We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far from medina, service could be improved but nice decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
Ranked #107 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This riad is far from the medina and is located in an area with no restaurants or places to eat. Getting around would require taxi service each and every time. Upon arrival at the riad the manager, Mustafa was kind enough to come to the street to help us with bags and walk us back to the door. Unlike other riads I stayed, there was no welcome tea etc. I was advised that the next morning I would be walked to the medina so that I could get to know the area. The next morning I had breakfast and spoke to Mustafa briefly, waiting for him to complete his breakfast duties. I went back to ask what time we would walk, and another employee informed me Mustafa left for the day. There was no knock on my door, no notification that plans had changed, nothing. He was even supposed to loan me an iron, which he never came to bring. When I asked the ladies in housekeeping, they advised me that they do not have ANY irons in the entire riad. Ironic that the next day Mustafa gave me the one he promised the day before. Breakfast consisted of some form of bread and butter or crepe and jam. It was the most underwhelming breakfast I have seen in my history of travels. Again, compared to the spread served at other riads, I was highly disappointed. Furthermore, my butter one day was served with a strand of hair in the dish. It was promptly changed upon request. The Hiba room was nicely decorated and came with a private bath, but there was no television in the room (for those with children). The cat did not bother anyone, but if you are allergic, you may want to book elsewhere. I tried to cancel upon learning they had a cat, and it went like this. In February I accidentally booked this riad for a non-refundable stay in June. (Multiple screens open would do it sometimes :-(. I called the booking company right away, and they called the hotel to see if I could cancel with no penalty. They were advised the decision maker was not in. I had them call the next day at a different time, they received the same response. A 3rd day came, and they advised to put it in writing and it will be done. My main issue was the cat. I later received a final decision that it was declined. Keep in mind this was 4 months ahead of the date of stay, not 4 weeks or 4 days prior. Anyway, they are entitled to decline, and that they did. All in all though, I am big on service, and I felt this riad lacked the top notch service I seek. I would not recommend this riad to others based on location, and subpar service, but I wish them well. I am astonished they have such a high rating, but I recently received an email from the booking agent that was thanking me for the feedback on this riad, and since this is my first feedback, I am not sure how accurate these high ratings are, and what ghosts are sending ratings to the booking agent on my behalf. Weird!!!

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank kee146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Riad La Porte Rouge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. The raid is a bit out of the main area so had a panic when we first arrived. We booked there transfer from the airport and were met as expected. The riad is quite new but decorated in the traditional style. Our room was on the ground floor( a bit noisy both ways!). But clean the bed was a tad hard for me but my husband slept really well. The breakfast was fresh but a bit of fruit would be nice! Coffee was really nice. We had dinner twice here and it was really good both times. We had pastries with a chicken and lemon tagine then the next time a lamb and prune tagine.
The hotel cat Max was very friendly. The roof terrace was a nice retreat although it was too hot to be up there long.
They had a swimming pool ( more like a plunge pool) but no one used it I think because they had a big palm at the steps so not easy to get into.
Nice traditional riad, good food and friendly although a bit out the way.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

I have travelled to Marrakech and stayed at Riad La Porte Rouge with my partner last May. The riad is tucked away from the busy road of the city centre and it is 15 mins walk to Badia Palace and 30 mins by walk from Jamaa el Fna, the main square.
We had the Kaoutar room on the top floor and it was beautifully decorated and really quiet as there is only one room on that floor. On the top floor there are sunbeds and a nice sofa corner where you can relax too. We had breakfast every morning in the Riad and it was really nice, typical Moroccan pastries and also bread, butter and jam.
We also had dinner 2 times in the Riad, might be a bit more expensive than the restaurants in the centre but it is totally worth it. The Tajines that Mustafa cooked us were simply delicious and way more tasty that what you can find elsewhere!
I would really recommend the Riad and would definitely stay again if we go back to Marrakech.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Arianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

I had searched for weeks for the perfect riads (porte rouge was my first of 3) and I was not disappointed. Me and my husband were very warmly welcomed, and seated swiftly with cold drinks. We had run in to a lot of bad luck on our way to Morocco, and it was just so nice to walk into this peaceful riad. We had booked a meal for our first night which was beautiful; gorgeous flavours and well cooked. The riad was exceptionally clean, as well as our room (Argana) with lovely decoration. We found the breakfasts filling, though hubby started to miss savoury breakfasts (it was usually always sweet - sweet breads, honey, jam) though savoury breakfasts can be made for an extra charge. The only downside we found was location - although we felt extremely safe, it was always quite a walk to get anywhere. It is in the heart of the residential district, therefore it truly is raw, unfiltered Marrakech (not necessarily a bad thing as it opens your eyes to a different way of life). We came across a lot of children following us back to our riad and then asking for money (didn't experience this anywhere else in the medina) it is hard to turn them down but you get a bunch of kids that watch from afar to see if they managed to get anything from you. So it is best not to fall for it, as it attracts more begging.
The riad is close however to two of what turned out to be some of our favourite restaurants; Earth Cafe and Cafe Clock. Very reasonably priced, good wholesome food that caters to vegans/vegetarians.
On the whole, I cannot complain about the riad, it was everything I had hoped for.
We made use of the Jacuzzi one day which was lovely, as it is all shaded. Also not forgetting Max, the riads resident cat, who would come and greet you. If you're a cat lover, you'll love him! He just enjoys lazing about the riad.
Great staff, very helpful and courteous and beautiful interior.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PurpleStrawberry44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This is a seriously beautiful riad. I was looking for a riad that had Moroccan décor (why go all the way to Morocco to stay somewhere that looks like back home?), and Riad La Porte Rouge delivered, with Moroccan touches in every nook and cranny. The location was excellent- near the main square and souks, and a very quick trip to the airport. Having stayed at a more out-of-the-way riad earlier in the week, we were a bit surprised at how lively and noisy this section of town was. It was nice to be in an oasis of quiet while the city pulsed around us. Do understand that this riad prides itself on being a very quiet place. The staff speak only in whispers at night and early morning. If you're the rambunctious type, another riad might be better for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked lovely
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank abeautifulday365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Well... The Riad itself was fine - our room was pleasantly decorated, clean and quiet. It definitely had a "homey" feel. BUT:
1. The riad's location is quite far from the medina; Be prepared to do a lot of walking.
2. The walk from the riad to the medina is not very pleasant.
3. There are few, if any, restaurants close to the riad.
4. Eating dinner at the riad gets expensive.

If you are planning to stay at the Riad La Porte Rouge, prepare yourself. Marrakesh is made up of a labyrinth of narrow streets. Not only is it very easy to get lost, but it is also a real challenge to avoid getting hit by the motorcycles that fly along its mazes. The exhaust fumes from the motorcycles and cars can be overwhelming. Marrakesh is also very dusty and a little dirty. Some reviewers have said that this Riad is located in a "sketchy" area. I disagree. At no time did I feel unsafe. The location is true, unfiltered, unsanitized Marrakesh, very different from our western expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank karensammatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We loved our stay in the Riad. The checking process was a bit of a mess, so much papers to fill in, but I guess this has nothing to do with the Riad but rather the country security policy. The design and decoration is amazing, we loved the Moroccan touch in all and every detail and of course the roof top Jacuzzi !! The staff was very helpful and provided an excellent and friendly service.
The only down side is the breakfast which we found to lack variety. Also, I would recommend to put some more light in the rooms, Ours was very dark in the evenings.
Overall, gorgeous Riad and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fadwa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 km away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#142 of 502 in Marrakech
276 reviews
2.4 km away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#119 of 502 in Marrakech
339 reviews
2.9 km away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#97 of 502 in Marrakech
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
391 reviews
1.5 km away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#85 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
1.1 km away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#61 of 502 in Marrakech
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $49 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing