We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Orange juice - a shaded escape”
Review of Cafe Des Epices

Cafe Des Epices
Ranked #116 of 1,032 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Fast food, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: In the heart of the Medina and Souks of Marrakech lies the Rahba Kedima spice square, where old women gather to pound henna for traditional tattoos and sell hand knitted hats, while seasoned vendors run the surrounding spice stores. Within this setting is the now famed Cafe des Epices, the perfect meeting place and rest stop from the heat and commotion of the souks. The inexpensive menu is focused on the simple and fresh, offering teas and coffee, freshly made juices, sandwiches, salads and crepes. The design is correspondingly simple: deliberately paired down and basic in order to offer a peaceful resting place after the visual overload of the Souks. Built over 3 floors, the top terrace offers great views over the square and surrounding Medina, the non-smoking 2nd floor salon is a great place to lounge and the ground floor and outdoor tables are fantastic places from which to watch the colourful comings and goings of the spice square market. Open daily from 9am to 11pm
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Nice cafe with great views for people watching as they wander by or get persuaded to buy things from the open stalls. Lovely place to have a break and relax after the souk. Menu good, varied and reasonably priced. Clean loos. What more can you ask for - oh yeh the gentle spray of cool mist as you walk from outside to in. Perfect just what the Dr ordered.

Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at Cafe Des Epices, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Thank you for sharing your pleasant review with us.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 4,576 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Relaxing atmosphere very good food, great sandwiches, quick excellent service and great view from the terrace.

Thank HenriettaR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at Cafe Des Epices, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

We are glad you had a good time with us.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

We found this place by accident. After a trip to the Musée de la Photographie, we were making our way back through the souks and suddenly spotted an opening onto a sun-scorched, market square. Up above, we could see the terrace of cafe des épices and it looked lovely.

The food was really light and flavoursome. I had Moroccan salads and my friend had a tuna sandwich. Simple food, but beautifully seasoned and presented. It was great to watch the market below and look out to the mosques in the distance.

Thank 111Laura111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations publiques at Cafe Des Epices, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

We are glad you had a good time with us and we thank you for sharing it.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Having dinner at the sunset at the Cafe des epices was one of the best experiences we had in Marrakech. Not only the menu with traditional food and the great attention are fantastic, but the views from the terrace are amazing. Highly recommended to have an overview of the magic of Marrakech.

Thank Maria Alejandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at Cafe Des Epices, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for sharing your review .
We are glad you had a good time with us.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

We visits two time with my wife and my son, once to eat a lift branch and another to have quickly mint te and break for my son.
Position is very impressive, being in the spices place, the forniture and structures are simple and nice, appreciate water spry, very useful in the hot days we visited (41*C)
Salads are very good and tasty, we took also a very tasty gazpacho, and we took away a Nutella crepe, no others food tried.
Good the fruit smoothies, especially the one with dates.
The atmosphere is international and The personnel is very nice, service is fast and ready at all.
Prices are honest and well posted, it can pay by c.cards over 100MAD.
A good refreshment point in the heart of Souk.

Thank Paolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at Cafe Des Epices, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

We are glad you had a good time with us.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Des Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Des Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing