We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not 5*”
Review of Palmeraie Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmeraie Palace
Ranked #128 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good but not 5*”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Our four nights here were throughly enjoyable with excellant weather which always helps.
A lovely room overlooking the golf course and childrens play area - no, it wasn't noisy! Two balconies meant that we had both the morning and evening sunshine.
Breakfasts whilst not cheap were excellent - the usual buffet style continental with the added advantage of omelettes, fried eggs,and pancakes made to order. All eaten beside the pool accompanied by a Moroccan musician playing quietly. Sit in the sun or in the shade is your choice.
Evening meals were a bit of a disappointment as some of the restaurants weren't open and as the last hotel bus into town went at 18.00hrs it was an early start to go for dinner. And a taxi ride back (150 dirhams -about £13 plus tip) to be added to the bill.
The golf course has 3 x 9 holes and you play according to the starter. We had a 30% discount from Expedia - hotel guests get 25%, which makes a round of golf for 2 with a cart about £87.
It's a shame that the hotel doesn't run more courtesy buses into the Medina, especially at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    396
    157
    85
    88
See reviews for
287
375
41
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed at the hotel for five days in March 2012 as part of an incentive trip organised by the company I work for. Overall the trip was fantastic and both myself and the group I was with had an amazing stay. There are, however, one or two points I'd like to raise about the hotel.

In terms of the facilities, interiors and architecture of the complex, I couldn't fault it - there are several restaurants, bars & night clubs in the hotel grounds in addition to shops, a spa & gym and of course the golf course. My room was also of a very high standard - a large and extremely comfortable bed, well stocked mini-bar, bath robes & slippers.

However, this hotel is let down massively by its poor levels of customer service. Here are some of my experiences:

1) One morning at 9.22am I asked the bar tender at the poolside bar for a bottle of water. Despite the fact he had finished setting up the entire bar (and that the fridge in my direct view was fully stock with bottled water) he told me, "No. You must come back at 9.30". Slightly bemused, I took a seat and waited patiently for the next eight minutes, then at 9.30am I returned and once again asked for a bottle of water. He then looked at me and said, "No. You can't have water. I have no money in the till. You will have to wait until the till has change". I was absolutely stunned and outraged by this! If that was the case, why didn't he just tell me that when I asked for the water in the first place?! If this was a true 5* hotel the bar tender would have given me the bottle of water and perhaps have charged it to my room. Needless to say, I had to hunt for water elsewhere.

2) When it came to paying for the drinks I'd had from the mini-bar when we were checking out, both myself and other people in my group had several drinks added to their bill which had never been consumed. Perhaps the chamber maids were thirsty for mid-morning alcoholic beverages? If this had just happened to me, I would have brushed it off as a mistake, but this was too much of a coincidence for it to happen to a handful of people in our party. Be warned - make a note of exactly what you drank and refuse to pay if they charge you for more. Staff in a 5* hotel should not behave in this way.

3) The speed of service at the pool bar and also the main bar in the hotel was nothing short of appalling. You would order a drink, be told to sit down, and you'd be lucky if it turned up less than twenty-five minutes later. At first I thought they were slow as we were a large group, but this happened every time we ordered a drink (sometimes when I'd gone by myself). I dread to think what it would be like in peak season - you'd probably have to wait for up to an hour! Again, poor service for a 5* hotel.

4) Overall, I found the staff uninterested and unaccommodating. Service was rarely with a smile and at times you felt like you were intruding their party.

These are just some of my customer-service experiences. There are more, but I'd be here all day.

I think it's a real shame, as the hotel complex itself is top quality. If the customer service levels were improved, I'd be able to rate this hotel higher than just average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool or golf course/Atlas Mountain and on the first or second floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyLilliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel but did stay at the pool area and tried their buffet one day. Both of which were nice (costs about 320 dhiram for outside guests). The hotel is about 20mins car drive from the old town / medina and a cab should cost about 50-80 dhiram. If you take a cab back, I would suggest to just walk outside of the hotel complex where the cabs wait, because if you have the hotel lobby order you a cab, it will cost about 200 dhiram.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Spend six days with my family looking for some sun & golf after a cold and snowy winter in the Netherlands. The resort is beautifully situated in the Palmeraie area, close to but not too close to to the buzzing Medina; they operate a shuttle service on a regular base (5 times a day) to the Jemaa el Fna, which is the central square, if one wants to visit it. Except for the shuttle service we also used their taxi service (from and to the airport, and to the Jardin Majorelle), which is excellent (very punctual) but a bit pricey. Hotel rooms are well equiped and nicely furnished; on the downside WIFI reception is poor in the rooms (but good in the public spaces). Breakfast at the pool is good, service in the pool area could do better. The fitness center was exceptional spacious and wel-equipped (Technogym), best I have ever encountered! Pool area is designed well especially for children, the surrounding gardens are luscious and well-maintained. Golf was great and we enjoyed playing every day. Lunch facilities were limited during our stay, but Dar Ennassim is close by fortunately (separate review). All in all we liked it very much and will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Swimming pool view adds to the oasis-feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaumont-gistoux
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Second stay after first visit in 2011.Still impressed by the service level and kindness of the staff.Golf in excellent shape (first 9 could be better this year).Restaurants and spa super.

Room Tip: Better to select first or second floor to enjoy more light and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I booked a golfing break to the PGP through 'Golfbreaks.com'. I was a little concerned at some of the negative reviews here though.
In the event, such concerns were unfounded. Is this a 'genuine' 5 star hotel? Well, in terms of the facilities on offer yes, but in terms of the quality and 'finish' no, it would rate more as 4 star.
What it does offer however is attentive, friendly and polite staff, keen to assist you in any possible way.
It offers well proportioned rooms, with good furnishings and large very comfortable beds. Reception rooms that are spacious, well appointed and relaxing.
Restaurants that serve up good food, though at prices a far bit higher than I expected in Morocco.
We stayed in a 'golf' room, one of the smallest rooms, but we had a seating area, and small patio in a shaded garden spot. Whilst perfectly acceptable, the rooms on the higher floors with balconies and views are without doubt better positioned.
The pool area is very nice, it is relaxing and with good furnishings. The weather in late February was just about perfect, around 23c or 74f, warn enough to sit by the pool in complete comfort or play golf with heat stress. By night temps dropped of to around 6c, cool enough to make sleeping comfortable, without the need for the air con.
Housekeeping staff were very efficient in cleaning the rooms.
The hotel is about a 20 minute taxi ride from the old town of Marrakech, The ride should cost around 100 MAD.
Overall we were very happy with our stay and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have balconies with views, lower floors tend to have no effective view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Palmeraie Golf Palace for three weeks in February. We thought it was great. Our two objectives were warmth and golf and both were achieved. The golf course is a fair test, the greens were in good shape and we played most days. The caddies were a mixed bunch but on the whole we enjoyed the new experience of having a caddy. Most days it was warm enough to sunbathe by the pool. I can't think of one aspect of the hotel that disappointed us ; the room was large enough, the balcony and view stupendous towards the high Atlas, there was variety enough on the food front and the staff were friendly and helpful. The gym and indoor pool were first class. This is not a luxury hotel but it has character and is well appointed. We thought for the price we paid we got an excellent experience
The gardens are a feature of this hotel and they are impressive. Probably a bit quieter than we would have liked in the evenings but then again it was February. If you want to play golf in February in a warm climate,only 3 and a half hours from London, a not quite luxurious hotel - but good value for a lot of amenities The Palmeraie is recommended. We will recommend the Palmeraie to our friends

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Atlas mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#109 of 500 in Marrakech
903 reviews
4.4 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
7.9 km away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#75 of 500 in Marrakech
368 reviews
10.2 km away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#196 of 500 in Marrakech
733 reviews
7.9 km away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeraie Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeraie Palace

Property: Palmeraie Palace
Address: Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#186 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmeraie Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmeraie Resort's beating heart and flagship, the famous Palmeraie Palace is a hotel featuring traditional Moroccan architecture. Rewarded as Africa's best golf course, the hotel's golf course has won the World Travel Awards for 5 consecutive years (from 2006 to 2010). In 2014, the Palmeraie Palace has received the award as Morocco's Best Golf Hotel by the World Golf Awards. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and swimming pools, within easy reach of many restaurants and other entertainments, Palmeraie Palace is a touristic destination on its own. Just a few minutes away from central Marrakech, this charming hidden oasis is a promise for a refreshing and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palmeraie Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeraie Golf Palace Hotel Marrakech
Palmeraie Golf Palace And Resort
Palmeraie Hotel Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing