We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
37
14
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
14
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect oasis riad experience yogurt the main square within walking distance beautiful riad on arrival jams courtyard guide wifi morocco airport medina excursions
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 66 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Riad Dar el Assafir is large and comfortable. It has the atmosphere of a home, clean but with a lived-in feel to it. The management staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was very basic, the location is good and in walking distance of the main square. My group stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment which was comfortable with two queen and one twin bedroom and two baths. We were a bit cool but it was February and the nights were cold outside. Room heaters were available and made for comfortable sleeping temperatures. The shower water was hot with great pressure.

Our group stayed in Riads in most of the cities we visited in Morocco and Dar el Assafir was not our favorite, but is perfectly acceptable and the apartment works well for a large group that would like to stay together.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I want to say in advance, that I have been living and traveling all over the developing world for the past 12 years for business and for pleasure. While I love luxury hotels, I appreciate just as much as a modest pension run graciously. That said, our one night at the the Riad El Assafir was the singularly WORST hotel experience I have ever had. We arrived in the evening to Marrakech with my friend and our 4 children from 10 days of traveling through Morocco. We rented an apartment in the El Assafir that would accommodate all of us. When we entered the apartment, it was clear that it had not been opened or aired for quite some time as the staleness of the air was overpowering. We immediately opened the few windows the apartment and with the lights on, could see that the entire place was covered in a not so thin layer of dust and dirt. Moreover, the bathroom towels were dingy and dirty and the bathroom had not been cleaned. We called housekeeping and requested they come to clean the room and to change the sheets and towels. We left the hotel to have dinner and to walk around. When we returned, the room was seemingly untouched. We called housekeeping again and when they did not come we called down to the front desk. The manager argued with us on the telephone saying that the room had been cleaned and then came to the room and shouted at us that we were lying about the cleanliness of the room. We showed him the filthy towels and the dust and dirt everywhere. He left and came back with the owner of the hotel who proceeded to ask us to leave (at 9 pm -- 2 women with 4 children under the age of 10) if we did not like the standard of the hotel. He accused us of trying not to pay for the room -- which was pre-paid through our travel agent and made incredibly insulting comments about Turkey, and Turkish people. Both my friend and I live in Istanbul but neither of us are Turkish. These two men shouting at us, and threatening to throw us out of the hotel frightened our children terribly. We,of course, called our travel agent and demanded to be rebooked elsewhere but stayed in the apartment that evening as moving the children would have been very difficult. To say that the experience was terrible is an understatement. As for the hotel, it could be an incredibly beautiful place but the overall condition is very faded and run down. The decor of the apartment with simple upgrades, again could have been magnificent but unfortunately the linens, upholstery and fixtures are old and dirty. Between the condition and the attitude of the manager and owner of the hotel and with all the other amazing places to stay in Marrakech -- stay away from this place!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mizistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2009

This was heaven on Earth! The air conditioning was great and the room was wonderfully clean. Hotel staff pleasant and were able to assist with guides and advice. Located in a good part of town, we felt safe at all times. By American standards Marrakech is far from clean, but this place was an absolute jewel. The value was good and I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiesbadenCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2008

The best thing about this riad is the location, an easy 10 minute walk to the Jemaa but a bit out of the main flow. It has two lovely courtyards, with parrots in one of them and several cats. The staff was very friendly but spoke no English and wasn't able to be much help in making reservations etc. There are no phones in the rooms and the only phone/internet access is at the front desk. We had the big suite with three bedrooms and a TV room (hundreds of channels from all over the French and Arabic world) which was fun, but it was cold and dusty. Breakfast is wherever you want to sit, but there are only two inside rooms if the weather isn't fine. We didn't try the dinner, which is by arrangement. The mosque nearby is pretty loud, especially for the 4 am wakeup call. The place has a kind of homespun feel to it and is good value, the staff is sweet but the experience is not magical.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WestEndfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2007

This is a beautiful riad which seems to be in two parts - one with a swimming pool and the other a stunning tropical garden.We had an apartment with 3 charming bedrooms and various heaters to keep us warm. There were wood fires throughtout the riad which they would light for you if you wished. There was no english speaking host when we were there but the staff were helpful and delightful.Even in december we had a leisurely breakfast on the terrace.A beautiful, inspiring and restful place.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews