We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julie
Kyiv, Ukraine

WORST SERVICE IN MY LIFE. WORST HOTEL IN MOROCCO. NEVER GO HERE!

Review of Riad Goloboy
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 3, 2018
This hotel was the biggest disappointment during trip in Morocco! I have never met such ugly and rude staff ever.

Before coming to Marrakech we asked our local guide to call them and asked to wait for us in the night as we didn't know how to get to the hotel. When we arrived to Marrakech we called the manager but he just didn't reply. We were just super lucky to meet the manager on the street. Then when we arrived in the night we were nor greeted neither welcomed by anybody. Instead it was another couple, staff talked only with them. After 15 minutes he noticed us (a group of 8 people) and talked with us like he was giving us a big favour to stay in this hotel. Check in was super slow even we dealt to fill all the necessary forms in the morning. Also few weeks before I requested to main manager to have twin room. Receptionist didn't know anything and wanted to give only double room. When I asked to have extra blanket he said it is no extra blanket! In the hotel with rooms for 100 euros per night they didn't have a blanket, it's ridiculous.

On the next day I met owner of the hotel Beatrice and in very calm way explained that managed behaved in improper way and asked to impact on him. She answered literally: 'It's not my problem.' And then she complained on us to our local guide in french (thinking that we didn't understand french) that we woke up her manager last night. But we warned them in advance that we would come in a night. And anyway in the hotel of such level/price it must be 24 receptionist!

On the last day we were leaving Marrakech and came for the breakfast at 8.00 (in the hotel breakfast starts at 8.00). After 30 minutes we demanded to have food finally but staff jturned back to us pretending not to hearing us. When receptionist came he said we came not at 8.00 but at 8.30 and it's ok to wait 10 minutes. But in fact we had to wait more than 45 minutes (until 8.45) just to have peace of bread, jam,coffee and yogurt. It's out of any understanding!

Overall about this hotel:
pluses :
interesting design.
location is 15 minutes to central square.

minuses:
horrible staff
more horrible management and owner
breakfast is super light, just bread, jam, yogurt and drinks
some rooms are bit dirty, for this price it cannot be at all.

So when you choose a hotel in Marrakech please choose any place but not this. I traveled a lot around Morocco but never faced such situations.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$147
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Pool
C$347
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$347
1.1 km from Riad Goloboy
Restaurant
Room service
C$380
C$336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$336
10.2 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$275
  • Hotels.com
  • Movenpick
    C$276
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$420
C$363
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    C$420
18.1 km from Riad Goloboy
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$146
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
    C$199
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Riad Goloboy
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Marrakech
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
92
22
6
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
92
22
6
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews min walk beautiful riad hamid rooftop mamounia taxi morocco alley medina palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 129 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018

The place looks good in pictures, clearly, the owner knows how to do social media marketing. But if you are here for staying, just be careful when you make your choices. The staff here won't help you with luggage (unlike the other Riad we stayed), and not even say Goloboy requires some walking when you get off from the taxi. I don't blame the local staff here, but the owner. Please stop taking advantage of the locals here with poor salary and exploit them with your bad attitude. Some French people are doing good things for Marrakech and its people, but this place doesn't. It also made us feel bad to stay here because we literally stayed and supported some people with neo-colonial mindset.
The rooms are just renovated, it still has bad smell, we had to keep our AC and window open to ensure the air quality in room. Cleanness is another problem, the mugs are dirty, and we didn't feel like putting our shirts in wardrobe. Everything looks good in pictures, but don't fall on this scam like we did. Compare with the other Riad we stayed, Goloboy is certainly a disaster. Their social media marketing strategy apparently bring them no worry for enough business (There are people invited to just take pictures in Riad and post on Instagram for the marketing purposes, but these people don't actually stay here!)

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank euromun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

The riad opened recently, but already attracted many tourists for bold colors and modern decorations it presented in pictures.

However, reality is reality. It’s finished with minor details and still leaves strong smell of paint. Unlike traditional riads, this house doesn’t have terrace nor a real jardin, so in strict definition it shouldn’t call itself a RIAD.

Management needs improvement. Since riads are located in mazing Médina, customers usually call the house so the best drop point could be explained. Some good riads would send someone over to pick up customers. Well totally different story here..we called in before grabbing taxi, and got transferred to several lines, then got hung up.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank xiaofanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

If you want to stay in the centre of the action this is not for you. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Square. It is quiet and hidden away, our transport from the airport couldn't take us very close because the streets are too narrow but the staff came to meet us, just as well because it is really hidden away.
All the staff smiled at us every time we met them and couldn't do enough for us.
At the end of our stay they explained that their card machine wasn't working and asked us to pay in cash, whether not the machine was working this was no big inconvenience and saved us changing money back at the airport.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 624AndrewG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We stayed for one night before leaving for a Moroccan Desert Tour. The place is absolutely stunning and a great price! We stayed in the room right off the courtyard on the first floor. In a quiet part of town with beautiful decor, each room decorated differently. Not too far of a walk away from the Souks and the Mosque.

The staff was extremely attentive and nice. They offered us a greeting mint tea on the roof, and were always eager to help if we needed advice on where to go or help with anything.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tanner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Goloboy is a fantastic place. So beautiful decorated and helpful staff. We got a very queit room and woke up to a very nice breakfast.
The location is a little bit far from the souk and big Square, but you're close to the thombs in the South and the Kings palace. The taxi can't take you all the way, but you only have to walk a few hundred meters.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews