We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thing of this hotel is the Marjane Super Market near by!!!”
Review of Zalagh Parc Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zalagh Parc Palace
Ranked #97 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The elevator was out of service, the noise from the pool was awful - you see all Fes' youngsters entered the pool with a 200mad ticket - , there was an "amazing" band (we thought there were stray screaming cat) entertaining empty seats up to 00.30 in the morning..., the food was very bad, and the city was very far away...
Thank God there was Marjane open till 11 and we had somethimg to do!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioanna_Panagiotidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2009

Firstly, it should be noted that this is not a five star hotel in comparison to western international standards. Although this should be obvious to anybody who makes a booking online. We paid around £400 for four nights including breakfast and dinner. This would be exceptioanlly cheap for a western international five star hotel.

The good things about this hotel are as follows: The lobby area is spacious. There is plenty of food choice at dinner times and the food was surprisingly pleasant especially some of the deserts that were on offer. The waiting staff at breakfast and dinner were friendly and efficient. The larger swimming pool is refreshing in the heat. The rooms are fairly clean and contain a small fridge to keep your drinks cold. It is very near a large supermarket (Marjane) where you can purchase drinks and other supplies.

The bad things about the hotel are as follows: Uncommunicative staff at reception. Their grasp of the english language is very poor. It took a long time to grab their attention at check in. The location of the hotel is poor. It is neither in the old town or the new town and certainly not within reasonable walking distance of either. Consequently it is very difficult to get a taxi outside of the hotel due to its remote location and the conceirge was next to useless at arranging affordable transport into the old town. It would have been helpful if the staff had told us that you can get a taxi outside of the supermarket. The lifts do not always work and can break down so you should get used to using the stairs. You should however beware that the cleaners sometimes leave the stairs dangerously wet without warning. Breakfast is very disappointing but you at least get drinks with breakfast which is not the case with lunch/dinner. During our stay they closed the main pool for cleaning and it took them two days to refill it. Again the staff were not great at updating us as to when it would reopen and they simply told you whatever you wanted to hear in order to make you go away. There is another pool but it is always in the shade and consequently always freezing cold and therefore never used. This is untrue. You cannot put your drinks on your hotel bill so ensure that you always have cash available at meal times. There is also a strange unfriendly dog that roams the grounds. It belongs to one of the staff members. It allegedly bit somebody. The staff were also reluctant to let us drink outside on the patio areas after dinner even though it was sometime very hot in the restaurant which makes you sometimes feel that you are being imprisoned inside the hotel.

If you are after a cheap hotel with a swimming pool that also provides breakfast and dinner then this place is acceptable but only just. If you are after a five star luxury hotel then you need to look elsewhere as the Zalagh Parc Palace is certainly not one of those!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stcstc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed here early 08 but never got around to leaving a review.

We booked a family room, this was very spacious/well furnished and clean with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and nice seating areas. Food was just passable, most memorable thing was danish pastry with roasted peanuts as part of the breakfast buffet.

The location is a pain, but we didn't find it very incovenient to catch a short cab ride to the madina, not too expensive either.

On the last of our 5 nights we upgraded to a jacuzzi suite (around an additional £30-40), our kids loved this and remembered the jacuzzi for many months after!

The most disappointing thing for us at that time was that the indoor heated swimming pool was out of order, not good in January when the weather was chilly outside!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLondonNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Stayed at the Zalagh Parc Palace for two nights as part of an organized tour. Original room I was given was small and dirty, and smelled as if there had been a fire, there were dead cockroaches on the bedroom floor. The next day I requested to be moved to a different room, which was better. The small elevator, rated to hold four people, broke down between floors with seven people and luggage on it, we were stuck for 20 minutes before they pried the doors open and we crawled out through a three foot opening. Terrible food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotHomeForLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We were "upgraded" here when the hotel scheduled for our tour group was booked by the king for his entourage. At first, we were excited because we were told that it was "5 star", but it was disappointing.
Strengths: good room size for Morocco for tourist type hotels, nice decorations, clean, very nice lobby, decent buffet food (included on tour), "mall" next door with a Walmart type store to buy water and other sundries (an interesting cultural experience to be with average Moroccans who were all very friendly but seemed a bit surprised to see us in the store), pool looked nice but it was chilly so didn't try it
Weaknesses: In an area that I'd describe as the "suburbs" of Fez, so really didn't have any flavor of Fez, medina, or a Moroccan experience. We toured Fez by bus and it seemed quite interesting, but you wouldn't get that at the hotel. WiFi in the lobby very slow and intermittent (but at least there was some), staff mostly rude and unhelpful

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Unfortunately i had already booked the hotel online, before reading the many poor but true reviews of previous customers.
The reception area was large and spacious and the reception team curtious and friendly.
The room?? Well 'double bed' does not mean 2 singles stuck together, but in this case it did. The room was kept clean though. The walls were painted a pale lime green, the tv nor the a/c did not work.
With Fes being hot, even in Feb, we decided to open the window for ventilation but at the expense of listening to traffic and various squabbles outside lasting well into the early hours.
The breakfast buffet was very poor and not much to choose from.
The only advantage this hotel had, of which i can think of, it was easy to find from the highway though the proximity to the medina is abt 4-5kms.
Oh and there was a ten pin bowling alley in the basement which was good.
Other than that - look elsewhere !!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We spent two nights here and never again. Out of the three tiny elevators, only two worked and one of them only intermittently. The stairs took us to the outside courtyard. There was no A/C in the room. When we called to report it was broken, a technician was sent up. The young man looked at the control panel, said something in Arabic, and left. We called the front desk again and were told they would check with the technician and call us back. An hour later, still no call so we called. Oh yes, sir, the problem is fixed. No it wasn't! The next night we complained again, only this time the technician never showed. We kept the window open as long as we could stand the noise. This hotel is located out of the city, but on a very busy highway. Noise and bugs forced us to close the window. We learned later the A/C was turned off for the season. Another couple in our group complained so much that management brought them a fan. I wish we had known. The dinner and breakfast buffets were not re-stocked. Once the eggs were gone, they were gone. After an hour wait, the cheese was replenished. The lobby was very nice, but tour busses disgorged throngs of smoking tourists who stood around in the lobby making the air unbreathable. I would never stay here again just because of the lack of A/C and the terrible elevator situation. The room was okay except for lack of A/C. The little sitting area had extremely fragile and uncomfortable furniture. We peeked into other rooms and the sitting area in each was different. Some had lovely upholstered furniture, but not ours. The doors into the bath area were painted with Islamic geometric art which had charm and the bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seein'_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
3.7 km away
Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
Menzeh Zalagh Hotel
#87 of 100 in Fes
366 reviews
3.4 km away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#54 of 100 in Fes
686 reviews
0.3 km away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#62 of 100 in Fes
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#58 of 100 in Fes
658 reviews
5.1 km away
Les Merinides
Les Merinides
#66 of 100 in Fes
235 reviews
3.5 km away
Menzeh Fes
Menzeh Fes
#85 of 100 in Fes
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Parc Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Parc Palace

Address: Lotissement Oued Fez | Route de Meknes, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Fes
#46 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $69 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zalagh Parc Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zalagh Parc Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Parc Palace Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing