We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Ranked #362 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great location - right by the main square Djema el Fna, walkable distance to everywhere, thanks to the thick walls the noise from the square does not penetrate them.
Clean - the patio, the bathrooms and showers are cleaned and desinfected several times a day.
The staff - extremely friendly and helpful.
Hotel service - tasty breakfast on the roof terrace.
The hotel is built in traditional Moroccan architecture which even more increases the positive experience

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora274924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Excellent service offering trips for a very good price. Very clean. Very close to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank favourite-cities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

When I decided I was going to Marrakech for Christmas finding a hotel seemed like a marathon task. I did not want to stay in the New City in a five star hotel with all the modern conveniences and a McDonalds around the corner. Going to the trouble of travelling all the way from Calgary, Alberta, Canada to Morocco I felt it important to experience the real old Morocco and find accommodation in the Medina. The Cecil seemed like the logical choice based on the TripAdvisor comments. After I had booked I then became a little paranoid about what I was getting myself into. The Cecil arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and taken directly to the hotel. For the princely sum of five euros each this was a gift 'cos I would hate to make the trip from the airport to Djemaa El Fna by cab or public transportation. All my diubts were dispelled as soon as we arrived at the hotel. The desk attendant was pleasant and went out of his way to see that we were settled comfortablly. During our six night stay all of the desk staff and cleaning staff were top notch. The room was awesome, I had booked a room for for even though there were just the two us us to we would have a little room to move. The room was awesome with 15' ceilings and an en suite bathroom. Sure the bathroom was not from the Hotel Ritz but it catered to our needs and was more than adequate. The rooftop breakfast was typical Moroccan with crusty rolls, jams, mint tea, sweet bun and coffee. Surprising at times how something so basic can taste so awesome given the right setting. If ever I return to Marrakech this will definitely be my abode. Sure beats the fancy hotels and Mick D's.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Behinde8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Well placed hotel close to the main square in Marrakech. Done out in the traditional Moroccan titled style. On suite rooms basic, small but comfortable. Plus is the breakfast on the roof over looking the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lincoln A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Nice hotel right next to Djemaa El Fna. We stayed for 2 nights.
Hotel Cecil is just a couple of meters from the square. Perfect location in the heart of the medina. Facilities are nice and well mantained, but don’t expect any luxury.
Rooms: We got one double and one single room on the ground floor. Both correct, although single room was a small and its window was on the street side, so a bit noisy during the night.
Bathroom: Small but ok.
Included breakfast: Really good and served in the terrace with a nice view of the square.
Wi-fi connection: Was just ok and it only seems to work right if you are on the ground floor.
Would come back.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlorenciaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel smells like a mildewy bathroom. My room stunk so badly, I had to sleep with the windows open, and this hotel is so loud, it's very difficult to sleep. Nevermind the noisy djemma, but every sound someone makes here echoes throughout the hotel.

The location is right in the djemma al fna, which is good and bad. But if walking out your door and being confronted by vendors and loud music is not your thing- don't stay here.

Marrakech is generally more expensive than the other cities in morocco, but I find little value here, being my most expensive hotel. There is no service of tea like most other riads and the breakfast is the same stale bread and bad mint tea each morning.

There are mostly couples that stay here, and no backpackers.

Plus the wifi never feels like working.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snadiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Fantastic location a few metres away from the main Djeema el Fna square!

The morning breakfast on the rooftop was lovely as was the waiter.

The main downside was the reception man, however (and maybe the boss of the place?) - saw him quite a few times as we were there for 5 days and he was incredibly rude each time, even asking how much we paid to do a tour just to laugh at how we had been ripped off. Very unprofessional!

The rooms were rather noisy at times but the location very much made up for it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endalemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#351 of 502 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.0 km away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#110 of 502 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#323 of 502 in Marrakech
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#310 of 502 in Marrakech
117 reviews
1.1 km away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#268 of 502 in Marrakech
111 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#202 of 502 in Marrakech
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecil Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $29 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cecil Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing