We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No worth to visit”
Review of Palais Riad Azukar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais Riad Azukar
Ranked #946 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Our bad experience from this hotel started from the very first moment. According to the terms of use of this hotel the airport transer was included, and after several messages about our arrival to the airport and the pick up with their bus, we 've been left for one hour waiting at the airport. At the end we had to take a taxi and pay it for ourselfs.
during our stay we changed three rooms because of the bad smell. The personal tried to cover the smell with candles and sticks but without effect.
the personal of the hotel was very helpful and polite but as we tried to contakt the owhner of the hotel to express our complains we received back just a cold shoulder.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fokas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palais Azukar V, Gérant at Palais Riad Azukar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Dear Sir, We understand that your flight was late but as agreed you did not send us an email to communicate that you would be late. Our driver waited for you for over half and hour. We are sorry that you were not able use our transport and that you are not happy with us. I assure you that if we had known of the tardiness, we would have made sure the driver remained until you arrived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2014

A group of friends stayed here for 2 nights, very helpful and kind staff, they even helped us find new accomodation when we wanted to stay longer, but the riad was already occupied. It si close to Djema El-Fna (5-10 minutes walk), staff helps you hire a minivan, and can organise trips to Sahara or other interesting places in Morrocco. Riad was exotic, clean, we would stay here again next time.
Some problems with water drainage after having a shower, but it is the same in all riads in that district, because of narrow sewage pipes. It helps if you close the water during the shower, and open it when you want to rinse :)

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife & I enjoyed a 4 night stay at Azukar. A little awkward to find but only because the Taxi driver pointed us in the wrong direction off the Square!! Staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful, they really couldn't do enough, even walking us to the Djemma El-Fnaa on our first morning to help us find our bearings. The Djemaa El-Fnaa & the Souks were nice & close (5 to 10 min walk) yet far enough that it is peaceful & quiet in the evenings. The Riad was well looked after & all in all we would definitely recommend & stay again if visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRSwap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When the taxi first pulled up to the location, we were a little worried if we were in the right place. The riad is located on a little side road off the advertised address but once you step inside, it's well worth the initial confusion! Staff are very friendly and accommodating, though you'd probably need some French knowledge to have meaningful conversations.
The small pool in the foyer helps to create a calm and soothing atmosphere. Roof top terrace is also another lovely place to relax, either at breakfast or during the day. The Riad is located close enough to Djemma-el-Fnaa to easily walk there everyday (which we did!) but far enough to not be disturbed by nighttime outings.
The riad, locals and general area are all lovely. Definitely hope to visit again!

Room Tip: Ensure you check the shower. We had a problem with one of ours having a funny smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely riad, niice staff. However is v difficult to find your bearings in relation to Djemma-el-Fnaa. We were dropped off in a taxi from the airport and were followed by a young bloke who was apparently guiding us 50m to where the Riad was, even though there was a sign and we didn't ask him for help. He then refused the $1 tip saying 'this is nothing', telling us he expected at least $5. Wasn't a great way to arrive.
Riad could do with giving guests a clear, easy-to-follow map from Riad to the Djemma-el-Fnaa. Each time we left we needed to ask people for help and directions ( really v labrynthine ) which ultimately led to them complaining about however much we ended paying them ($2). This made us dependent on goodwill/ bad temper of localsto get about and put us off staying in the medina again. The next time we went back we stayed in Djemma-el-Fnaa and had a much better experience.
Easily remedied by map given to hotel guests to aviod disorientation/ gettting into altercations with locals on the street..

Room Tip: Rooms first floor are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank siobhanmcfadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palais Azukar V, Propriétaire at Palais Riad Azukar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

In each room, you have a plan with a cross Medina Riad
Too bad your comment is not on the house.

In each room, you have a plan with a cross Medina Riad
Too bad your comment is not on the house.
Why do not you asked the team which is for you avoid problems!!
Amine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hard to find, it isn't on the street as advertised but if you turn left at Moulay Idriss you find it. Great location. Stayed a night through Groupon offer. Stunning décor and lots of art. Had dinner on the roof terrace which was lovely, food good and very relaxing. Room was interestingly decorated but bathroom cleanliness wasn't great and plumbing not the best.
Breakfast was pancakes, buns, croissants, fresh and enjoyable.
Haman was nice the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays_soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This place may be tricky to find when you first arrive but it is worth the effort. The Riad is beautiful, clean and quiet. All the staff are really helpful and kind, although most speak French only. The breakfasts are simple but the roof terrace is delightful. We would certainly stay again.

2  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 km away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 502 in Marrakech
962 reviews
0.7 km away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
1.4 km away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
3.1 km away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#206 of 502 in Marrakech
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Riad Azukar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Riad Azukar

Address: 84 Derb Lala Chacha Douar Graouwa, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #946 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palais Riad Azukar 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD Modern and trendy design is no more for elites!!!Azukar is the place for those in quest of discoveries and curiosities Located very close to the frantic Djemaa el Fnaa square, in a peaceful neighborhood; Riad Azukar has 8 rooms en suite with air conditioning, WIFI and Ipod Stations.Azukar also has living rooms, dining rooms, a bar and a swimming pool.Azukar has just been opened and offers excellent customer services such as restaurant, laundry, concierge, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Palais Riad Azukar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing