We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a pleasant experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Riad Chalymar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Riad Chalymar
Ranked #196 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed at this Riad with a friend last year (two females). Booked this Riad after reading all the positive reviews. But sadly our experience was not positive and i am shocked by the glowing reviews. It all started wrong when we were supposed to get picked up from airport by mr Jean Paul. I emalied our flight details in advance and he confirmed he would be collecting us. After waiting over half an hour we called the Riad to be told Mr Jean Paul had waited for us and had left! our flight was not delayed, so this was just confusing. After several phonecalls and over an hour and half later Saeed came to collect us in taxi and said we would have to pay (hotel transfer is meant to be complimentary). In the end we were expected to pay half the price for taxi ride. The staff here completely rip you off when they organise a taxi ride for you. We booked a taxi via them to go to Nikki Beach. The driver was late in picking us up and when we called Saed for our return ride, he said the driver was on his way and to wait for him. I swear, we waited in the scorching heat for over an hour, and each time we called Saeed he said the driver was on his way and to top it up he charged triple the amount we would of paid, if we had just stopped a taxi ourselves. Suffice to say, we sorted our own ride after this. As this is a small Riad, they staff do spend time with you enquiring about your itinenary for the week. However, the level of interest was intrusive and made us feel uncomfortable. Once again it was a hard sell from them to get us to book any trips or outings through them. Also, they was a lovely cleaner who supposedly cleans the rooms every day, but all she did was replace the towels and tidy the clothes by arranging them in various designs on the bed, very cute, but changing the bed sheets etc would of been more appreciated. Im being totally honest by saying our bed sheets were only changed once during our week say there and that was because i had to wait for her then ask her specifically to change them. On the plus side breakfast was served where ever you wanted and what ever time you got up. I would not recommend this Riad to other travellers, especially females (it's on a dodgy narrow smelly side street, that you get through after walking through a bit of a maze) dragging suitcases through the narrow lanes and coming back late at night, just didn't feel safe. As for the swimming pool, trust me you wouldn't want to use it. It's downstairs in full view of everyone walking in and out and they are no sun loungers around it. All in all this is one Riad to definetly avoid.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hina05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    40
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
67
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

The staff at the Riad went out of their way to help us achieve everything that we wanted to do on our trip. The Riad itself is nicely decorated and it’s about a five minute walk away from Djemaa el-Fna, so very conveniently located. However, when we arrived we found it quite hard to navigate our way through the back alleys to the Riad. We were told that had we phoned on our arrival at the airport, they would have collected us – definitely worth doing first time round.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leic
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

great location, very friendly staff, youusaf, ashraf and jean-paul could'nt do enough for you, nothing was to much trouble, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kushdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at the Riad Chalymar for a long weekend and I couldn't fault the place. I'd definitely go back and recommend to any of my friends/family wishing to visit Marrakech. The location was great, 2 minutes walk to the nearest bar/restaurant and 10 minutes walk to the Jemaa el Fna square. Ideal location, and very peaceful within the riad despite being so close to the hustle and bustle of the centre. The riad is hidden away down some narrow streets but very easy to find. If you book for 3+ nights they offer free airport transfers.

The staff were amazingly helpful and always happy to help with any requests. Staff spoke both English and French. We arranged to have a meal cooked in the riad one night and it was really lovely, they cooked exactly what we requested (there's no menu as such - we opted for a vegetarian tagine) and it was really tasty. It's also possible to get alcohol in the riad (which is lovely when sitting on the terrace roof watching the sunset) - just ask for what you'd like and if they don't have they'll pop out to the supermarket to get it for you.

While we were there, we went on a tour organised by the riad to the mountains (and 7 waterfalls) and ended up with personal service - the riad owner took us there in his own air conditioned car, meaning the trip could be totally tailor made for us (we could stop wherever we wanted along the drive for photos, to pop in to shops etc). It cost slightly more than some tour operators in the town were offering the trip for but in my opinion the personal service (and not having to be on a big hot tour bus) were worth the extra.

The riad is very spacious. I believe it has only about 5 rooms, but plenty of communal areas. There's the roof terrace with about 6 sun loungers, a sofa and a couple of comfy chairs, and a double sun lounger. There's another area with sofas to seat about 12 people on the 2nd floor. And on the ground floor there's a small pool, a table for 2 (for breakfast etc), and a sofa lounge with TV and a larger dining table. Plenty of space for some privacy if you require.

It's a useful note that if all the double rooms are booked you can book one of the twin rooms and they will push the 2 beds together and provide the appropriate bedding (it also works out a bit cheaper!).

I can confirm that the hotel is also gay friendly.

I'd highly recommend this riad to any friends/family wishing to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

The Riad Chalymar is in a perfect location - just 5 mins to the main square. The riad is beautifully laid with a lovely plunge pool and brilliant terrace and lounge area. We stayed in the ground floor room which is smaller than the others, but we found it absolutely fine - especially with all of the other spaces within the riad. The service is fantastic Said and Yousef looked after us all of the time with endless mint tea and water and a lovely meal. It was a real oasis of calm in the midst of an exciting city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our three day stay in Marrakech was delightful thanks to the personalised service given to us by Jean Paul and his knowledgable staff. All their suggestions were spot on and they went out of their way to ensure that our stay at the Riad was flawless. The rooms were very clean and nicely yet simply decorated, mixing traditional Marrocan style with the modern. The rooftop seating area was perfect for sunbathing and watching the sunset, and the dipping pool on the ground floor was refreshing. The Riad is also centrally located in a safe area near to the souks and the old Jewish quarter, with plenty of great dining possibilities nearby. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank California_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

Riad Chalymar is an oasis of calm in the centre of the medina. My partner, teenage son and I spent a wonderful four nights here. We shared a simple, clean and comfortable room with en-suite facilities and air com. great decor. Jean-Paul, Zakaria and his team could not have been more hospitable. We had read that no-one in the riad spoke English which would not have been a problem but Zakaria spoke excellent English.
Nothing was too much trouble, one night Zakaria cooked us a fabulous tagine which we ate on the roof terrace under the stars. A fabulous and delicious meal. On another memorable day, Jean-Paul drove us to the Ourika valley to the waterfalls - he was an entertaining and informative guide and we enjoyed our time with him.
The riad is in the centre of the medina only five minutes from the mayhem and excitement of Djemaa El Fna, the main square. I tried to return to the riad in March but they were fully booked. There are only about half a dozen rooms and it's fantastic value for money so it probably books up fast. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 km away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#194 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.7 km away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#167 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.6 km away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#86 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#129 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 km away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#230 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.4 km away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#124 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Chalymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Chalymar

Property: Le Riad Chalymar
Address: Derb Sharij No19, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#137 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Riad Chalymar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Le Riad Chalymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Riad Chalymar Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing