We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
35
109
146
94
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
109
146
94
65
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 449 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Firstly, it should be noted that this is not a five star hotel in comparison to western international standards. Although this should be obvious to anybody who makes a booking online. We paid around £400 for four nights including breakfast and dinner. This would be exceptioanlly cheap for a western international five star hotel.

The good things about this hotel are as follows: The lobby area is spacious. There is plenty of food choice at dinner times and the food was surprisingly pleasant especially some of the deserts that were on offer. The waiting staff at breakfast and dinner were friendly and efficient. The larger swimming pool is refreshing in the heat. The rooms are fairly clean and contain a small fridge to keep your drinks cold. It is very near a large supermarket (Marjane) where you can purchase drinks and other supplies.

The bad things about the hotel are as follows: Uncommunicative staff at reception. Their grasp of the english language is very poor. It took a long time to grab their attention at check in. The location of the hotel is poor. It is neither in the old town or the new town and certainly not within reasonable walking distance of either. Consequently it is very difficult to get a taxi outside of the hotel due to its remote location and the conceirge was next to useless at arranging affordable transport into the old town. It would have been helpful if the staff had told us that you can get a taxi outside of the supermarket. The lifts do not always work and can break down so you should get used to using the stairs. You should however beware that the cleaners sometimes leave the stairs dangerously wet without warning. Breakfast is very disappointing but you at least get drinks with breakfast which is not the case with lunch/dinner. During our stay they closed the main pool for cleaning and it took them two days to refill it. Again the staff were not great at updating us as to when it would reopen and they simply told you whatever you wanted to hear in order to make you go away. There is another pool but it is always in the shade and consequently always freezing cold and therefore never used. This is untrue. You cannot put your drinks on your hotel bill so ensure that you always have cash available at meal times. There is also a strange unfriendly dog that roams the grounds. It belongs to one of the staff members. It allegedly bit somebody. The staff were also reluctant to let us drink outside on the patio areas after dinner even though it was sometime very hot in the restaurant which makes you sometimes feel that you are being imprisoned inside the hotel.

If you are after a cheap hotel with a swimming pool that also provides breakfast and dinner then this place is acceptable but only just. If you are after a five star luxury hotel then you need to look elsewhere as the Zalagh Parc Palace is certainly not one of those!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stcstc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed here early 08 but never got around to leaving a review.

We booked a family room, this was very spacious/well furnished and clean with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and nice seating areas. Food was just passable, most memorable thing was danish pastry with roasted peanuts as part of the breakfast buffet.

The location is a pain, but we didn't find it very incovenient to catch a short cab ride to the madina, not too expensive either.

On the last of our 5 nights we upgraded to a jacuzzi suite (around an additional £30-40), our kids loved this and remembered the jacuzzi for many months after!

The most disappointing thing for us at that time was that the indoor heated swimming pool was out of order, not good in January when the weather was chilly outside!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLondonNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed at the Zalagh Parc Palace for two nights as part of an organized tour. Original room I was given was small and dirty, and smelled as if there had been a fire, there were dead cockroaches on the bedroom floor. The next day I requested to be moved to a different room, which was better. The small elevator, rated to hold four people, broke down between floors with seven people and luggage on it, we were stuck for 20 minutes before they pried the doors open and we crawled out through a three foot opening. Terrible food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotHomeForLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We were "upgraded" here when the hotel scheduled for our tour group was booked by the king for his entourage. At first, we were excited because we were told that it was "5 star", but it was disappointing.
Strengths: good room size for Morocco for tourist type hotels, nice decorations, clean, very nice lobby, decent buffet food (included on tour), "mall" next door with a Walmart type store to buy water and other sundries (an interesting cultural experience to be with average Moroccans who were all very friendly but seemed a bit surprised to see us in the store), pool looked nice but it was chilly so didn't try it
Weaknesses: In an area that I'd describe as the "suburbs" of Fez, so really didn't have any flavor of Fez, medina, or a Moroccan experience. We toured Fez by bus and it seemed quite interesting, but you wouldn't get that at the hotel. WiFi in the lobby very slow and intermittent (but at least there was some), staff mostly rude and unhelpful

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Unfortunately i had already booked the hotel online, before reading the many poor but true reviews of previous customers.
The reception area was large and spacious and the reception team curtious and friendly.
The room?? Well 'double bed' does not mean 2 singles stuck together, but in this case it did. The room was kept clean though. The walls were painted a pale lime green, the tv nor the a/c did not work.
With Fes being hot, even in Feb, we decided to open the window for ventilation but at the expense of listening to traffic and various squabbles outside lasting well into the early hours.
The breakfast buffet was very poor and not much to choose from.
The only advantage this hotel had, of which i can think of, it was easy to find from the highway though the proximity to the medina is abt 4-5kms.
Oh and there was a ten pin bowling alley in the basement which was good.
Other than that - look elsewhere !!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews