We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“miserable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mogador Palace Agdal
Ranked #396 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“miserable hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

hi all,

me & my girlfriend stayed here in june 2011, the hotel is clean and tidy 5 star is a push!

the staff here were plain rude & miserable! getting a cup of tea in the morning at breakfast was lke asking for them to shine my shoes.

it has a free bus into the centre however the guy behind reception was useless at guessing when it went!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jallison1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    203
    150
    101
    134
See reviews for
217
243
25
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Great hotel with big rooms, huge bathroom and nice staff if you ask at the right person.
Very good breakfast.
The hotel is in a new part of the city and close (five minutes walking) to a Mall with Carrefour, twenty restaurants including TGI Fridays, Pizza HuT, Domino's pizza,etc and few clothing shops.
The taxi trip to the center of the city is 20DH (about 2€) but you have to fight fo rthat price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room faced to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gafas-Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Having just returned from this hotel, I was wary after reading bad reviews from certain people who seem to have more of an issue with Marrakech rather than the hotel, as there is nothing to complain about the hotel.
We had a poolside room, very quiet, spotless and large with a lovely view over the lagoons. The food was great, breakfast was faultless, lots of fruit and hot options. Dinner too, a choice of two tajines, also a european option, salads that were a work of art. The pastry chef excelled, wonderful deserts and homemade breads. The location is perfect, a five min cab ride from the mayhem of the souk,(£4.00) 50.00 dh. You arrive back at the hotel and it is tranquil and calm. There are building works going on by the side of the hotel but compared to the souk you hardly notice.
The hotel is dry, but the supermarket is up the road, try the Morrocan rose and red, great.
Get back after your day out, have dinner and relax in the gardens on your terrace sip your wine, relax and enjoy it. Its great value for money this hotel, ignore the whingers.

Room Tip: Be pleasant, be nice, be patient. It always works
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank garyb084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

wasnt sure what to expect but hotel is gorgeous...staff are very polite and helpful. always tryna build rapport. dinner was really good especially the dessert. huge beds could have 4/5 average sized ppl in it. bathroom had both shower and bath so always good. room service was on point. i advise u brush up on ur french tho cos personally i did struggle only because i cudnt speak a word of french to save my life. i'd also recommend the daily excursions run by the hotel. always a good idea. shuttle bus also runs hourly from the hotel to the city center free of charge. save u some cab fares. no alcohol tho for the alcoholics out there...im assuming its cos of religious reasons but theres a carrefour (mall) 5 mins away that sells booze which u r allowed to have in ur room. woop woop. receptionist always helpful. very huuugggeee hotel with a chandlier at the front reception as big as a range rover...no joke...free wifi

Room Tip: room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edmund_bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Where do I start.... We had 3 changes of room in the space of 24 hours. First they gave us an awful room overlooking a really busy road, then a room with only 1 bed & finally, only after creating a fuss and demanding to talk to the manager did we get a room overlooking the pool with 2 beds. The reception staff were appaling, rude and utterly unhelpful. My friend & I were standing by reception when a guy (who has just written a review on the site) reported his camera missing. We had to constantly lock everything into the safe because obviously belongings are not safe in this hotel! Every single room we were put into was falling apart at the seams. Broken windows, chairs, lights, showers etc. This hotel is certainly NOT 5 stars, 2-3 at most. The breakfasts were absolutely awful, coffee was undrinkable. Watch out everyone! they recycle the food that is not used again & again. If you don't want an upset tummy then avoid all food at this hotel. The shuttle service from the hotel was totally unreliable & was always overcrowded and late. The driver even turned up drunk one day and was allowed to drive us into town! The pools are nice, but the music played in the pool area is far too loud, people come to the pool to relax, not to be deafened. There is also a lot of noise from building work nearby. On the plus side, the pool staff were friendly and some of the other staff at the front door were also nice. On the whole, avoid this hotel like the plague, there is obviously a 2 tier system with European guests who being treated as second class citizens.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kabby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Beware of the "friendly" cleaners as they will not hesitate to rob you if the opportunity presents itself. I left my digital camera loosely in my bag that had mostly clothes in it and they managed to steal it from me during my absence for breakfast. I lost all the pictures from my 4-day trip which pretty much ruined the end of the stay in the country. I complained at the reception and the way they dealt with the situation was absolutely appaling and certainly not "5 star". Not only do they not give a damn about you and your missing stuff but they also try and convince you that you might be delusional!! I decided to make their life quite difficult as a result and asked them to take me to the police to declare my camera as stolen. I had to pay for the taxi back and forth to figure that the police would not do anything until the hotel solves the problem themselves!! They decided to investigate the matter and came up with dates and times of room door openings (i only spent one night there) and concluded that I was delusional (it was a word document that i could have done myself...)!! At this point I figured I would never get my camera back despite my efforts to give the cleaner who did this an "opportunity" to magically find it somewhere under the bed! and gave up. In short I figured they cover each other up and try and make a fool of you to discourage you to go after them a little harder. Those people are complete thieves and have no morals.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed here with a women-only tour group. The entrance to the hotel with it's ginormous chandelier is pretty impressive (as was the pool, thou too cold to swim in winter). Or room was neat and clean, but pretty far from the lobby so it was a bit of a trek getting there. Also, we had a room facing the street so hearing traffic all night was a bit challenging for sleeping. The food was ok. The hotel was a bit far away from Djemma El Fna, so we had to drive to get there.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Travel_Femme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#225 of 499 in Marrakech
625 reviews
3.8 km away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#314 of 499 in Marrakech
508 reviews
0.2 km away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#195 of 499 in Marrakech
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#392 of 499 in Marrakech
430 reviews
4.4 km away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#318 of 499 in Marrakech
398 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
#216 of 499 in Marrakech
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Palace Agdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Palace Agdal

Property: Mogador Palace Agdal
Address: | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Ryad Mogador Agdal)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#213 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mogador Palace Agdal 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakesh, in front of the ramparts of the former Royal Palace and Agdal Gardens, the Ryad Mogador Agdal Hotel & Spa is about ten minutes from the airport, Jamaa El Fna Square and other downtown attractions . A free shuttle is available to reach the main places of interest of the ocher city. It features two large outdoor pools with an area of 2000 m2 each, a spa with an indoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, a hot tub, a hairdressing salon and a fitness to relax during the stay of the guests. Free of charge Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. Its traditional architecture and exterior walls give it an irresistible charm that people can find in the public areas, guest rooms and suites. Very spacious, all guest rooms are equipped with large private terraces overlooking the pools and gardens of the hotel, the city, or even the Atlas mountains. Guests can find comfortable bedding, air conditioning and a bathroom with a bath and shower for their convenience. People can enjoy quality food in the many restaurants serving traditional Moroccan and international cuisine. Buffets and snacks at the pool are also at the disposal of the guests. The property has non-alcoholic bars and tea lounges where people have the opportunity to enjoy the captivating flavors of Morocco and its traditions. For small or big events, the property offers a conference center that can accommodate up to 3000 people with an amphitheater of 1600 seats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mogador Palace Agdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Agdal Hotel Marrakech
Ryad Mogador Agdal Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing