We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech-birthday surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Ranked #33 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, Kent , UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marrakech-birthday surprise”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Myself and my husband, brother and sister-in-law stayed here for a surprise birthday trip. After reading all the great reviews I can honestly say we were not disappointed . The riad is perfectly situated not to far from the madness of Jeema El Fna Square but far enough to chill on the beautiful roof top terrace. Joelle is a lovely host nothing too much trouble. Had a lovely evening in eating a great home cooked tagine. Would have no hesitation in recommending this Riad, if I were being critical make sure you try and request one of the rooms on the first floor, as my brother had a room on the ground floor next to the kitchen and it was not en-suite and a little noisy. A great stay nonetheless.

Room Tip: request rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieBarr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    66
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
73
352
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Simply lovely riad - tranquil relaxed atmosphere, attentive friendly staff, stylish decor, comfortable cosy rooms, wonderful breakfasts, and perfect host Joelle. Lived up to all the previous reviews. Easy 10/15 min stroll to Jeema El Fna square, passing attractions along the way. Great recommendations from Joelle including restuarants and Hammam. Extras booked through Riad were perfect - dinner on first night, taxi to and from airport. Next time we visit, when it's slightly warmer, we look forward to spending time on the roof terrace and dipping our toes in the courtyard pool!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Myself and my wife stayed for our 11 year anniversary.
The riad is exceptionally comfortable and homely and attention to detail is amazing.
We were well looked after by joelle and her staff, always keen to please and helpful with any questions, food was amazing and recommend staying in for a home cooked tagine.
A truly relaxing riad with a lovely roof terrace, Marrakech offers a lot to see but we were very content to wonder out occasionally and enjoy the roads facilities.
Overall an amazing experience and met some fun fellow guests.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is such a beautiful Riad, the location is great within easy walking distance to the main square. As soon as we entered, we were greeted (with mint tea/biscuits) by Joelle, the owner who we just found to be the sweetest, most helpful person you could hope to meet. Nothing was too much trouble for her - from booking dinner/taxi reservations for us to organising a fantastic trip into the Atlas Mountains for us (plus lending one of our group appropriate footwear!...note, flip flops would not have been ideal for that one, thank you so much Joelle!...:)). She also was kind enough to provide us with homemade sandwiches for when we headed off to the airport for the flight home, can't praise her enough she was just fantastic!

The riad has a lovely roof balcony with white sofas/loungers/gauze curtains, perfect for a timeout during the day or evening, plus there is an extremely pretty courtyard inside with trees growing in the centre plus a sunken pool, which is a lovely place to eat your breakfast - and what a breakfast it is - it varies slightly each day with the most delicious homecooked food - and there is so much of it - even when you are full, you will want to keep going as you won't want to waste it - omeletes/3 different types of pancakes/yoghurt/fresh strawberries/eggs/cake/fruit tarts - and that isn't covering everything believe me! I could go on, but I will just say, if you choose this Riad for your stay in Marrakech you won't regret it, I'm already thinking about my next trip there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a very very lovely hotel. My girlfriend and I stayed there for 5 days and it was a joy. Joelle who runs the hotel, is the sweetest and most helpful person you can meet. I can recommend this hotel at any time!
There is a beautiful courtyard where you will be served your breakfast and I have to say, it is a really sweet breakfast you'll get.
It is not the biggest hotel, 5 rooms, and precisely that fact makes it even more cosy.
Only thing you should know, there is no door between the bedroom and the bathroom. Don't know if it was only in our room, or this apply to all the rooms. That said, Joelle keeps the hotel so clean and neat, it is a real joy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

In a way it seems a little pointless for us to review this Riad as every earlier review that I have read paints a perfect picture of what we actually found in reality. I am sure that these flawless reviews are down to one thing - the wonderful way that Joelle treats her guests and her obvious love of the property that she has worked so hard in to achieve perfection. From the moment one arrives and goes through that inconspicuous 'back street' door one is treated like royalty. The Riad is in itself everything that you would imagine for a traditional courtyard residence in vibrant and exciting Marrakech. Over the years one gets a little used to the 'hotel experience' but this is nothing like that. The only way to prove this is to try it - you will not be disapointed! The breakfast is every bit as big and as good as guests have reported and sets you up for the day. We also enjoyed an evening meal served by Joelle herself in the cosy lounge area. The chicken tagine was mouth watering and the wine was served, much to my pleasure, in the biggest wine glasses that I have ever seen. The rooftop terrace is the ideal place to relax after a hard days sightseeing in the town and even in February I came home with a good suntan!
We were very sad to leave Joelle and the ladies who helped her and we would have no hesitation in recomending this Riad to anyone whether young or more senior in years

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are away from the courtyard and a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Of course it is. Riad les Orangers d'Alilia is, in our opinion, flawless. Entering this well located Riad we were amazed at the contrast of peace and tranquility compared to the hussel and bussel of outside. With a small plunge pool, a courtyard in full bloom, a comfy living room and a tantalising terrace complete with loungers the riad covers all bases very tastefully.

Greeted with coffee upon arrival and a brief chat we were advised of local interest points and restaurants by our very accommodating host, Joelle. Located 15 minutes walk from Jeema El Fna you are situated in a safe, friendly part of town which sees many of marrakechs favourite attractions on your doorstep. The Kasbah Mosque, Saadian Tombs, La Saltana hotel, Baadii Palace, Government Artisan, Les Bains de Marrakech are all nearby.

Our first night we stayed downstairs in Salma and found the room spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated, before being moved to our room of choice (Sophia) for our remaining two nights. Sophia was equally amazing and had the benefit of being on the first floor and having a bathroom door(!). Breakfast at the riad is a filling assortment of breads, cakes, pancakes, yoghurts, riced pudding, fruit, cream, jam.... Infact the great offering varied day by day whilst the quantity remained huge! Dinner is available on request and smelt equally delicious.

Joelle and her staff were extremely helpful- from service, advise, taxis, transfers and recommendations. This riad is flawless and doubtlessly enhanced our great marrakechi experience and we would certainly recommend this accommodation to friends and family alike.

Room Tip: Salma is ground level and therefore opens onto the breakfast area. For more privacy, a window and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlversuslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 km away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#36 of 500 in Marrakech
707 reviews
0.6 km away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
478 reviews
2.3 km away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#24 of 500 in Marrakech
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
206 reviews
1.8 km away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
855 reviews
1.4 km away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Property: Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Address: 216 Rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing