We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Trek! Highly recommend, Hassan was amazing

My friends and I had such a an incredible time in the Atlas mountains and we owe this all too... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
riz c
via mobile
Brilliant calm 3 day trek in mountains

I had been to the foot of the Atlas mountains before on a one day trip from Marrakesh which was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Christoffer R
Read all 114 reviews
  
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
109
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highest peak guide hassan hiking boots jebel toubkal dropped off berber culture mountain guide beautiful landscape highlight of our trip his team riding camels sahara desert desert tour traditional burger summit mountains hussain
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 114 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017

I really can't recommend this experience highly enough; take your hiking boots and be prepared for some hard work but if you get to the top of the Toubkal you'll have an unforgettable holiday story to tell when you get home!

Our guide Mohammed was brilliant, and remained patiently supportive when the going got a little tough. Thanks to his advice and expertise, we made the trek to the summit in the early hours of the morning on day two of the trek, reaching the peak in time for sunrise. Climbing by torchlight was quite an experience, but bearing the cold was worth it for the sight of the sun rising over the mountains (not to mention a welcome relief from climbing in the heat of the day).

The food provided on the trek was plentiful and delicious - far better than most of the meals we had in Marrakech. You certainly won't go hungry, but bring a few dirham so you can buy drinks along the way. There's freshly squeezed orange juice at a few of the stopping points and if you're walking in the heat of the day you'll need it. Take plenty of water too.

Brace yourself for a long day on day two, regardless of when you start. You've got to make it to the summit, then back down and back to the village where it all starts.

A truly memorable experience. Go prepared! You won't regret it.

1  Thank LazRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

it's my pleasure to give our trust to our clients when they are with us and be in safety hands.
Thank you very very much for your visit and hopefully to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience in Morocco, and with Hassan's tour we trekked to the top of Morocco's highest peak, Mt. Toubkal. We did some overnight conditioning hikes around Imlil before the multiday trek to the top. While the mountains weren't as big as some of the mountains in Alaska, they were still amazing nonetheless. The food was spectacular and plentiful, and Hassan was very knowledgeable about the local area. After the trek we went on a multiday roadtrip to the Sahara desert to ride camels. The cherry on top for this trip was Hassan's jovial and easy-going personality. The last day of the trip was seeing the Cascade D'Ouzard, Morocco's highest waterfall. I would definitely recommend Morocco and Hassan.

Thank mechajerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thanks lot for this honest Review my friend Jeremy, we are so glad that you had an amzing experience with us during your grand trip to Morocco. we hope to welcome you again.... best regards Jeremy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile


Tl;dr highly recommend, knowledgeable, fun and incredibly kind guides and drivers who enjoy their job, cater tours to your every need and show you places and experiences only a local could.

Our guide Hassan and our driver abdelrahim were fantastic, they picked us up at our hotel in Ouirgane and took us through Ouzazarte through the Dades gorge all the way to Merzougha with stops along the way and an incredible camel tour and overnight stay at a Berber camp to top it off. We had been hesitant about taking a guided multi-day tour especially with a few hours a day in the car, but we were blown away by the care and attention Hassan gave, and how amenable he was to stopping whenever we wanted, quiet/loud as we wanted and timely local or modern history which explained the beauty we were taking in.

His choices of accommodations and meals never disappointed and we found ourselves getting special meals, deals and more than a few hugs from local proprietors (all of whom Hassan seemed to be great friends with).

At every turn he and abdelrahim were attentive without being solicitous, encouraging without being overbearing and friendly without ever imposing on a private moment. The hours in the car were filled with fun (Berber music, conversation and quiet as desired) and our only wish was that we had had more time.

At the end of our tour Hassan made sure we made it to our next Riad (which we surely would have gotten lost attempting to find). We couldn't have hoped for a better experience and it was the highlight of our trip.

1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

its been a Months now that your review been posted and didnt replay back as im so busy but, Thanks lot for your treuly happy honest review. Im glad that you had ana amzing time with me as guide of you during the desert trip. thank you for the visit and hope to welcome you again in the future.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

I am a 66-year-old Canadian woman who recently returned from an exceptional trip to Morocco organized by Hassan Amzil of “Trek in Atlas”. It was not your basic “cookie cutter” trip but rather a bespoke 11 day holiday for our family of three! It included a six day trek in the Imlil region of the High Atlas including the successful ascent of Jebel Toubkal! This was followed by 4 day ‘desert’ trip with Hassan as our guide. We had not planned it, but at the very last minute, Hassan quickly, but flawlessly organized our guided trip to the picturesque Cascades d’Ouzoud Waterfalls for our last day in Morocco.
Reasons our 6 day trek in the High Atlas was superb:
1. Hassan is from the Imlil Valley, and started his career as a muleteer so he knows the trekking trails intimately. He knows all aspects of the trekking business, e.g. cooking, handling mules, and arranging the most appropriate accommodation and drivers. Although Hassan speaks English very well, the High Atlas Berber Culture is his culture, and the money for your trek stays in the local community!
2. The food on the trek was outstanding! Really healthy food with lots of vegetables and fruit! Delicious tagines! While Hassan was our fabulous guide, Hussain was our fabulous muleteer and cook. We could not believe how elegantly we were fed! Even our lunches in the alpine meadows and forests were hot meals that were artistically presented.
3. We felt very privileged to be invited to Hassan’s traditional Berber home for a delicious dinner, cooked by his mother and sister.
4. Hassan is a professional mountain guide and is trained in first aid. An example of the ‘extra care’ for our safety, was the special arrangements for our summit attempt on Jebel Toubkal. Hassan arranged for an assistant to join us early in the morning in the dark. So, for the three of us, we had Hassan, the mountain guide, and also Hussain to especially help me! We all made it to the top! Hassan had also arranged for an extra mule in case anyone had trouble even getting to the Mountain Refuge where the climb starts. That same extra mule was available to ride back to Imlil if anyone was tired. (I rode the mule down!)
5. The price was very reasonable! Even with all the personalized attention, it was less than the ‘big’ companies.
6. There were no glitches! After a couple of days in Marrakech on our own, we were picked up promptly in Marrakech by Abdul – a superb driver and brought to a delightful guest house in Imlil that Hassan uses.
7. Hassan was always speedy about replying to my e-mails before we decided to use “Trek in Atlas”, and his excellent communication continued while we were in Morocco.
8. We had so much FUN!!!
Reasons our ‘desert’ trip was superb:
1. Our driver Jamal was very careful and competent, and we could stop where we wanted to!
2. We saw extra places like the inside of an active salt mine, and spent more time in being guided in places like the Palmeries, the outstanding gorges, Kasbahs, museums, and were given a demonstration of the effort the Saharan Berbers have made to get water!
3. A highlight was riding camels into the Sahara, and staying overnight.
4. Our stay at Dades Gorges was amazing. We had not booked this ‘desert’ area until we started trekking, so Hassan had to make arrangements quickly. He said the first thing he did was book us into his favorite place at Dades Gorges where the food was fantastic and the entertainment authentic and lively!
Indeed, Hassan just made our trip so special! So many laughs every day! We treasure the memories!

Thank Yukonfamily353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

I woul like to thanks you lot lot about your honest experience with us during your trip in morocco!. We alsways do our best to make our people feel in safety and special Holidays. Thank you for your visit to Morocco. Thank you for your Review, We are glad that you have had an amzing tour with Trek in Atlas Company. I hope to see you again one day or even more friends/Families. big Regards to Yukonfamily353 from Canada........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2017

It was an amazing four days’ trip from Marrakech to Sahara Desert. We were accompanied by tour guy Hassan and Driver Abdou. Our total times in Morocco were 8 days.

Hassan is very passionate about his jobs and care very much about his customers. Abdou was friendly and a reliable driver.

Throughout the trip we have learned about Barber life and cultures. Past by many small towns and villages. Walk through blossom almond trees farm beside a long clear river on a sunny day. Visited rose valley to looked/inhaled their magnificent rose products. Saw beautiful mountains sceneries and experienced warm spring season of Morocco.

It was an extraordinary experience. The only part I feel like I have left with regret was that we didn't get to stay at the desert long enough. We got to Sahara Desert about 5:30pm, stayed overnight and left the next morning about 9:30am. The camel guy wasn't very patient with us. In fact, I think he was quite rude in the end. (later on we learn that it was because we didn't tipped people often enough. so he kind of got an impression of that we won't tip him as well). We didn't want to missed getting on our only transport back to the car so we left in a hurry and didn't really get to enjoy the sun and desert itself (It was quite cold before 9am in the desert, it started to get warm after 9ish. It was very pleasant to lay on the cold sand and enjoy the warmth from the sun).

The luxury tent is definitely a good choice if you are looking for a more relax experience. Each tent has individual private shower and toilet. tents are made of thing wood cardboards and white fabrics. Each tent has two comfortable beds. I know some might say that it wouldn't be a night at the desert. It is simply not raw enough. But we were pretty happy to see these luxury tents after a long day drive and we thought it was money well spend (extra 50 pounds pp).

On the way back to Marrakech. Abdou and Hassan stop at a local village to buy dry dates and Henna. it was quite interesting to see the local market. our tour guy Hassan was very kind to share some Henna with us and got one of the girl from the hotel to make it into paste and draw it on our hands.

Last day of our trip we went for Ait Ben Haddou. The walk in old town is quite enjoyable. There were many shops and painters along the way. Then Hassan and Abdou took us back to Marrakech dropped off our baggage back to our Riad. And then went extra mile driving us to a spa place that we had appointments with.

Food wise, the restaurants they picked are all very clean and reliable with decent meals. You will see many other tourists as well.

Overall it was a very pleasant trip and I would recommend Trek in Altas Day Tours for people.

2  Thank Rosa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek in A, Owner at Trek in Atlas Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

I would like to thanks you Rosa for your mazing Review that you lift here for us! we are so glad that you all had an amzing trip with us. Thank you for your time and your visit Hope to welcome you again one day..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews