We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Charming”
Review of Jnane Leila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jnane Leila
Ranked #550 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I booked this hotel through I-escape.com . I emailed Nizar to ask a few questions and he promptly responded, also booked the hotel shuttle to pick us up from the airport.
The rooms are traditional and charming. The grounds are well kept and quite beautiful.
I was disappointed that there was no complimentary bottled water in the room - something you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
Breakfast consists of two pancakes and a peace of sponge cake, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee (no tea). I would have preferred a platter of eggs, cold meats, cheese olives and fruit etc.
Lunchtime and dinner menu are the same. We tried quite a few different meals and they are of a good standard. The service however is very poor and slow. The staff are pleasant and polite but could do with a little customer service training. I would suggest they visit the Indian restaurant inside Les Jardins de la Koutoubia where they will witness excellent customer service all for similar priced meals. They just need to be a little more attentive and be aware of customers. They also need to speed up somewhat. Ordering beers at the poolside often took up to half an hour for them to be brought to us.
If you want a peaceful and relaxing time then this hotel is for you. We found it perfect for a quick break for some winter sunshine.
All said and done we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meatfleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2011

A luxurious place in a magic and pleasant decoration. Thanks to Houda and Sylvain for their warm welcome.
An address to be kept and to share affectedly. A welcome services of the most pleasant, the staff is present. Thanks to Nizard for his accompaniment throughout our stay. The pool, the places, are heaven of peace. The menu of the restaurant is magnificent. A place between cousin to preserve in the memories!!!
An access in the heart of Marrakesh easily accessible by taxi or bus and not too far from the frenzy jemma el fna place... I love this place...Houda and Sylvain encore un grand Merci :)))

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefanytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I have just come back from 5 nights at Jnane Leila and could not imagine having had a better time. Having read the review below hours before arriving I was terrified that I had made a huge mistake. The manager of the hotel spoke brilliant English and nothing was too much trouble from car hire to organising a driver too and forth from the airport. The food was good and well presented and perfectly reasonable in price, the rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, clean towels and sheets every day. There are a lot of staff maintaining the beautiful garden all of whom were polite and friendly always offering to carry bags or point you in the right direction if you needed something. I can not reccommend this hotel enough, don't be put off by the vast "waste lands" around it this seems to be a fairly standard vista on the outskirts of Morocco and is soon forgotten once you are within the walls of the beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

PLEASE READ THIS...We booked to stay at the jnane leila in september to stay for four nights all booked and paid via LAST MINUITE .COM all good until we arrive at the hotel when the manager had to go and get the two owners.
After hearing raised voices we were told that we had no resevation at the hotel.
At this time it was after 8pm we were hungry and tired from our travels.
we were told that the owner had told the manager to not accept our booking as lastminute.com had not paid the previous months bookings which would then affect all of Octobers bookings with the hotel including ours.
after discussions and proof of our acceptance of booking plus proof of our payment we were given a room and told the situation would be resolved by 10 am in the morning.
In the morning we called lastminute to be told that we had indeed paid and booked the 4 nights with the hotel.
we then tried to get hold of the manger or owner as by this time it was 10 am again we tried every 15 minutes until 11.45am where we managed to track some one down.
we then were rudly spoken to by the owners with them saying it is ok it is ok, well wasting our whole morning of our holiday it was not ok ok and it was not there fault etc and they did not use lastminute.com? they use lastminute.france!!(lastminute.france does not exsist as lastminute.com is a world wide service) honestly are we english really brain dead looking? even with paper work!! at this point the manager was trying very hard to find us alternative accomodation for our holiday. As they were fully booked on our last night.
We had to change rooms for the following 2 nights, we incountered a broken toilet a broken TV and a very un powerful shower my watering can could do better.
The noise of dogs in the waste land to the back and sides plus pasing traffic kept us awake all night.
The last night we were kept awake by comings and goings from our neighbours room, then rudely awaken at 6.45am with a loud and contineous banging on our door. we were confronted by a man in an agressive manor to find out he was after the occupaints of the next room. After watching who came out of the room we found that they were ladies of the night to be polite with the pimp collecting them.(hard to believe but very true) We then were told we could stay the night for the last night in the room we saw the ladies of thenight leave so politely said we would rather take the suggested hotel that was reserved for our last night as previously agreed. This was also agreed to be paid by the Jnane Leila owners as we had paid for 4 nights not 3.
This hotel would have been beautiful at one point but since the new owners took over the hotel 3 months ago you can see the garden has been neglected and furnishings starting to become tired from neglect.
the constant raised voises of the owners to the staff in full view of the customers begain to inflict stress on the customers and staff in return, not a place to relax in any terms.
as hoteliers our selves I can not imagine why such people are in any way working with the general public, they have no grace or understanding to what hospitality is all about.
the owners would be much more welcomed in the brothel industry where they seem to
like being a part off as they use there hotel for these purposes.
Now at our new hotel which was so beautiful and calm in comparison we relaxed to then hear the same agressive voices in very close proximity.
I knew at this point they arrived to discuss not paying our bill. after overhearing that we were awful guests unaccomodating and liars, this finally made my 4 day break a break from hell. we absolutley can not understand there views on the way they run their business and never will as it is so unreasonable.
We ended up paying for our new hotel which was hugely expensive, again they chose it for us and probably knew they would do this making us very out of pocket.
I suggest you avoid even trying this hotel unless you relax easily with stress and LADIES OF THE NIGHT.
I also suggest you tell as many people as possible to stop any one else having the same unhappy holiday as we had.

PLEASE STAY AWAY !!!!! IT IS THE BEST ADVICE I CAN GIVE YOU.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mathieu_eke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We just back from our 8 nights at JL. Surely a nice and romantic place to stay. A replica of a tipical morocco village, 12 suite around a fresh and pleasant garden. In the middle a real pearl.. A real pool ( little cold but usefull after a day at the Medina) where to swim. The owners, a sweet french-morocco couple manage this inns from june 2010. All the guys work there are kind and try to help u as they can. JL is just a 7 km from Medina and whit taxis, easy to find, in 10 minutes and 5 /8 € u are downtown. Room was really nice. No big probs. We suggested the boss to ask the staff to have more attention to the room set up. Missed us sometimes towels, shampoo and body foam. The restaurant food taste good but maybe too expensive. The garden is watered and cleaned up too early in the morniong whit some noise, but it worth.. Any day new plants and flowers have their home in this land paradise! We from Italy, sorry for poor english.. (Kisses to Sofie from Greta..) w

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Nice atmosphere,clean rooms,staff generally very helpfull and pleasant.But food disappointing! Let's the whole place down.The breakfasts were poor quality and repetative,and evening meals were also similar,and sometimes not available, and v expensive for what they were,i get the feeling that they were not prepared on site,(only heated up,or fried).Best to eat out if you want truely authentic and varied food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We visited Jnane Leila in November 2007 and began our stay there initially for 2 nights but stayed longer as it was so beautiful and comfortable and the staff were fantastic and friendly, I can't say enough about the managers who even helped us find a fantastic deal on a hotel in Agadir which was where we decided to go onto as the weather turned and the rains arrived, so following the sunshine at that time of year was wonderful. Still in the early 80's most days.
The pictures you see of Jnane Leila are true to life, the dear gentleman who comes to light the many candles in the lanterns all around the pool and gardens each evening, the friendly courteous staff in the restaurant serving delicious food, the rooms and outdoor areas are simply beautiful....it's aliitle way out, 10 mins drive in a taxi, very easy to get outside the bigdoor, not too much, £10 return, but really worth it if you want to hear lots of birds singing in the morning at breakfast and find yourself in a picturesque garden rather than on the rooftops near the square, but equally that is fabulous too, we have done that a few times , but we wanted abit more space for our child to be able to run and play - which happened freely and safely and in and out of the lovely pool - rather cool but then it does get hot there!!!
All in all, we thought this was a real gem and we were so glad we found it.
Wholly reccomended!

Thank WalesSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
6.9 km away
Dar NanKa
Dar NanKa
#176 of 501 in Marrakech
165 reviews
4.9 km away
Rose Sultan
Rose Sultan
#242 of 501 in Marrakech
220 reviews
2.4 km away
Riad Jawad
Riad Jawad
#405 of 1,167 in Marrakech
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Coco Canel
Coco Canel
#223 of 1,167 in Marrakech
184 reviews
11.7 km away
Le Cazar
Le Cazar
#1 of 2 in Tameslouht
180 reviews
2.0 km away
La Ferme Berbere
La Ferme Berbere
#155 of 1,167 in Marrakech
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Leila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Leila

Address: 353 bd Med VI | Route de l'Ourika KM 6.5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #550 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $112 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jnane Leila 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jnane Leila is a guest house, restaurant & SPA, including a large swimming pool, gardens, a snack bar at the edge of the swimming pool and a barbecue, WIFI. The style is typically Berber, which makes of it an authentic guest house. The rooms and suites are bungalows, made out of cob (tatebbante) and the walls are covered with tadelakt, a typically Marrakesh material. We have 5 senior suites , 2 junior junior, 4 double rooms and 1 single room. The senior suites contain 2 terraces ( outside looking onto the swimming pool and internal which acts as patio). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jnane Leila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Leila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing