We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Ranked #75 of 1,165 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This riad is great value and is decorated in a simple but beautiful style, without the intricate decorations of other riads but with lots of good taste. The rooftop terrace is amazing, and I'm still dreaming about the breakfasts they serve. Our room was very nice and perfectly clean, the only issue we had was noise from the inner courtyard being heard quite loudly... This was only an issue when some of the louder guests were present, but still it made sure we got up quite early in the morning! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is fantastic: you're right next to the northern part of the souks but you also have an easy route that'll get you to Jemaa El Fna in 10 minutes without fear of getting lost in dark streets in the medina on the way back in the evening. Being close to Dar el Bacha gives you an easy reference to get there by taxi, and from there it's just 5 minutes walking and quite easy once they explain it to you. We also liked that the neighbourhood doesn't feel too touristy, there are a few expensive restaurants but mostly it's just locals going about their business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise_CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

If you want to stay somewhere with rustic charm and with typically moroccan decor this will be for you. Excellent location but be prepared to get lost finding your way home through the souks very close by. The best points about this accommodation are the wonderful helpful staff and superb breakfasts. On the negative side - due to the style of accommodation i.e open plan wooden doors onto ornate terraces - sound travels terribly - the staff arrive early in the morning and the phone rings from 8am.

Room Tip: Upper floor may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Riad Baraka and Karam are separate riads but connect on the first floor. I stayed in Riad Baraka during November with my partner and paid approximately £60.00 per night for B&B.

The Riad is in a fantastic location within the Medina with a 10 minute walk either through the souks or along the main road to the Square. The bus station is also a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction and if you wish to leave the medina and head towards the new town, a further 15 minutes.
The Riad is very clean and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is ample although the coffee is limited to one and a bit cups each. Extra coffee is 15dirhams each. We took advantage of the inhouse menu and booked an evening meal - the food was probably the best we had during the stay. Rooms are numbered 1 - 5. Room 1 and 2 are are on ground floor, 2 and 3 on the 1st floor and room 5 is on the roof and opens onto the terrace.
Room 5 was great during November however I would imagine during the warmer months it may be too hot in which case the coolest rooms would be 1 and 2.

The views from the terrace are amazing both day and night. The Riad is surrounded by other holiday rentals as well as local homes so it is interesting to sit and simply people watch !
The approach to the Riad was initially a concern, being a labyrinth of dark alleyways however after a couple of outings it was easy to remember. I did feel uneasy in the dark but during our week stay we did not have any bother.

If I were a lone female then I would not consider this Riad simply because the location can be a little unnerving however with friends or as a couple then it is a great little find.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DBBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at Dar Baraka - whilst it is quite basic the rooms are small but perfectly formed. Great location and proxmity to the main sqaure and breakfast on the roof is awesome. Staff were really friendly and the whole place has a great rustic charm. Fantastic bolt hole for a city break to Marrakech

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Booked through an offer with BA, 25th-29th September 2011. On arrival you walk down an alleyway (right, right, walk past the sleeping cats, then right again, number 18). You get no idea as to what you are entering apart from a nice door. What greets you is a really beautiful Riad. The very helpful staff show you to your room, we stayed in room 4, it was well decorated, comfortable beds, air-conditioning & an excellent bathroom. Safe was provided free of charge. I couldn't believe how quiet it was there, especially that Marrakech is very busy. It is about a ten minute walk to the main square which was fine. I now want to have breakfast on the roof everyday as it was a wonderful way to start your day.

I really couldn't fault the staff or the Riad as they far exceeded my expectations. Would not hesitate in recommending to anyone considering a visit.

Added bonus of free WIFI in the Riad which enabled us to plan other activities on Trip advisor.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 4, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boardaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked this riad through British Airways as a package and I have to say the experience was excellent .
Dont be put off with the first impression as this riad is tucked in a narrow street but its very central and an excellent location to get to the square (Medina) and the souks by foot just 10-15 minutes walk .

The Riad itself has unique and antique rooms with excellent facilities .
You will feel like heaven when you walk in after your heavy day out trust me its mad out there but in a good way .

We went in Aug 2011 and it was 38-40 degrees burning hot so the only down fall is that there is no swimming pool but if you can live with that then this is the place to go .

There is an open air balcony with cozy cusions where you can relax with a nice cup of mint tea at night
The house keeper Ahmed is very helpful and will assist with anything you require .
The Riad offers Hamam and massage a must try experience was great .

Overall If you are looking for a quiet stay amongst the madness of Marakkesh then this is the place .

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic try to get the first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinz006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Riad is lovely and very well done. The staff are very kind and attentive. Breakfast was superb, the location was good since it was off of the main area where the souks and Djemma al Fna are but close enough that you could be there in 10-20 mins walk. You definitely feel like you are living in a local neighborhood while you stay there. The rooftop is amazing on a sunny day. We would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefeskisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#209 of 501 in Marrakech
207 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
1.0 km away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#14 of 1,165 in Marrakech
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#63 of 1,165 in Marrakech
283 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Nasreen
Riad Nasreen
#83 of 1,165 in Marrakech
245 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,165 in Marrakech
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 1,165 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $80 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you know the real meaning of "baraka?" It is "benefit!" A name which fits this remarkable building like a glove. Reknowned for its fine architectural detail, the "pièce de résistance" of this beautiful building is the lounge, adorned with an ornately painted ceiling, an ideal place for a candlelit dinner! This medium-sized riad comprises 5 bedrooms surrrounding a central courtyard with fountain. A split-level roof-terrace provides a magnificient view of the gardens of Dar El Bacha, the ancient palace of Glaouiet and the celebrated minaret of the Katoubi mosque. To complete your relaxation, a hammam and choice of massages are available. If this house is not enough to delight, then Dar Karam awaits to further seduce you with the charms of Moroccan hospitality. To provide more spacious accommodation the two houses may be booked as one. This riad, restored in respectful keeping with its surroundings, is a model of sobriety and elegance. Five charming bedrooms, traditionally furnished, once again open onto the central courtyard with fountain. Another beautiful lounge with a magnificient traditionally painted ceiling positively calls for dinner by candlelight! The split-level roof terrace shared by the adjoining Dar Baraka offers the same fine view of the gardens of the Glaouiet Palace and the famous minaret of the Koutoubi mosque - an ideal spot for stargazing at the end of a stimulating day in Marrakech! A traditionally decorated beldihammam and massage spa are also on hand to provide all you need to alleviate the strains of daily life. Ground Floor - 2 bedrooms - B'hou opening onto the courtyard 1st Floor - 2 bedrooms ( 1 with shower, 1 with bath) - Lounge with fireplace & painted ceiling - Gallery Terrace - Furnished with chairs, cushions and coffee tables - 1 bedroom (with shower) - Hammam option of adding an extra bed in 3 bedrooms option of furnishing the bedrooms with 2 single beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing