiance worth the trip in itself !)
I would highly recommend Riad Medina as being a welcome oasis in a fasinating and beguiling ancient city, and i've already promised myself to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staff, Pool, Terrace.....
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2012
I'm glad that you had such a good time. To experiance Abdels driving is a MUST on any visit to Fez and a great introduction to the city and the Moroccan way of life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing