We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top floor rooms rock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Ranked #403 of 1,194 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I had some concerns about staying in the smaller lower floor rooms. We stayed for one night before heading to the Sahara, and then 3 more nights afterwards. On both stays the staff was charming, and we got some *very* nice rooms, probably as we were 3 people and had requested bigger rooms. In fact the longer stay, we were given a guhe room, with a small sitting area, and a semi-separate bedroom for our son. The only issue I could recall, was with other guests, as riads have courtyards by definition, and if a couple of young girls comes in at midnight speaking loundy after partying, well... you can hear everything, and that's what happened to us, until someone went down to speak to then, and they finally let everyone else sleep. The other good thing, is that you are not located in the noisy Medina, but farther away, which is perfect. I'm not sure I would like to be in the Medina for too long... Internet os OK only.

Room Tip: Top rooms are much better, pay extra if you have to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HoracioR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

One of the best places we've been to.
Felt like home, great place, amazing and very helpful staff, great room, good breakfast, good location in the center of the old town, close to most attractions. Couldn't ask for more.
Definitely recommended

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

We were 3 ladies sharing a room for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. If you want a to stay in a traditional Riad then book here. The staff are very friendly, we were given a warm welcome by Selma and Abdul, we had arrived early and we're able to enjoy the riad's facilities whilst our room was being prepared. We were given mint tea with some lovely traditional biscuits then enjoyed some welcome sunshine on the roof terrace.

The hotel is set within the medina walls in a narrow street. It's easy walking distance to the main square. If you don't fancy walking Selma will book a taxi for you, she'll book trips and restaurants anything you need just ask.
Breakfast is traditional moroccan (I think ) the fresh orange juice is divine.
Isham the barman is very obliging he wouldn't tell us what time he closed the bar, it was open as long as we wanted it open.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We stayed here for our last night in the city after returning from a tour to Erg Chebbi. This riad is perfect! We had arranged for our tour company to drop us off after the tour, but the driver was unable to do so due to the location of this place. We were nervous about how we would find this riad in an unfamiliar city and asked our driver to call the hotel. The hotel staff came to the outside point where the car was and walked us to the hotel himself, helping us carry bags and leading the way. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. Our room was exactly how I would picture a 5 star riad, and we enjoyed looking over the pool. The food was pricey, but delicious. After being out in the sand and on the road for the tour, this was the perfect retreat to come back to. The bathroom was huge, the closet was huge, the beds were very comfortable, and the atmosphere was simply beautiful. The service from picking us up from the car to serving us dinner late evening to arranging a taxi for us to get to the airport early the next morning was truly 5-star service. We stayed on the ground floor and it was pretty loud with the music by the pool. We loved the atmosphere of that, but it is something to note if you're not interested in hearing music play later at night.We would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Our_AdventuresKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We love it here and will stay again and again...The stuffs are helpful and friendly. Ask for the Tours and they're happy to help.
Our bedroom is huge and they always change the beddings everyday. So theres nothing more to ask for. Tea??? The Best in this Hotel.:) hehe

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Ronna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We stayed here in Jan 8-12 and stayed in the superior suite which was lovely and very welcoming. On arrival Selma the nice lady who greeted us was warm and very accommodating. This was our first time in Morocco and Marrakesh was our first insight. Before you book a hotel you need to look at Riad's and establish what you from a hotel or a Riad.
The inside, decoration & layout was nice and made you feel that little more relaxed. All the staff are great and speak enough English to get buy. Breakfast is typical Moroccan and a welcome break from English breakfasts. There is a TV in the room but very few channels in English so no news which is pretty basic but essential to keep up to date with affairs. No tea making facilities in room but downstairs is a kitchen if you need anything.
This place is lovely and i would stay again. Thank Selma for making our first time stay a true memory!!

Room Tip: take coffee sachets for your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gavin James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We had to stay here as our a original Riad had a problem. The staff were good. However! We decided to turn in early at 21:30 as we had a 05:00 start that morning. Next door were four teenage girls who were very loud, playing music on phones and singing along (badly) and one could not talk only shout! Anyway they went out to eat about 22:00 so we went to sleep. Awoke at about 11:30, they were back from eating and now in there room getting louder and louder, one guest asked them to turn it down a bit which they did for about a minute. By 01:00 I had had enough and complained to to the night staff who did go to their room but was obviously completely out of his depth. The noise got louder until 01:30, then they went out!! Needless to say it started again at 04:30 when they came back in. Select the next day!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank nictomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 km away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#221 of 500 in Marrakech
111 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
1.6 km away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#211 of 500 in Marrakech
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
848 reviews
1.4 km away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#359 of 500 in Marrakech
47 reviews
2 km away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#202 of 500 in Marrakech
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech

Address: 14 Derb Ben Zina | Marrakech Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 1,194 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: C$107 - C$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing