We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Selena C

Lovely Marrakech Trip

Review of Riad Goloboy
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 28, 2018
Goloboy is a lovely spot for a trip in Marrakech. It is in a perfect quite location, not far from the main square but away from chaos and cars. Me and my friend Alessia we had a lovely time, the place is safe and the neighbourhood is family based, kids playing in the street and relaxing atmosphere.

The staff is lovely and really helpful, the interiors are modern and well designed, The space is clean, the terrace is an amazing place, with a wonderful view of the Atla mountain. (Atlas a must to visit).
We also very enjoyed the breakfast, salads, tajine and cous cous! Addicted to the biscuits in the reception.

For sure will go back to Marrakech.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$147
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Pool
C$348
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$348
1.1 km from Riad Goloboy
Restaurant
Room service
C$379
C$336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
10.2 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$276
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$420
C$363
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$420
  • Priceline
18.1 km from Riad Goloboy
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    C$159
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$272
  • Expedia.com
    C$390
4.7 km from Riad Goloboy
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Marrakech
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
92
22
6
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
92
22
6
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews min walk beautiful riad hamid rooftop mamounia taxi morocco alley medina palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 129 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2017

The place is absolutely perfect, if you wan't to live close to the city and still have a peaceful and quiet place to relax when you’re not out and about.
The employers are so friendly and helpful and will help you out with just about anything you ask them for. Nicer hosts are difficult to find!

Room tip: The rooms I saw where all very nice and charming.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LisaHjuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

When we arrived, we were shocked go be left at a crowded local pedestrian walk and had to go through 800m into small alleyway to get to the riad. Apparently this is common if you stay in the old city. We felt safe in the riad, but not outside of it(the small alleyway and the city marrakech itself as there were so mang hustlers in the city) but all in all our stay in the riad is very good. All 3 staffs were friendly , warm, made us feel welcome and one of the staff who's also the chef , prepared surprisingly good meals for dinner and breakfast. I stayed in riad fez after riad goloboy, but i have to say that goloboy's pancakes during breakfast topped even the 5 star riad fez'!!! The chef at goloboy certainly cooks with his heart & that shows :)

Room wise , we stayed in majorelle & tatus suite. Spacious and nice, however a little dusty floor since they dont have enough staffs.

All in all, although we avoided going out at night because of the 800m deep small alleys to get there, we felt very welcome & safe in goloboy. Pick up was punctual , food was very good & reasonably priced.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

The riad has a very lovely lobby and roof deck, good breakfast and an okay staff, that’s it.
The management pictures only showed their best rooms but what was given to us was the tiniest and ugliest room of the riad. Our room has maybe about a meter space from the edges of the bed to the walls, we can barely move around because we have our luggage open at the foot part of the bed and water is dripping from the aircon. We didnt even bother taking pictures. We only stayed over night & we are exhausted from our desert tour that we chose to take shower & rest than to be moved to a different room & carry our luggage ourselves, bec if there was another available room maybe they’ll let us stay there.
This time, not worth our money for the stay overnight.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank mayasotigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mcrak, Directeur général at Riad Goloboy, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Good evening , thank you for your comments and I m sorry about this experience . Please note absolutely all our rooms are on pictures , and you had the room you choose . I understand the room was to small for you , our small room are at 50/60e per night including breakfast, TV, amazing beds , cell phone, full service .... the small rooms are 18sqm as you can reading also on your booking ...
We always upgrade our customers when we have availability .
Hope to welcome you again one day in our larger suites ...
Kind regards .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

Riad Goloboy can be recommended for it's friendly staff, clean and quiet rooms. The rooftop breakfast is comfortable especially if you go early. Location is good BUT make sure you pick your landmarks and chase these landmarks when you want to find your way back - especially after dark. The reason I gave the Riad a 4 was due to the VERY SLOW internet. My bank timed out and I could not pay my staff on time. I only did that once I arrived at Fez. We booked our tour through Plan-It l-Morocco- we arrived at midnight by air from Barcelona and next to Kuala Lumpur this is the slowest Immigration yet experienced in many years of travel. Our transfer arranged by Plan-it-Morocco waited for over an hour and 30 to take us to our Riad. Their service there after was as good. On time and in clean vehicles.
The Walking Tour was also arranged by them and our tour guide was very experienced and had a good knowledge of the Medina with very good English. This man is a professional and it shows. Our later - early morning transfer to the train station to take our train from Marrakesch to Fez was on time. We had tickets and transfers all arranged by Plan-It-Morocco and recommend them. It takes the stress and worry out of your day. Had we not used their transfer from the airport we may still be at the mercy of the taxi driver. The Riad was difficult to find on your own - through small narrow lanes and at one'o'clock in the night would have been very scary. I include some pictures of the walk down the lane to our Riad as well as some pictures of the building and surrounds. Some rooms are more luxurious than other but I guess it is what you pay is what you get. The breakfast pictures are exactly what you get. The fresh fruit and freshly (in season) orange juice is a great start to the day. The coffee is real - not powder instant. We saw the Spa on the roof TOP but it was covered. We had one day of over 40 and a cooling off period in a spa would have been great. We had a flat screen TV in our room but for some reason we only had CNN and Al Jazeera for the first two days then we only had German channels. We feel that May is starting to get hot. April may be better. Our aircon in our room worked very well albeit just a little noisy. All the rooms as per traditional Morocco style face inwards to the central quad. This removes all outside noises. The walls in the building is some 500mm thick built from bricks and clay so it keeps a lot of heat out.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

We stayed there for 2 nights. very nice atmosphere. Well renovated historical house. So kind staffs. The roof sitting area was very nice. Good breakfast and tasty Moroccan tea which was always ready.
If I come back again, I will go to this Riad again.

Room tip: every rooms has its own character and different sizes. all of them were clean and excellent.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews