We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liad back and organised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Al Faras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Faras
Ranked #886 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liad back and organised”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The Riad contacted me before I arrived and offered to organise airport transfers and excursions (on which we took them up). They were very quick to reply to my emails and clear about prices. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and general quiet atmosphere of the riad, given it's very central location (about 5-10 minutes walk to the Jmaa El Fna). There was occasional noise from the dawn chorus that kicked off about 6am every morning in the riad's courtyard, but we got used to this after the first night. The staff were friendly, unassuming and helpful and left us to get on with our stay (and because I'm not usually a demanding guest, this suited me fine), Breakfast was simple but adequate. On one of the days, the riad had organised a walking trip to Imlil (including taxis to and from Imlil, a guide and lunch). This cost 150 euros for two people, but was well worth it (particulalry for beginnner trekkers such as me). The guide, Mohamed, was very patient and experienced. Overall, I would heartily recommend this riad, as it is right in the heart of the medina, but far enough away from the noisy areas to allow you to have a decent night's sleep. Staff are courteous and pleasant.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Based on the information provided and reviews on another site (all glowing) we booked this riad as a treat, as it was more expensive than we paid elsewhere. One of the reasons we booked it was the swimming pool. This is actually more like a pond in the reception area. You could swim in it (lie about it in rather than actually swim) which would have still been fine, but it hadn't seen chlorine for quite a while and was going green. Plus it was a bit awkward the concept of wearing ones swimsuit in reception... And isn't in the sun (shady in internal courtyard). The room was very ordinary, but comfortable and clean. The ensuite was fine, other than that the shower backed up which is one of my pet hates, and that there was just a white muslin curtain instead of door to the ensuite, which would be OK with your partner, but as it was a twin room and we were 2 friends it was a bit weird to say the least. The roof terrace again was disappointing. Just 2 sunloungers that weren't so clean, part of the roof set up for the hotel laundry and the other part mostly covered in shade cloth. Plus we had to squeeze past spare beds on the landing to get on to the terrace. No view. There is a nice little salon area off reception that would be a nice place to read a book, sit and chat. The hotel prices everything in euros rather than dirham which was a bit difficult as we aren't familiar with euros. The prices were very high. A meal was 36 euros for 2 people, where as we ate at one of the most popular and best places in Marrakesh, with entertainment, for 190 dirham for the 2 of us including 2 drinks each (about 17 euros I think) and the next night paid 135 dirham for the 2 of us (about 12 euors I think) right on the square to have delicious tagine (the best we had in 3 weeks), canned drinks, a huge pot of mint tea and watch the world go by in the square. A hotel transfer was 15 euros (about 160 Dirham), where as we paid 50 dirham, which is the rate on the board at the airport that you should pay to the square. The riad is basically impossible to find and the hotel give no real directions. I've been to Marrakesh five times and have a great sense of direction and I had not a hope of finding it. It has no proper sign - just a small plaque on the door, it's in a bit of a dodgy area off the main square. A moroccan guy basically insisted that we follow him despite us telling him no, then got aggressive with us as he wanted money - we were happy to give him some money, but he wanted a lot of course. If the hotel staff were willing to be texted and meet you at cafe france (big cafe on the square) the first time then I would recommend that. I wasn't too happy that the hotel staff let this guy in the riad to argue for more money, altho they did eventually sort it out for us and apologise. The staff are absolutely lovely and are helpful, but just not there most of the time. Early breakfast was a problem for them, and there was just no one around most of the time. I am being very negative, but it wasn't really so bad - it just didn't meet up with our expectations, and certainly was not worth the price we paid compared to other places we stayed in. We paid about £44 for the 2 of us, where as the night prior we paid less than £10 for the 2 of us and the place was certainly not as nice, but not bad at all and a better location. We paid £40 for another riad just off the square that was in another class altogether and was truly a treat. This riad did have some nice thoughtful touches with decoration, reasonable towels, hot water, comfortable beds with bedside lamps. It is not quiet however as the call to prayer sounds like it is coming from a loudspeaker just outside your room in the early hours....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkitkatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

What a fantastic little Riad! This place was cheap and therefore you need to remember that you get what you pay for. However, we cannot fault it at this standard. Our room was lovely and spacious, it and the bathroom was very clean. Our room was cleaned properly everyday and the staff were so friendly. Youseff, the Manager was very kind and only too happy to help. He saved our bacon when were harassed by guides we had to pay to get back to the Riad (we got lost!!). They demanded more money and he sorted them out. He never tired of our constant, how much for this, how much for that, how do we tell if it is a good one etc etc. The ladies were also very nice, always smiling and their breakfasts........sooooo good. Best breakfast we've had so far! What a feast.

This place was a little oasis in the mayhem of beautiful Marrakech. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — The staff, location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Would have liked to see more of the staff, would have been nice to talk to them and thank them
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2007

I stayed here for 4 nights with my daughter and generally it was OK; the decor and general atmosphere were very nice and people pleasant enough, when we saw them!
The communication with the owner re booking was fine, but I'm not sure this was transmitted effectively to the people actually running the place: there was confusion about the payment upfront for the airport transfers, for example. The breakfast was OK, but not great. The main issue for me was the availability of anyone - we seemed to be on our own most of the time, usually coming back to what seemed to be an empty place; I was a bit worried about fixing up exact timings for our return transfer. We had the mobile number of the main guy but given the earlier confusion I didn't want to rely on tricky conversations over my mobile to get the flight home, costing me roaming rates. It would have been very tricky to find without my teenager who luckily has a direction finder installed in her brain, and the government needs to do something about the homicidal nutcases who zoom through the alleyways on motorbikes - no escape for pedestrians- although this wasn't the Ryad's fault.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Wigginsbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London. UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2007

Riad Al Faras was in a great location (a 5min walk to the medina) and was a decent price. It was clean and the breakfast was one of the best we had. I was picked up at the airport as arranged. This riad was by no means 'flash' but it was beyond basics and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2006

We had two rooms here and it was ok for one night.

Its in a great location just 5 minutes walk from the main square but out of the 3 riads we stayed in Marrakech this one could not compare to the others and I would rather be a bit further out and enjoy a nicer stay.

The rooms were ok and were clean but a bit dark. The price was exactly the same as the other riads (Bayti and Amira) but no way as near as good value.

Breakfast was included and was the worse we had in the whole of Morocco. One small cold pancake. Everywhere is had croissants, pancakes, juice, yoghurts, bread and jams etc. We had to go and buy food outside which was not the case anywhere else.

Fine for a short stay if you are not going to spend too much time in the room.

Its main selling point is the location.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspinkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
7.7 km away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
544 reviews
0.5 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
1,169 reviews
1.3 km away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#75 of 494 in Marrakech
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#281 of 494 in Marrakech
108 reviews
1.1 km away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#83 of 1,130 in Marrakech
284 reviews
6.3 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Faras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Faras

Property: Riad Al Faras
Address: 35 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Faras 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Moroccan house is located close to famous Jamaa El Fna Square (five minutes walking), in the heart of the best neighbourhood of the old Marrakech: The medina and its souks. This Riad has 6 rooms stylishly decorated to combine simplicity and comfort. The helpful staff at the guest house will be happy to organise a range of activities on your behalf such as cooking lessons. The staff members enjoy welcoming travellers from all over the world : lovers, families, friends or groups. Each room is decorated differently with charm and authenticity and has private bathroom and toilet facilities. The whole upper-floor is air-conditioned. You will appreciate the swimming pool in the patio and the nice roof terrace, where you may relax or enjoy some meals. Services : WiFi free access Meals (lunch or dinner) available on request Snacking Airport transfer available on request Blankets, fresh linens, pillows & towels are provided Activities in the Riad : Moroccan cooking lessons, diners with classic musicians, introduction to oriental dance, … Bedrooms: “Croissant de lune” : twin room, with 2 single beds, on the upper floor “Ciel d’ailleurs”: double room on the ground floor, “Caravane”: double room on the ground floor, “Etoile du Sud”: double room with four-poster bed, on the upper floor, “Reve d’Orient”: suite with four-poster bed, on the upper floor, “Deux mille et une nuits”: suite with four-poster bed on the upper floor. The staff could also help you for organizing activities such as excursions, horse-riding, hikes in the Atlas mountains or the desert, golf, hammam . . . Groups & Exclusive Use The Riad can receive up to 15 guests and can be hired exclusively, whether for a corporate event, hent party, birthday, or just a great opportunity to escape with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Riad Al Faras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing