We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely oasis in the heart of the Medina”
other travellers have booked this property
Riad Laksiba -  Guest house, Hotel, Rooms or Exclusive Use, Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Riad Laksiba -  Guest house, Hotel, Rooms or Exclusive Use, Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Riad Laksiba - Exclusive Use from £125 Night Riad Laksiba  - Rooms from £25 Person
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
228 reviews
Riad Laksiba -  Guest house, Hotel, Rooms or Exclusive Use, Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Riad Laksiba - Exclusive Use from £125 Night
Riad Laksiba  - Rooms from £25 Person
Riad Laksiba - Cooling Days
Riad Laksiba - Winter Nights
Courtyard
Riad Laksiba - Sumptuous Complimentary Breakfasts
Evening Meals and Cookery Introductions available
Dining Room
Riad Laksiba - Home Cooking Evening Meals
Riad Laksiba - Cozy Corners
Riad Laksiba - Bask in the Sun
Riad Laksiba - Read in the Shade
Riad Laksiba - Doubles or Twins
Riad Laksiba - Doubles or Twins
Riad Laksiba - Old Palace Style
Courtyard
Riad Laksiba  - Luxury on a Budget
Salon
Hallways
Salon
Riad Laksiba - A quiet retreat from the madding crowds
Riad Laksiba - Arches
Hallways
Hallways
The Twin Room Two, Ground Floor
The Twin Room Two, Ground Floor
The Twin Room Two, Ground Floor
Lobby
Courtyard
The Twin Room, First Floor
The Twin Room, First Floor
The Twin Room, First Floor
Salon
Courtyard
The Large Twin Room, First Floor
The Large Twin Room, First Floor
The Large Twin Room, First Floor
The Twin Room, First Floor
The Large Twin Room, First Floor
Salon
The Large Twin Room, First Floor
The Large Twin Room, First Floor
Salon
The Twin Room Two, First Floor
The Twin Room Two, Ground Floor
The Twin Room Two, First Floor
Riad Laksiba - Open-Air Courtyard
Courtyard
Courtyard
Bathroom In Twin Room Two, First Floor
Entrance
Dont just be a Tourist. Go Native, Experience Marrakech.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 228 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Turkish first
Any
English first
Kate B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis in the heart of the Medina”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I have long yearned to spend some time at Riad Laksiba which I discovered by accident when I was trawling through some film footage and discovered Simon's story. Sadly, a trip planned for 2011 had to be postponed but we finally made it there to celebrate the New Year and our experience was just wonderful.

We were met at the airport by the charming and gracious Hamid who waited patiently whilst we exchanged currency (a last-minute demand for dirhams meant that there were none at the UK airport). He then settled us into our room with the minimum of fuss. By then, it was quite late into the evening and we were slightly nervous about our ability to find our way to the centre of the Medina so he and Mohamed (equally as charming and gracious) accompanied us. For us, that gesture set the scene for the rest of our stay - visiting the riad is akin to visiting friends, one instantly feels welcome and at home and that is worth its weight in gold when you visit a culture that is so different from ours.

We loved the way that Simon and his family have renovated the building - the attention to detail, the use of traditional craft, the antiques and the furnishings were all simply beautiful - I can imagine that, in the long summer months, when the courtyard is open to the sky, that it would be even more divine. Breakfasts were amazing, completely different every day and always fresh and healthy. From reading other reviews here, I now wish we had planned to have an evening meal at the Riad. I certainly will do so next time. We did enjoy a couple of nights in however, watching movies and drinking wine - that was lovely. And, we loved the location too. 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of the Medina meant that we were well away from the hustle and bustle of city life so the Riad became our sanctuary - a very welcome sight after a long day.

All in all, Simon and his team gave us an experience to remember and we will definitely, definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2013
Kate,
I take my hat off to you. A great "aide memoir" of you time at Riad Laksiba from arrival onwards. I am so pleased that you finally managed to visit and that it did not disappoint ( having waited nearly 18 months to make the trip). Thanks also for the kind words on your eMail, immediately following your trip and your positive comments regarding our 2013 website ( RiadinMarrakech.com ) I do value your opinions. Hopefully you'll visit again soon. Many kind regards. Simon (Riad Laksiba)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola F
1 review
“Cant wait to come back!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed here in November and had a brilliant time. The riad was a beautiful place and we were made to feel at home by the lovely staff at the riad, the staff were a great help in organising the trips e.g. Dune buggies and camel rides. The tagine at the riad was the best I have tasted and would highly recommend it to anyone who stays at this riad, the breakfast was also wonderfull (especially the pancakes). The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious and were cleaned on a daily basis. I can't wait to come back to this riad!
Nicola & josh

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2013
Nicola and Josh,
Big thanks for taking time to share your experience at Laksiba on TripAdvisor. I do sincerely hope that your title "Can't wait to come back" happens soon for you. Thank you also for your kind comments about the staff. They do read TripAdvisor reviews and always feel proud to be mentioned. Best regards Simon (Riad Laksiba)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkleyrac...
ilkley
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fab Christmas”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We have just got back from a fabulous week in Riad Laksiba which outdid my wildest hopes. I loved the place from the start and we couldn't have had a better place to base ourselves. We arrived to a taxi organised for us and a fabulous meal at the Riad which set the tone for a wonderful week.The weather was wonderful and the"Riad family" were a slick team working to make everything happen !! The breakfast was a huge hit and we loved getting some bits for a p a simple tea after the enormous lunches on town. We easily found our way around, felt very safe and loved watching the world happening around us . The kids had a Christmas to remember as Santa found his way from the Riad roof!! The roof was great for revising teenagers in the sunshine and a respite from the bargaining , as was monopoly Morocco style . Two of our 6 kids had tricky tummys but despite that we still had a fab time. The dune buggies were way better than I expected and I loved our trip out to the Ourika Valley with Splash on Christmas day. The walk up and down to town was my favourite bit of the day. Looking back the whole thing was absolutely brilliant and I will really look forward to coming back if possible. Thanks to all of you for an amazing week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Hello Rachel,

It is amazing .... just how Santa manages to circumnavigate the globe and make every effort, not to disappoint children in even the most remote of places. The children had obviously been good, kind and considerate over 2012 and I hope that the gifts that the Elves popped into Santa's sack were not too random! Equally... I am delighted that you found our other Xmas staple.... the "Moroccan" version of Monopoly. Abdelhamid and Mohamed has sent me photo's of the Orange Tree in decoration... another opportunity for a quiet hohoho, to myself. The Splash Team are always a hit with our guests so, a quick thank you on behalf of Andy and the Splash team for flagging a mention. Today it is New Years Day, no doubt the last opportunity to write something about Xmas 2012. Thus Happy Xmas for last week and a huge thanks for such a positive review on our efforts to make your Xmas holiday special. Happy New Year and please do think of us during the warmer seasons to experience another facet of this magical city. Love and Peace (Santa). Best Simon. Riad Laksiba
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojoe_jon...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“definitely stay here”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

this place really is as good as the reviews suggest, probably better. beautiful building and rooms, with fantastic staff who will help you arrange whatever you want to do. If you are taking the whole Riad, I would recommend taking up their offer to eat in 'at home' one night; beautiful fresh food and better tasting than elsewhere.
My friends and i took the whole Riad which made fantastic value and great atmosphere for us all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Hospitality!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Fantastic accommodation, seriously pampered and cared for by the Riad staff, within easy walking distance of the main square. Being inside the city walls it gives you such a wealth of opportunity to experience the full package Marrakech offers, with the beauty of being on the fringes of the walled city. Could not have asked for better service, and I would seriously recommend organising a night "in" at the riad where they prepare you a full culinary delight.
Absolutely brilliant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara K
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Hospitality!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Fantastic accommodation, seriously pampered and cared for by the Riad staff, within easy walking distance of the main square. Being inside the city walls it gives you such a wealth of opportunity to experience the full package Marrakech offers, with the beauty of being on the fringes of the walled city. Could not have asked for better service, and I would seriously recommend organising a night "in" at the riad where they prepare you a full culinary delight.
Absolutely brilliant.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Thank you Barbara, for taking time to write a Review on TripAdvisor. Riad Laksiba (def: the little House in the Kasbah). The Kasbah being an area of the Medina fortified by Ramparts and historically the 1st Citadel of the Sultans of Morocco. Your comment "Being inside the city walls it gives you such a wealth of opportunity to experience the full package Marrakech offers, with the beauty of being on the fringes of the walled city" sums up my own thoughts perfectly. A great observation to put into your review. Location is indeed very important for any traveller and I am delighted that you enjoyed Riad Laksibas unique position within the Medina. Hopefully we'll look forward to your return visit where you can discover even more. Best for 2013. Simon. Riad Laksiba.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger J
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Retreat in a wonderful City”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

What a smashing place to stay; south of the main square in the Kasbah district of the City. The Riad Laksiba is in a quite cul de sac about 15 minutes walk, (less in a horse drawn carriage), from the Central Medina. In this area life is less frenetic, and the shopkeepers do not hassle like they tend to in the Central area. The only threat is from the mopeds careering down the narrow alleys. The Riad Laksiba is owned by Simon and Fiona who were staying at the same time as us, and we were made very welcome. The two local girls provide breakfast as and when you like and this consists of pancakes, bread, pastries, jams, honey and fruit. They will also cook an evening meal if you do not wish to eat out. The five rooms, (two on the ground floor and three on the first floor), were roomy with comfortable beds and en suite wet rooms. All tastefully decorated with local artifacts and much hand carved wood.The roof top terrace with sunbeds had a superb view of the snow capped Atlas Mountains, (this was mid November).
When the owners are not in residence, Mohamed and Abdul Hamid are in charge, and both speak perfect English, arranging transfers to the airport, (only 15 minutes away), and will advise on and arrange taxis to other parts of the city and further afield. All in all an excellent break and we will definitely go again. - Roger & Helen Johnson.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Dear Roger and Helen,
Thank you so much for your considerate and kind words. Fiona and I thoroughly ejoyed your company and it was very good for us to gain an insight into the aspirations of highly active Senior Citizens whilst in Marrakech. I hope that we managed to fulfil all of your requests for what you wanted to achieve with the plethora of research you had done. It was an excellent time in the Riad with all guests sharing stories and sharing a true family atmosphere. A delight and a pleasure. We look forward to your 2013 return visit. Best regards Simon. Riad Laksiba
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing