We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis within the bustle of the medina”
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #281 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis within the bustle of the medina”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a wonderful time at Dar Silsila, staying over a week. It is conveniently located near the Djemaa el Fna, and is a great base for exploring the medina of Marrakech. Dar Silsila, like a riad, is a traditional two-story Moroccan house built around an inner court yard, and it was an oasis to which we gladly returned each evening after an intense day out and about in the city. All the rooms are beautiful, set around the two courtyards, each with an individual theme and an overall Moroccan/West African feel. What made the stay special was the friendliness of the staff, including Fuad and Rizlane, and especially the kind help we received from the owner/manager Jean-Patrick, who helped us considerably by facilitating with all those tiny details that make all the difference between a good and a great vacation. We decided to have our dinners at Dar Silsila because it was delicious Moroccan food cooked to order, including great red wine. We also utilized the laundry services while we were there, and, as with everthing else, were very satisfied with our stay at Dar Silsila.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Perhaps ask to stay stay in one of the rooms around the first courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    76
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
80
380
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pain2sucre
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We hail from New York City and we just came back from a two-week vacation in Morocco. We decided to stay at Dar Silsila at the beginning of January 2012 because the online pictures were stunning. We can confirm that the pictures did not lie: the rooms are truly just stunningly beautiful! Quite spacious also. You will like the Memzhe room, with a nice lilac touch, view of the courtyard and a beautiful intimate feel to it. You will find it hard to leave the room. We also liked the friendliness and the professionalism of Jean-Patrick, the owner. He was helpful to us from beginning to end. He had a solution to all of our problems. He and his wonderful team really made our stay a very pleasant one. If you don't know your way around, Jean Patrick will help you plan your next move smoothly and effortlessly. Where the weary traveller might see obstacles in planning, Jean-Patrick offers helpful tips. This is really top-notch customer service. You feel right at home and that feeling is important after you spend your day bargaining over goodies in the Medina. In terms of access, we agree with the other reviewers: this riad is really well located. The main sites, such as Djemaa el Fna Square, are within very short walking distances. For longer distances around Marrakech, you can take a "petit taxi" (little taxis). Yes, please discuss the fare before you board! All in all, we would not do anything differently. It was smart to stay at Dar Silsila and you will agree with us when you come back from your upcoming trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pain2sucre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Beautiful riad. Service was excellent. Dinner at the riad was by far a favorite. Patrick was very gracious and personable. Wonderful staff and excellent location. Will definitely be recommending.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Dar Sisila is tucked away down an alley which seems off the beaten path but you will be thankful for when you need to escape the madness of the medina. Jean-Patrick is the most gracious host with a top of the line staff. He makes a point of visiting with the guests each morning after breakfast and helping them arrange their day. His staff even picked up a tagine for us because they knew they could get a better deal. They take note of your preferences and have them ready without comment of your noticing. I will be telling all my friends visiting Marrakech to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Wonderfully decorated rooms and a lovely courtyard and dining room/lounge. My friend and I found its location to be unbeatable. It is an easy 10 minute straightforward (In Moroccoan terms) walk to the Djeema and the souks. And only a few blocks away from the medina exit should you want to head to the new city or elsewhere. The staff was incredibly attentive down to remembering our beverage preferences for breakfast. Jean Patric, the owner, even offered to pick us up a tajine for our friend as he could get a better quality one at a much better price than would have been offered to us tourists. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlyzirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

A cozy and very clean riad. The staff is really friendly and always ready to help

Great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paloma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here in May last year. Its largely due to my own laziness that I never got round to making the review. Sorry Jean-Patrick!

This is one of the nicest hotels Ive ever stayed at. More that fit for purpose. We wanted something traditional and homelike. No TV etc. The rooms are more than excellent. The staff were superb. Jean Patrick and all the staff make you feel so welcome. it was one of they few occasions that I and my Wife were genuinely sorry to leave. Will def come back to morocco again and the only place to stay in my mind is the Dar Silsila.

We found it based on the recommendation of a friend and as usual he was bang on the money.

We stayed in the deluxe room and the superior room at the top of the road and both were perfect.

Its a riad thats a very short walk from the main square and from the moment you get there you know you are in the old town district. its what you want it you want authenticity.

Also worth noting that jean patrick somehow serves some of the best coffee I've ever tasted. not sure how he does it but in my view if you're a coffee lover like i am its worth staying at for that alone!

Room Tip: If you can up your budget a bit ask for the suite at the top of the building. stayed there and its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.9 km away
Riad Infinity Sea
Riad Infinity Sea
#128 of 500 in Marrakech
106 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,237 reviews
0.0 km away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,251 reviews
6.7 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.9 km away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#242 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing