We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Riad Chalymar
Nearby Hotels
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Selman Marrakech(Marrakech)
US$807
US$764
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
Sofitel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmeraie Palace(Marrakech)
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dar Les Cigognes(Marrakech)
US$275
US$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kasbah Le Mirage(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$694
US$572
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
97
46
8
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
46
8
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hustle and bustlelamb taginethe main squarerooms are comfortablemoroccan cultureatlas mountainsevery morningmalikamazeexcursionstaxifrenchmedinael
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The staff at the Riad went out of their way to help us achieve everything that we wanted to do on our trip. The Riad itself is nicely decorated and it’s about a five minute walk away from Djemaa el-Fna, so very conveniently located. However, when we arrived we found it quite hard to navigate our way through the back alleys to the Riad. We were told that had we phoned on our arrival at the airport, they would have collected us – definitely worth doing first time round.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

great location, very friendly staff, youusaf, ashraf and jean-paul could'nt do enough for you, nothing was to much trouble, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kushdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at the Riad Chalymar for a long weekend and I couldn't fault the place. I'd definitely go back and recommend to any of my friends/family wishing to visit Marrakech. The location was great, 2 minutes walk to the nearest bar/restaurant and 10 minutes walk to the Jemaa el Fna square. Ideal location, and very peaceful within the riad despite being so close to the hustle and bustle of the centre. The riad is hidden away down some narrow streets but very easy to find. If you book for 3+ nights they offer free airport transfers.

The staff were amazingly helpful and always happy to help with any requests. Staff spoke both English and French. We arranged to have a meal cooked in the riad one night and it was really lovely, they cooked exactly what we requested (there's no menu as such - we opted for a vegetarian tagine) and it was really tasty. It's also possible to get alcohol in the riad (which is lovely when sitting on the terrace roof watching the sunset) - just ask for what you'd like and if they don't have they'll pop out to the supermarket to get it for you.

While we were there, we went on a tour organised by the riad to the mountains (and 7 waterfalls) and ended up with personal service - the riad owner took us there in his own air conditioned car, meaning the trip could be totally tailor made for us (we could stop wherever we wanted along the drive for photos, to pop in to shops etc). It cost slightly more than some tour operators in the town were offering the trip for but in my opinion the personal service (and not having to be on a big hot tour bus) were worth the extra.

The riad is very spacious. I believe it has only about 5 rooms, but plenty of communal areas. There's the roof terrace with about 6 sun loungers, a sofa and a couple of comfy chairs, and a double sun lounger. There's another area with sofas to seat about 12 people on the 2nd floor. And on the ground floor there's a small pool, a table for 2 (for breakfast etc), and a sofa lounge with TV and a larger dining table. Plenty of space for some privacy if you require.

It's a useful note that if all the double rooms are booked you can book one of the twin rooms and they will push the 2 beds together and provide the appropriate bedding (it also works out a bit cheaper!).

I can confirm that the hotel is also gay friendly.

I'd highly recommend this riad to any friends/family wishing to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The Riad Chalymar is in a perfect location - just 5 mins to the main square. The riad is beautifully laid with a lovely plunge pool and brilliant terrace and lounge area. We stayed in the ground floor room which is smaller than the others, but we found it absolutely fine - especially with all of the other spaces within the riad. The service is fantastic Said and Yousef looked after us all of the time with endless mint tea and water and a lovely meal. It was a real oasis of calm in the midst of an exciting city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44Gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our three day stay in Marrakech was delightful thanks to the personalised service given to us by Jean Paul and his knowledgable staff. All their suggestions were spot on and they went out of their way to ensure that our stay at the Riad was flawless. The rooms were very clean and nicely yet simply decorated, mixing traditional Marrocan style with the modern. The rooftop seating area was perfect for sunbathing and watching the sunset, and the dipping pool on the ground floor was refreshing. The Riad is also centrally located in a safe area near to the souks and the old Jewish quarter, with plenty of great dining possibilities nearby. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank California_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews