We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)
US$98
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$314
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Andalla(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
US$232
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Tamarrakecht(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Aguerzame(Marrakech)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$387
US$376
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$446/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
513
97
20
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
97
20
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe main squareroof terraceresident cathouse catprune tagineon arrivalbreakfast was deliciousminute walkfresh orange juicebusy roadmassage roommoroccan pastriestop floorstaff was very friendly and helpfultucked awayan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 645 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. The raid is a bit out of the main area so had a panic when we first arrived. We booked there transfer from the airport and were met as expected. The riad is quite new but decorated in the traditional style. Our room was on the ground floor( a bit noisy both ways!). But clean the bed was a tad hard for me but my husband slept really well. The breakfast was fresh but a bit of fruit would be nice! Coffee was really nice. We had dinner twice here and it was really good both times. We had pastries with a chicken and lemon tagine then the next time a lamb and prune tagine.
The hotel cat Max was very friendly. The roof terrace was a nice retreat although it was too hot to be up there long.
They had a swimming pool ( more like a plunge pool) but no one used it I think because they had a big palm at the steps so not easy to get into.
Nice traditional riad, good food and friendly although a bit out the way.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2017

I have travelled to Marrakech and stayed at Riad La Porte Rouge with my partner last May. The riad is tucked away from the busy road of the city centre and it is 15 mins walk to Badia Palace and 30 mins by walk from Jamaa el Fna, the main square.
We had the Kaoutar room on the top floor and it was beautifully decorated and really quiet as there is only one room on that floor. On the top floor there are sunbeds and a nice sofa corner where you can relax too. We had breakfast every morning in the Riad and it was really nice, typical Moroccan pastries and also bread, butter and jam.
We also had dinner 2 times in the Riad, might be a bit more expensive than the restaurants in the centre but it is totally worth it. The Tajines that Mustafa cooked us were simply delicious and way more tasty that what you can find elsewhere!
I would really recommend the Riad and would definitely stay again if we go back to Marrakech.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Arianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

I had searched for weeks for the perfect riads (porte rouge was my first of 3) and I was not disappointed. Me and my husband were very warmly welcomed, and seated swiftly with cold drinks. We had run in to a lot of bad luck on our way to Morocco, and it was just so nice to walk into this peaceful riad. We had booked a meal for our first night which was beautiful; gorgeous flavours and well cooked. The riad was exceptionally clean, as well as our room (Argana) with lovely decoration. We found the breakfasts filling, though hubby started to miss savoury breakfasts (it was usually always sweet - sweet breads, honey, jam) though savoury breakfasts can be made for an extra charge. The only downside we found was location - although we felt extremely safe, it was always quite a walk to get anywhere. It is in the heart of the residential district, therefore it truly is raw, unfiltered Marrakech (not necessarily a bad thing as it opens your eyes to a different way of life). We came across a lot of children following us back to our riad and then asking for money (didn't experience this anywhere else in the medina) it is hard to turn them down but you get a bunch of kids that watch from afar to see if they managed to get anything from you. So it is best not to fall for it, as it attracts more begging.
The riad is close however to two of what turned out to be some of our favourite restaurants; Earth Cafe and Cafe Clock. Very reasonably priced, good wholesome food that caters to vegans/vegetarians.
On the whole, I cannot complain about the riad, it was everything I had hoped for.
We made use of the Jacuzzi one day which was lovely, as it is all shaded. Also not forgetting Max, the riads resident cat, who would come and greet you. If you're a cat lover, you'll love him! He just enjoys lazing about the riad.
Great staff, very helpful and courteous and beautiful interior.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PurpleStrawberry44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017

This is a seriously beautiful riad. I was looking for a riad that had Moroccan décor (why go all the way to Morocco to stay somewhere that looks like back home?), and Riad La Porte Rouge delivered, with Moroccan touches in every nook and cranny. The location was excellent- near the main square and souks, and a very quick trip to the airport. Having stayed at a more out-of-the-way riad earlier in the week, we were a bit surprised at how lively and noisy this section of town was. It was nice to be in an oasis of quiet while the city pulsed around us. Do understand that this riad prides itself on being a very quiet place. The staff speak only in whispers at night and early morning. If you're the rambunctious type, another riad might be better for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked lovely
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank abeautifulday365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2017

Well... The Riad itself was fine - our room was pleasantly decorated, clean and quiet. It definitely had a "homey" feel. BUT:
1. The riad's location is quite far from the medina; Be prepared to do a lot of walking.
2. The walk from the riad to the medina is not very pleasant.
3. There are few, if any, restaurants close to the riad.
4. Eating dinner at the riad gets expensive.

If you are planning to stay at the Riad La Porte Rouge, prepare yourself. Marrakesh is made up of a labyrinth of narrow streets. Not only is it very easy to get lost, but it is also a real challenge to avoid getting hit by the motorcycles that fly along its mazes. The exhaust fumes from the motorcycles and cars can be overwhelming. Marrakesh is also very dusty and a little dirty. Some reviewers have said that this Riad is located in a "sketchy" area. I disagree. At no time did I feel unsafe. The location is true, unfiltered, unsanitized Marrakesh, very different from our western expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank karensammatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews